RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Why doesn't everybody use sram powerlinks on their chain ??(11 posts)

Why doesn't everybody use sram powerlinks on their chain ??PeterRider
Oct 22, 2002 8:21 PM
I've been using this link for about 2500 miles on a Ultegra chain, and my opinion is that it makes cleaning of the chain soooooooo much easier... in 10 seconds it goes, i throw the chain in degreaser, after a minute or a couple hours I rinse the chain, dry it, in 5 seconds it is back on the bike, some lube and I'm ready.

So, how come everybody doesn't use this great link ?? I read so many posts on this forum, asking about cleaning techniques, and others describing how long/fast it takes them... the powerlink looks to me really easy compared to those methods. Since I don't know everything about bikes and don't pretend to be the only one doing the 'right thing', there must be something bad to be said about those links... but what ??

Pierre
re: Why doesn't everybody use sram powerlinks on their chain ??Ken
Oct 22, 2002 9:16 PM
I was the first one in my club to use the SRAM Powerlink Gold. At first everyone was skeptical as to its durability. Most thought that it would pull apart after a few steep climbs. Well, now after about 10,000ks later almost everyone in our club uses them.

P.S. Don't buy them in the USA. A total rip-off. Buy them in Europe at 3 times cheaper!! Yes, that's right, "3 times."
and they run great on campy 10sp!!! (nm)philippec
Oct 23, 2002 1:58 AM
I have trouble disengaging the powerlinkAlex-in-Evanston
Oct 23, 2002 6:27 AM
I've got the PC58 on 3 singlespeeds. I have always had difficulty disengaging the powerlink, so I normally just break it the old fashioned way.

Alex
Push in on the side before trying to disengage itspookyload
Oct 23, 2002 7:25 AM
Just like the instructions say.
really easy to disengage:Alexx
Oct 23, 2002 12:06 PM
just bend it over at the link, and use a pair of needle-nose pliers at opposite edges. Pops open with hardly any effort! Even if you aren't mechanically inclined.....
really easy to disengage: SURERusty Coggs
Oct 23, 2002 12:14 PM
and screws up the link too.That is why there are instructions and right and wrong ways to do it.
Cost/Need/Awarenessgrzy
Oct 23, 2002 9:04 AM
At $5 a pop and having to remember to buy the thing it's easily overlooked. The cost becomes a non-issue once you have to buy a bunch of Shimano replacement pins. Also, many people don't even know about them. In reality you really don't need to take your chain off all the time to clean i and most people don't. I rarely pop the road bike chain off, but the MTB chain comes off more frequently.
re: Why doesn't everybody use sram powerlinks on their chain ??moabbiker
Oct 23, 2002 3:31 PM
I would guess that this product is a victim of poor advertising. I didn't even realize it could be so easy to remove a chain with a powerlink until I read about it on the review section.
not need........... so why do itJohnG
Oct 24, 2002 5:52 AM
I've assembled numerous C10 chains without any special link and never had a problem. Zero-zip..... nada problema. These chains last between 6-8K miles when using Pro-link lube. Chain stays nice and clean too. :-)

Any competent mechanic can do the same.

YMMDV
JohnG
agree. power link is a great product....Bruno
Oct 25, 2002 1:36 PM
beautiful simple design. It removes with no effort at all. No tool needed and no skill required. (read instructions first). I can assure you that as soon its patent expires shimano, campy, etc. will put it in its chains.