RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Is 205g too light for a handlebar?(9 posts)

Is 205g too light for a handlebar?Iwannapodiumgirl
Oct 14, 2002 11:53 PM
I am thinking of purchasing a pair of Newton oversize bars and stem.

I am aware of the stem concerns yet have been assurred the issues with bolts snapping has been fixed.

I am just wondering if the bars themselves are too light?

Thanks for your comments
it depends on your dental plan (nm)DaveG
Oct 15, 2002 8:40 AM
re: Is 205g too light for a handlebar?cxer
Oct 15, 2002 9:51 AM
Newton bar is really strong and you should have no problems at all. The OS bars are stronger than 26.0 bars. If you are still worried, you can get the Magic bar that looks and feels the same but is 240 or 260 grams.
With any Ti bolt stem, there is a danger of stripping the bolts if you tighten too much.
newton OS and deda 215 are fineSmoothie
Oct 15, 2002 1:31 PM
The Newton is a great bar - very strong. I also have the 215 bars and I love those. Alot of the heavier guys around here run newton bars or even EC90 bars and say they are fine.

200gram bars aren't the lightest out there. Now if the bar was one of the 160-175 gram bars that are out there and it was sitting on a magnesium sub 100 gram stem than yeah I would be worried - but the newton bar/stem combo is solid IMHO.
You can never be "too light" ;)filtersweep
Oct 15, 2002 4:58 PM
I have EC90s and I think they run around 190 to the same weight... depending on size. They are definitely stiffer than the old Icon boat anchors I had on my other bike...

I'm semi-serious when I joke that I'd rather a bar shatter (ala formula one car body) than impale me in an accident!
You can never be "too light" ;)divve
Oct 15, 2002 6:33 PM
In last month's German Bike magazine there was a comprehensive test of MTB handle bars. For instance the MTB version of the EC90 @ 99 grams was considered unfit for its intended purpose (competition level XC). One of the samples was even downright dangerous and barely made 4000 cycles on the test machine. There were quite a few other renown brand names to fail the test as well (Ritchey, ITM). It's very much buyer beware. I have no doubts you can expect the same situation with road bike bars as well.

Here are some links to a copy of the article that someone posted on the MTBR board.

http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?50@@.ef6dcc5/45
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ef6dcc5/2
Yupgrzy
Oct 16, 2002 5:02 PM
Too light bars aren't a problem - I fill mine with sand! ;-)

Been running the Deda 215 for a couple years with no problems - "fortunately" it doesn't really weigh 215 g....... ;-(

For a truely light and strong bar I'd run an Easton or Kestrel carbon bar. I've been really impressed with the CF Money light bar on my MTB - takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin'.

I honestly wouldn't run a Deda Newton stem based on the reviews and reported problems - do you feel lucky? Deda quality control is an oxymoron.
Grzy, where have you been?!?!Iwannapodiumgirl
Oct 16, 2002 6:28 PM
Grzy,

You should really know me by now... if it is not Italian, I am not interested!

I believe the stem is ok. HOWEVER in the back of my mind on all rides I am sure will be the previous failures. I was thinking of the Cinelli Solido oversize combo - no flies on the Cinelli Kids!

May I ask what stem you are using with the 215s?
Heh heh hehgrzy
Oct 18, 2002 10:59 AM
>May I ask what stem you are using with the 215s?

Oh, you know the answer to that one. I was born at night, but it wasn't last night! ;-b

If it's gotta be "Itralian" may I suggest TTT? I really like the bend of the Prima bar over the 215 and the advertised weight is the same - YMMV.