RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Centaur, Chorus or Ultegra for my Colnago Superissimo?(15 posts)

Centaur, Chorus or Ultegra for my Colnago Superissimo?StevieP
Sep 24, 2002 7:21 AM
I am having my much loved 1997 Colnago Superissimo resprayed and I will be adding a new gruppo too.

Currently I have Ultegra and I like it, especially the hoods which are larger & more comfortable when honking out of the saddle than the campy 'small' hoods (IMHO).

However, having read some of the threads on here & listening to my heart over my head, I am considering Campy. Opinions?

I know the purists out there say 'Italian frame, Italian Gruppo'.

Should I go for Chorus or Centaur? Is the price difference really worth the performance?
My voteEager Beagle
Sep 24, 2002 7:29 AM
Centuar. I've said it before and I'm standing by it - it's the best value gruppo by far (see the campyonly reviews).

You'll get used to the hoods, and the bike will look much cleaner and together.

It's all subjective though, although I really do think 10 is much nicer to ride than 9.
Eager beagle - Where are campy only reviews?StevieP
Sep 24, 2002 7:45 AM
Cheers
Here you go...Eager Beagle
Sep 24, 2002 8:17 AM
http://www.campyonly.com/roadtests/veloce_2001.html
The most expensive bike you will ever buy...Spoke Wrench
Sep 24, 2002 7:54 AM
is the one that you get insted of the one that you really wanted. I think that's true of component groups too.
But is Chorus worth the money over Centaur?StevieP
Sep 24, 2002 7:57 AM
After all, they look near enough identical. What are the improvements?
That's really the point.Spoke Wrench
Sep 24, 2002 8:43 AM
I think that you're looking for a logical justification of an emotional decision. Objectively, I seriously doubt anyone ever won a race on a record equipped bike that couldn't have won it using 105.

If you really want Chorus and can afford Chorus, but buy Centaur because the left side of your brain won't let you spend the money, the right side of your brain will never be satisfied. Everytime you get on the bike you'll wonder to yourself if the Chorus parts would have been nicer. A year or two from now, you will have forgotten about the difference in cost, but you'll still have the bike.
This is true.Eager Beagle
Sep 24, 2002 8:47 AM
Chorus is actually nicer than Veloce/Daytona/Centuar - it's more polished and hence IMO, better looking. Also, I think this year Chorus has a slighly different (modulated) brake caliper design?
Heavy dual pivot front caliper; light single pivot rear. NMSpunout
Sep 24, 2002 10:50 AM
Like an ex-girlfriend of mine used to say ...pmf1
Sep 24, 2002 12:32 PM
You're never dissatisfied with the best.

But then again, she dumped me so what did she know?
re: Centaur, Chorus or Ultegra for my Colnago Superissimo?Inhighgear
Sep 24, 2002 8:13 AM
As a Dura-Ace owner...Get the Chorus. 10 speed, up to a 29 tooth rear, might save you from having to buy a triple if you do a tour.

10 speeds on a narrower range will add continuity to progession of gear ratios.
Chorus if you can afford itMcAndrus
Sep 24, 2002 11:29 AM
I've used almost every kind of Campy component around, I think, except Record shifters. I've had Veloce and Daytona (now Centaur) shifters and now use Chorus shifters on both bikes. I -can- tell the difference between Chorus and Daytona (Centaur).

Mind you, Centaur works real well but Chorus is noticeably quicker on a shift and needs just the lightest touch.

Actually, it's like comparing a woman who's an 8.85 to a 9. They're both pretty darn good looking.
You will like CentaurLeroy
Sep 24, 2002 2:20 PM
Absolutely the best value. The performance of Chorus and Record at a reasonable price. The Centaur hubs are especially fine imho. The bushings or bearings arguments you may see don't amount to any real difference in the shifters. Both Cho and Cen get buttery smooth with age. I like the Cho brakes. I would also get a different bottom bracket as the Cen bb, although smooth is a portly 288gm. Campy makes a track bb with a 111mm axle, 190gm, that may be what you want; or you can go with phil wood. All Campagnolo equipment is well worth the price, but I'd go with Centaur.

Dave Loving
You will like Centaur ($419.99)The Human G-Nome
Sep 24, 2002 2:28 PM
http://www.glorycycles.com/camcen209pc.html

hard to beat.
Chorus/Centuar mixtureBenR
Sep 25, 2002 6:08 PM
I'm a college student but still coughed up the dough for some chorus parts. I test rode bikes with complete Daytona and Record groupos and have a couple teammates with Veloce and Daytona.

My experience is that the Chorus shifters are worth the money - they are smoother shifting and much lighter(I like the hoods - be sure to look at modern ones). I'm sure the Chorus shifters would outlast the Daytona ones without bearings, but it's a mute point since either are well-made and will likely outlive you and the rest of your bike. Things may have changed in the last couple years, but the Chorus cassette was lighter and made out of harder steel - it has far outlasted my lighter-weight friends that are using Daytona and veloce. It also costs 30-50% more - but I ride a lot and weight is somewhat important to me. Shifting performance between the two is the same.

Chorus derailleur comes in a short cage configuration and is slightly lighter. Centuar is only medium cage - so shifting is slightly slower, but I can barely tell the difference. They are made out of same quality springs and pulleys - might be good spot to save money. Definitely use Centuar front derailleur - waste of money not to.

I'm using Daytona brakes and like them - plenty smooth and solid. Chorus isn't any lighter and twice as expensive. Supposed to be big difference in modulation, I thought it was overrated and opted to not spend that much.

The Chorus bottom bracket has another set of bearings and shorter axle for stiffness than Centuar. It is also much lighter and not that much more expensive. Both are well-made. I have no data, but assume the Chorus with extra bearings would outlast Centuar. A Record or Chorus crank has to go with Chorus bb. Centuar crank is actually lighter and $40 cheaper than Chorus, but not nearly as stiff. Also, the Chorus crank & bb combo is lighter than Centuar combo. I would have bought a Record crank if I could afford it - it is stiffer than Chorus and 20 grams lighter, but you pay for it.

Centuar hubs are well made and almost identical to Chorus/Record for less money. They will perform and last identically. They are a couple grams heavier and not as flashy.

Bottom line: If you have money to burn (and own a Colnago), go with Record - it's cool looking! Centuar is a budget racer for a Cat 4-5 rider or someone who wants most of Campy's top end performance but doesn't ride often. If you are going to be riding 15,000 miles/year or need that extra stiffness, weight loss, and crispness, but low on money, strongly consider some Chorus parts. They give 99% of Record performance for 70% of the price. They just aren't as nice looking or light - mechanically the same (except for crank).