RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


What Bike Light(10 posts)

What Bike LightViperRulz
Sep 17, 2002 5:51 PM
I'm looking to purchase a bike light to use after daylight savings is over. I've seen the Light & Motion Arc in a local shop and am very impressed. What light would you all recommend? I'd like to err on the side of too much light than not enough since some of the places I like to ride aren't lit very well.
Marwi Pro EliteStewK
Sep 17, 2002 7:15 PM
I have a Marwi Pro Elite - long life, bright light, usually cheaper than Light & Motion. When cars see me coming they usually dim their lights.

This light has a 15 watt and a 20 watt. I always use the 20 only, but have the comfort of the 15 if the 20 blows while I'm on a ride.

See my review in the reviews section. If you do get it, make sure you get the Elite if you need over an hour of light. There are many s and the Elite is the one with the long-life battery.
re: What Bike Lightrtyszko
Sep 18, 2002 7:32 AM
I've used the NiteRider stuff for a few years now with no complaints. I know that it's pricey but I've seen the stuff on e-bay relatively cheap. Make sure that you get the digital stuff.

BT
re: What Bike Lightclintb
Sep 18, 2002 12:10 PM
You'll be doubly impressed with the ARC once you get it on the road. That is assuming you end up with it. Just to put it in perspective, look at the reviews for it on mtbr.com. Something like 25-30 reviews and ALL have been 5 for 5 on the ratings. I'm in there with the others that have reviewed it as well. It really is that good.

Real life situation. Winter riding at night along the service road of I-75 here in DFW. Fully dark at the time, but a good amount of light from cars passing by on the freeway. A small truck actually pulls off the highway, over the grassy area and pulls up next to me just to find out the brand of light. It's disgusting bright, comes standard with the 3.5hr smart/fast charger, light (as in weight) as all get out and simple beyond belief.

Before purchasing it, I had numerous people tell me that a 12 watt halogen would be "good enough". Trusting my insticnt for self preservation, I didn't buy into "good enough" and went for "blind everyone on the road" caliber. I actually feel safer riding at night with the ARC than during the day. People (cars) really are forced to take notice of the light. Get it and ride with confidence.
You'll need less light on darker roads.dzrider
Sep 18, 2002 12:56 PM
I start my commute home in the city and finish in the suburbs with street lights only at corners. I feel the need for more light when I'm competing to be seen with cars, street lights and neon signs than I do on dark roads where even a small light stands out and provides plenty of light to see where I'm going. The first priority to me is run time. If it doesn't last long enough to get you home it doesn't matter how bright it was when it was lit.
You can have your cake and eat it too...clintb
Sep 18, 2002 4:51 PM
3.5hrs on low and 3hrs on high. All that from the Light and Motion ARC. Oh, and the equivalent of around 33 watts of power. How's that for a one package wonder?!

Get the ARC and NEVER, EVER have the slightest bit of buyers remorse. If your're concerned about safety like I am, it's the extra assurance needed for more confidence. And, although it's god awful bright, the light color probably gets a fair amount of attention as well. A true HID light just stands out.
Vista LiteKerry
Sep 18, 2002 4:39 PM
Performance still has one on sale (I think). 5W and 10W headlites, nickel metal hydride battery. Retail $125, on sale for $85 or $90. I just got one and find it more than adequate for commuting. They also just put a bunch of high end systems on sale http://www.performancebike.com/shop/categoryproducts.html?store=weekly_specials As someone noted, the darker it is, the better your light works because you don't need to counteract the streetlights. I doubt this setup is good for night time trail riding, and probably not good enough for high speed descents. You need to define your requirements.
Marwi Pro on sale...KEN2
Sep 18, 2002 6:36 PM
Actually it's the Performance Dual Pro, made by Marwi. I have one of these and have used it the last two years for commuting. Plenty of light, a 20W flood plus a 12W spot, individually aimable, an NiMH battery that's reasonably light, and the quick release light mount and switch system are among the best out there.

All on sale for $129 (lists @ $199)!
http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.html?SKU=14094&Store=weekly_specials
re: What Bike LightViperRulz
Sep 20, 2002 4:54 PM
I think I'm going to get the Light & Motion Arc. My local shop quoted me a sweet price, so I'll get it Monday. Everyone just raves about it. Thanks for all the input.
re: What Bike Lightclintb
Sep 21, 2002 3:48 PM
Good choice. I already know how it performs since I own one, but report back on yours to let others know about this fabulous light.