RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Upgrades from 105(6 posts)

Upgrades from 10574
Sep 11, 2002 7:55 AM
Im looking to replace/upgrade some worn 105 parts (2001 Klein Quantum), I dont have a huge budget so WHAT COMPONENTS ARE THE BEST TO UPGRADE?
The cassette (Dura-ace is about 1/2 the weight of 105) and BB (Dura-ace saves almost 100g over 105) are the first things on my list.
Im happy with the "feel/functionality" of the 105 parts Ive got so dont go on about how Dura-ace "feels" better, I want real measurable benifits here (weight/aero) for my hard earned $.
re: Upgrades from 105GMS
Sep 11, 2002 12:43 PM
The best thing to get for someone who doesn't have a huge budget and is happy with the feel/functionality of 105 is 105.

Dura-ace will also wear out faster.
Save your dinerojtolleson
Sep 11, 2002 3:35 PM
until the parts you are talking about NEED replacing. Nothing is such a significant improvement that it justifies replacing/upgrading from 105 before its worn.

So, along that logic the first part that will probably wear will be the cassette. Most other of your components will last a good long time.

Buying based on weight savings is, IMHO, silly. The best performers in the Dura Ace line (as in the best quality over their Ultegra and 105 counterparts) are, in my opinion, the Shifters, the Brakes, and the Hubs.
re: Upgrades from 105Mike Prince
Sep 12, 2002 4:27 AM
I wouldn't do it with those parts, chief. The things you reference replacing are not good bang for the buck upgrades, in other words you will not really feel a difference. 100g in a bb sounds signifigant, but I suggest you do a search on the DA bb on this site and look at the reviews first before you run out and buy one. IMO save money and buy Ultegra there.

"Upgrading" you cassette will again save weight but you fail to mention that the DA is significantly more $$ than 105 and in general will tend to wear faster while having little to no impact on rotating weight. Again if you are looking to save weight I'd go woth Ultegra. Many people with "full" DA bikes have made these "upgrades" to ultegra parts.

If your BB and cass is truly worn out, I would get an Ultegra BB (install and forget), an ultegra cassette and a DA/Ultegra/SRAM chain.

If you want to save weigt in places you can feel, the wheels are the place to start. Lighter tires/tubes (not stupid light) will make a noticable difference, if you have boat anchor wheels this is the place to spend money. After tires, look at lighter wheelsets. Lighter rims and double butted spokes on your 105 hubs still make a competetively light wheelset, just not one with "Dura Ace" stamped on it.

You want to save weight and get more aero, and you want to upgrade your bb and cassette to Dura-Ace. Something does not add up here. The wheels are the only real place to get aero benefit.
Ultegra casetteEager Beagle
Sep 13, 2002 6:11 AM
Looked at this a while back on my training bike. Decided that the only thing worth doing was an U casette - steel and durable like 105, not much more $, and lighter. D-A casettes are too much $ and wear too fast for me.

Plus, the price of this 9 speed is probably gonna freefall when 10/11/12/13/14/39 speed or whatever comes out, so you can cherry pick then.
Worn parts? Mix it up.filtersweep
Sep 13, 2002 7:29 AM
So you "need" to upgrade?

What I did for only $60 more than full Ultegra: DA shifters and derailuers, Ultegra BB, crankset, brakes- best bang for the buck- period. Maybe only cost a total of $100 more than full 105... or something close- we are not talking about buying hubs, seatpost, headset, etc... just the basics.

105 isn't that much cheaper than Ultegra - certainly not cheap enough to warrant buying it- IMHO- not that it is bad, but simply because for a "few more bucks" you can go Ultegra and even DA - depending on the parts- and the most expensive parts to DA is the crankset. 105, Ultegra, and DA shifters all pretty much cost the same... why not go DA? You get the idea...