RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Need a seatpost that won't tilt(11 posts)

Need a seatpost that won't tiltStampertje
Sep 10, 2002 9:01 AM
I have a kalloy seatpost on my new bike - it was cheap and their reputation's not bad. Unfortunately, the seat won't stay level no matter how hard I crank the bolt. I've had more success with no-name seatposts with generic saddle clamps, but I would like a seatpost with infinite adjustment (I'm really picky when it comes to that). I definitely want one that will hold my saddle at the angle I choose. Any recommendations?
Thompson.SnowBlind
Sep 10, 2002 9:06 AM
Very, very, good seatpost. Two screw mount. Runs around $80.
...Rocks."Spunout
Sep 10, 2002 9:09 AM
Bombergrzy
Sep 10, 2002 10:26 AM
Been running them on both the road and MTB for quite a while now and am totally impressed with the product. Absolutely bomber, you can micro adjust the tilt and there's even a little degree scale printed on the clamp for reference. It doesn't slip - ever - and it's very strong. They make a setback version if that's your thing and you can get a special clamp if you need more tilt down. You'll bend your saddle rails before the post will give - I've done it. They have an extra long version whihc is helpful for some compact style frames and I've cut the excess post off. There are posts that are slightly lighter, but I don't think they have the reliability or the ease of use - not that you fiddle with a post that often.
Check the reviews on this site, sort by highest rating...Spunout
Sep 10, 2002 9:09 AM
http://www.roadbikereview.com/Seatposts/PLS_2510_913crx.aspx

And note that Thomson/Syncros have the double bolt setup that never moves from where you set it up. Those are my suggestions, although not for weight-weenies.

BTW, setup and forgetaboudit components are worth a few extra grams.
re: Need a seatpost that won't tiltJimP
Sep 10, 2002 9:48 AM
USE Alien seatposts may be a little more difficult to setup and adjust but they won't slip. The aluminum post isn't too expensive and fairly light and the carbon post is probably the lightest post available.
re: Need a seatpost that won't tiltSilas_Greenback
Sep 10, 2002 9:54 AM
Thomson Elite which come in two lengths. Get the straight, not the setback, version.
Straight or Setback??Spunout
Sep 10, 2002 11:17 AM
Consider your current setup, you may require one or the other to fit properly. Why would you get the straight if the setback puts you in a better position??

Silas: Why make that comment? I have a setback with the seat pushed all the way back (on a Lemond Zurich: Long TT) because that is the ONLY way I can get close to KOPS and 'behind' the BB for power. That's what I need.
before you pull out the credit card...DaveG
Sep 10, 2002 3:25 PM
I think the Kalloy is a decent post especially for the cost. Before you give up, try cleaning the contact surfaces with degreaser or alcohol (including underneath where the bolt is). Grease the bolt threads. Rough up the contact surfaces slightly with fine sandpaper and try it again. If you can't get it to work then perhaps one of the two-bolt type seatposts is called for. The American Classic post is also very easy to adjust and cannot slip. Another option is the Salsa post; looks like a very clever design to me.
Thanks.Stampertje
Sep 11, 2002 3:15 AM
I'll give the Kalloy one more try, based on suggestions above - if only because any other post will take some time to get here. Unfortunately, some of the other posts (USE, Salsa, Syncros) might not be easy to find here (The Netherlands). Any experience with Selcof or ITM?
re: Need a seatpost that won't tiltBanky
Sep 11, 2002 8:43 AM
Thompson is an excellent seatpost, it is lite, and has a finite adjustment for tilt and will not slip. I went from a D Ace to the Thompson because the D Ace slipped. I decided to get the setback because it gave me a better ride position (for me). I love the post. Also it is easy to adjust and does not move!