RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Upgrading Stem: Magic or Newton -please help(16 posts)

Upgrading Stem: Magic or Newton -please helpEl Caballito
Sep 9, 2002 5:53 PM
Im looking at purchasing either the Deda Magic or Newton to go with Deda 215 handlebars. Can anyone give their experiences or opinions with these two stems. Also, in the running is the Thomson Elite stem. Thank you in advance.
re: Upgrading Stem: Magic or Newton -please helpDINOSAUR
Sep 9, 2002 10:33 PM
I'm happy with my Deda Newton 31.7/Magic bars. That's what came with my bike. You have to be careful when tightening the ti bolts or you can strip them. It's easy to tell when they have reached their limit as they will start to creak creak when you over-tighten them. The only problem I've encountered, if you go with the 31.7's, is mounting a computer to the bars. I had to find an adapter to mount to my stem. Cateye supposedly makes an adapter for oversized bars, or so I was told. The Newtom is stiff and strong. Thomson would be a good choice also.....
re: Thomsonberni
Sep 9, 2002 11:26 PM
The Thomson stems are very well made, and are a beauty to behold, but are already overbuilt for mountain bikes, and as far as I know the road bike stem is the same thing, so are overkill for a road bike. At 200g ish, there are much lighter stems out there.
re: ThomsonSpunout
Sep 10, 2002 3:56 AM
Thomson road stem is a bit overdone, but if you want to install it and fuhgedaboudit, it is the bomb.

Very wide, four bolt clamp. Wonderful hidden steer-tube clamp. With Deda 215s, you've already saved your weight (I use Cinelle Nerve with mine). You will never complain about creaking, stripping bolts (follow the torque instructions!!!!) with this unit.

Issues: Some aero bars with fixed width between clamps will not fit over/around the stem. My profile airstryke 2000s will not work with this unit. I need some independant bars.
re: ThomsonWrigleyRoadie
Sep 10, 2002 5:57 AM
My humble opinion is that the Magic is the most logical choice of the three, unless you like the Newton for cosmetic reasons (it's a little cleaner looking).

You can find great deals on the Magic stem and it only weighs mere grams more than Newton, for an average of $40 dollars less. The Thomson stem is 50 grams heavier, so unless you're a masher who thrashes the bars to and fro, I wouldn't go in that direction (weight-to-value wise). I do think it's the best looking of the three, though.
Is the Thomson stiffer?GMS
Sep 10, 2002 6:55 AM
Would the Thomson flex less? It seems to me that stiffness in a stem is more important than its weight.
I think you'd break your bars off before flexing Thomson. NMSpunout
Sep 10, 2002 7:48 AM
Consider the Ritchey WCSgrzy
Sep 10, 2002 10:41 AM
Yeah, I know you didn't ask about it, but you should take a good look at the Ritchey WCS stem. IMO - the best of the bunch, it doesn't flex, the bolts don't strip, it's light, wide four bolt clamp, and it looks good. I run the Deda 215 bars and have had this combo for a couple seasons with zero problems. I like Thomson products, but the stem is complete overkill and clunky - might as well use galvi pipe. People will tell you that this stem or that is flexy, but for the most part they don't know what they're talking about - the long little spaghetti bars are way more flexible. Check out the Gucci ti stems if you want to see flexy. If I had it to do over again I wouldn't run the Deda 215 bars since they don't weigh 215 grams and they're pretty flexy and the TTT Prima bar is more comfortable. I'd lean towards spending the extra cash on a set of carbon bars from either Kestrel or Easton - way stiffer.
Keep It Coming!El Caballito
Sep 10, 2002 11:26 AM
Thanks grzy and to everyone else who has responded. Your imput is valued. Im heading to another LBS to check out what they have in stock. The Ritchey WCS also sounds good. I like the Newton, but Im a bit worried about the possibility of having the bolts strip on me. I guess what I need is something to replace my undersized stock icon stem and bars. I'd like to buy something sweet and solid. Something I could throw and not have to worry about it breaking down. The fact is we work hard to earn our keeps.
'
Buy a torque wrench too! (nm)Spunout
Sep 11, 2002 5:29 AM
Keep in mindTrekFurthur
Sep 11, 2002 9:46 AM
Very light-weight stems (including the Newton) have durability issues. For instance, Deda recommends the Ti faceplate bolts on the Newton be replaced every year, while the whole stem be replaced every two years. For $100+, that's pretty significant investment.

I've heard good things about the Ritchey, and I've got a Newton on my race bike, but I also have an Icon stem and bars on my training bike. Check the weights on the Icon stuff; they're not that bad. I've got a Thomson on my MTB, but I think it's overkill on the roadie.
...use Thomson "Road" stem, not MTB stem, BTW. (nm)Spunout
Sep 11, 2002 11:25 AM
Still overkillTrekFurthur
Sep 12, 2002 11:07 AM
The stem is essentially the same; the only difference I noticed, between the one on my mtb and the one I ordered but did not put on my bike, was that the lettering was right-side up on the road model when it was flipped opposite of the mtb model.

I'm not saying it's not a good post. Will it last longer than your road bike? Probably.
overkill: considering a crash due to failure, I'll keep mine. nmSpunout
Sep 13, 2002 4:19 AM
Well then....grzy
Sep 13, 2002 3:35 PM
There's all sorts of things on your bike that should be beefed up if you're in that frame of mind. Why limit yourself to the stem? Chain, pedals, quick release skewers, seatpost, brake cables, brake bolts, tires, and inner tubes are just a few critical items whose sudden and unexpected failure can result in a nasty crash. I've broken handle bars before - and NOT crashed. If you were to apply the same factor of safety of the Thomson stem to all of the other components you'd be in the 30 lbs. bike category. Why such a bombproof stem when a chain is only as strong as it's weakest link? I'm not advocating you get rid of yours, only questioning why anyone would buy one.
Consider the Ritchey WCSBanky
Sep 11, 2002 8:49 AM
I have the WCS as well and it is excellent, don't forget that weigh's about 125 grams, lite!