RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Look HCS3 or Columbus Muscle ?(10 posts)

Look HCS3 or Columbus Muscle ?jkh
Sep 7, 2002 10:16 PM
Hi,

I'm in the market for a full carbon fork. I'm 150lb and ride a 50cm bike and need the 1-1/8" version.
Can someone give me any advice?

Thanks.
re: Look HCS3 or Columbus Muscle ?Juanmoretime
Sep 8, 2002 3:37 AM
I've never rode any Look forks. I've been on a Columbus Muscle for about 200 miles, my previous fork was a Reynolds Ouza Pro. Both are great forks with the Muscle being just a very tiny bit stiffer, I can highly recommend the Muscle.
No complaintsfiltersweep
Sep 8, 2002 9:55 AM
I have a Look HCS3- no complaints here- definitely better than the ICON OCLV Air Rail on my previous bike. I doubt you could go wrong with either fork. Looks aren't the "trendiest" of forks.
What did you like better about the Look vs. the Icon?OffTheBack
Sep 8, 2002 11:24 AM
I've got the Air Rail on my current bike, but it's the only carbon fork I've ever ridden, so I've nothing to compare it to.
What did you like better about the Look vs. the Icon?filtersweep
Sep 9, 2002 4:49 AM
I don't know that I can really quantify an answer... the Look is a quarter pound lighter, yet it seems to be stiffer... like the carbon itself absorbs the road vs. the AirRail, where it seems like the flex of the fork was absorbing the road. This could all be in my head? Who knows?

There is nothing inherently wrong with an Air-Rail, other than the fact that it is a heavy fork to pair with a very light OCLV frame- I think it weighs very close to a pound.

The Look has an unusual asymetrical shape (cross-section).

The finish of the Look blows the AirRail out of the water- the computer sensor straps alone were enough to damage the paint on the OCLV... then again, I really like the nude carbon finish.
Got it, thanks! nmOffTheBack
Sep 9, 2002 4:57 AM
re: Look HCS3 or Columbus Muscle ?kestrel
Sep 8, 2002 3:43 PM
i have the muscle now on a cinelli starship and love it, but i have never ridden the look. you are light enough for either i think, just choose the coolest looking one...lol.....kes
Get an Ouza Propmf1
Sep 9, 2002 11:42 AM
I had the choice between a Look HSC2 and an Ouza Pro a few years ago. I chose the Look because it was light and looked cool. I wish I would have chosen the Reynolds. Look is now up to the HSC4 while Reynolds is still successfully selling the Ouza Pro. There are many happy owners on this forum. I recently put one on my wife's Litespeed and she could tell the difference in cornering (vs. the free LS fork that came with the bike) and comfort.
The French...;)filtersweep
Sep 9, 2002 2:07 PM
Look is always changing things here and there- which makes their products look obsolete before their time... look at how many pedals models they have- it is insane! No manufacturer even comes close.

Their frames have an odd numbering scheme where the model year means nothing, and they change the FIRST digit for the successive frame (the 281 is followed by a 381, for example... which makes it appear that it is an entirely upgraded frame).

...then again, they are a French company
Kinda like Mavic Zap componentspmf1
Sep 10, 2002 6:29 AM
Only 3 real problems:

1. They're made in France
2. They're made in France
3. They're made in France