RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Has Shimano supposedly dealt with Ultegra shifter reliability(9 posts)

Has Shimano supposedly dealt with Ultegra shifter reliabilityscottfree
Aug 22, 2002 7:15 AM
problems? Building up a bike for my daughter, using Ultegra drivetrain. I have all the bits already, cannibalized from other family bikes, but no working shifters. Don't care to spring for D/A, but don't want to spring for Ultegra either if they're just going to crap out on her after a few thousand miles. Would 105 be a better option, considering cost/reliability?
re: Has Shimano supposedly dealt with Ultegra shifter reliabilitySuddha
Aug 22, 2002 10:20 AM
I know opinions differ greatly, but I am replacing my worn-out Ultegras with the Modolo Morpho shifters (Campy and Shimano compatible, super light). They are on sale, half price on performancebike.com ($99). They're waiting on my porch right now, thanks to second day air.
re: Has Shimano supposedly dealt with Ultegra shifter reliabilityWiseGuy
Aug 22, 2002 10:30 AM
I bought a pair of 2002 Ultegra shifters and have ridden them about 2000 miles over some pretty rough road and I do not have any of the "rattles" that were common in earlier versions. I was told by several knowledgeable people that the problem was fixed.... and it appears they were right.

If you haven't bought shifters yet and can afford to step up to D/A, I would recommend it. The Ultegras get the job done but the D/A shifters are like silk!
modolo shifterspeloton
Aug 23, 2002 2:19 AM
Not to bag on your new purchase, but I would stay away from the Modolo shifters. They are known to be mediocore in their shifting performance. All the shop mechs I know who have worked on them loathe them.

I'm riding on DA right now, but I have found the 2002 Ultegras to feel smoother than the older models. Can't vouch for durability with my time on them. I have heard of less problems from others though.
re: Has Shimano supposedly dealt with Ultegra shifter reliabilityWheelz
Aug 22, 2002 10:38 AM
I have about 5K on my '02 Ultegra shifers without issue.
re: Has Shimano supposedly dealt with Ultegra shifter reliabilitymja
Aug 22, 2002 2:11 PM
Have 800 miles on my 02 Ultegra STI levers; 100 miles ago, the left lever began to rattle, and continues to do so. I don't know what this may portend for problems with the lever in the future. (None of the easy fixes addresses the problem for me.)
re: Has Shimano supposedly dealt with Ultegra shifter reliabilitycurlybike
Aug 25, 2002 2:13 PM
Look on the back of the lever and make sure the screw is tight. If that is loose, it will rattle, If it is missing it will really rattle. Check the screw on the other lever also
re: Has Shimano supposedly dealt with Ultegra shifter reliabilityLC
Aug 22, 2002 7:19 PM
I have a pair of the old 6500 levers and some 6510 now that have at least 15,000 miles of riding and racing on them. The 6500 never quite shifted right, rattled and don't feel very smooth. The 6510 have never missed a shift and are as quiet as my Dura Ace levers. They are greatly improved in my opinion and almost as good as the Dura Ace.

I don't own any 105 levers, but when I tried them they seem about like the old 6500 levers.
re: Has Shimano supposedly dealt with Ultegra shifter reliabilitydasho
Aug 23, 2002 5:31 PM
I bought a new 1999 Trek 5200 with Ultegra components and rode over it over 6,000 miles before buying another bike with DA. The only problem I had with the shifters started after about 5500 miles. One day in very cold weather (30°), one of the shifters locked up but I simply squirted some Tri-Flow inside the shifter (cable area) and never had a problem again. I probably should have changed the cables after a couple of years but I didn't. To be honest, the Ultegra shifted much smoother than my new Dura Ace which emits a "clunk" while shifting that I still haven't got used to.