RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Assos Bibs(10 posts)

Assos Bibsnetso
Aug 21, 2002 10:03 AM
I am thinking of buying, however before I spend this much money ($159), I want to know if anyone has experience with these bibs? Are they OK?
re: Assos Bibscurlybike
Aug 21, 2002 10:16 AM
Every Assos product that I have used, bibs and jerseys, has been a great product. Are you ordering or buying at the LBS? Figure out the correct size before you order. Their large covers a fairly wide spectrum. The seat pads are great.
re: Assos Bibsnetso
Aug 21, 2002 10:23 AM
I am ordering, my LBS does not carry Assos. I heard they are sized by height, therefore a large would be right. Thanks.
Definetly get the FI-13 BibsDoubleK
Aug 21, 2002 12:29 PM
Nesto,

Do yourself a huge favor and pony up for the FI-13 bibs. They are the most comfortable shorts I have ever worn in my 12 years of serious riding. I tried them and was blown away by the confort of the pad and the new Lycra material really fits well. The bummer is that I have four pairs of Evo shorts that I can't stand to wear anymore. They have a lot of miles in them but Assos stuff wears so well that they they still have a lot of miles left to go. They are now relegated to Winter time trainer duty.

Don't even consider any of the other Assos shorts, the FI-13 are that good IMO.

Good luck!
Yeah the F1.13's are niceColnagoFE
Aug 21, 2002 1:28 PM
but you pay through the nose for 'em. I'd love Performance or some similar company to reverse-engineer these and come out with a pait for under $100.
The F1.13's are nice!jromack
Aug 21, 2002 6:43 PM
www.wisecyclebuys.com had them on sale (he advertises here on the classifieds (clothing)

He even threw in free Assos chamois creme.

The first short that I ride in and I can't feel it...if that makes any sense.
cool with the creme, but $4 off is not much of a sale (nm)ColnagoFE
Aug 22, 2002 6:10 AM
I Got Mine at $20 off plus free creme, free shipping.jromack
Aug 22, 2002 7:09 AM
Figured I saved almost $40
price on web different from price you paid then?ColnagoFE
Aug 22, 2002 8:04 AM
they advertise $184 or something like that on the web link you gave. Excel sells 'em for $189 but no creme. That's what I assumed the full retail price was. Do others sell them for more? The creme is like $12-13 so it's a better deal than Excel once you throw in the creme. Total of about $20 savings there. But even then they aren't something you are likely to buy 6 pairs of unless you have lots of $. I'm saving mine for special occasions
They Were $169 A Few Weeks Ago...jromack
Aug 22, 2002 2:45 PM
But no longer... I wish they were $75, I would buy several more. Mine are also saved for long rides, etc.

http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=25626&query=retrieval