RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


looking for advise in the chain jungle(11 posts)

looking for advise in the chain jungleNoam
Aug 16, 2002 11:36 PM
I need a new chain for my Record 9sp. I like to remove the chain and give it a good rinse. Please advise.

Noam
Downunder Australia
re: looking for advise in the chain junglefz4vgq
Aug 17, 2002 6:11 AM
Srams PC-99 chain (their top of the line 9 speed chain) comes with the "Powerlink" and is compatible with Campagnolo and Shimano 9 speeds. It has been given great reviews from people on this board who like to remove their chain for cleaning as you would like. Don't forget to order a few spare "Powerlinks" (the gold one).
Another alternative is Wippermans 9 speed Connex chain with their "Connex link", whick is similiar to Srams "Powerlink" good luck.
Thanks mateNoam
Aug 17, 2002 9:11 AM
A word of cautionKerry
Aug 17, 2002 3:18 PM
The SRAM chains work fine, but they last about 60% as long as Campy Record 9.
A word of cautionjjohnson05
Aug 17, 2002 3:59 PM
Don't muck about mate! Stick with the C-9. It's a great shifting long, lasting chain.
Yes butNoam
Aug 17, 2002 11:11 PM
G'day

How often can I remove the C9 for the puspose of good cleaning.

Noam
Downunder
No ifs, ands, or butsKerry
Aug 18, 2002 5:08 PM
You don't need to remove the chain to clean it. In fact, if you use a solvent-based lube like ProLink (or the home brew), you never need to clean the chain. To wit:

Assuming we're talking road riding, use the following technique for successful ProLink application and use:
1 - wipe the chain, cogs, pulleys, and chainrings clean with a rag.
2 - sluice on ProLink while pedaling (forward is better) so that the chain starts to drip lube. Aim the lube between the side plates and between the bushings and the side plates.
3 - run through all the gears several times, front and back.
4 - wipe the chain, cogs, pulleys, and chainrings clean with a rag.
5 - repeat 2-4 if the chain was really dirty

If you do this every 300 miles or so, you will not get any significant gunky buildup, and you won't have to clean the chain.
A word of cautionKurtVF
Aug 18, 2002 12:35 PM
You can stick with the Campy chain but get a superlink or Connex conector. Throw that stupid permalink as far away as you can.
Sram PC99 vs Sachs PC99Noam
Aug 17, 2002 11:58 PM
Are these two chains by the same manufacturer, any diffrences, cons and pros?.

Noam
Downunder
Sram PC99 vs Sachs PC99eddie m
Aug 18, 2002 7:17 AM
Sram and Sachs chains are the same. Sram bought out Sachs a few years ago.
I NEVER remove a narrow chain to clean it unless I have a new connector link to put it together with. The pins of 9sp and 10sp chains do not protrude enough to be replaced easily, and some actually need to be peened over to have enough strength. Most of the chain failures I've seen are Shimano chains, and all of them were chains that were installed at local shops.
I use Sram and Rohloff chains, and BMX chains for my fixed gear, and I've never had a chain failure.
re: looking for advise in the chain jungleclintb
Aug 19, 2002 7:39 AM
Stick with your Record chain, but get the Wipperman Connex link. I really like it for one main reason. It's outer plates are longer than normal and that keeps it from separating if the chain gets too much slack.