RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


New Wheels Opinions(10 posts)

New Wheels Opinionsbryanpiersol
Aug 15, 2002 4:37 PM
I would like some reccomendations as to what new 700c clincher wheels to purchase. I am currently running Rolf Sestrieres, and used to run Mavic Ksyriums. I am looking for a lightweight wheel set. Difficulty choosing between Cane Creek Aero Team (titanium spokes), Hed Alps (carbon clinchers), Spinergy Xaero lites, and Shimano Dura Ace 7701.

Want something light, but aero...problems with any of these wheelsets would be helpful, and I am open to suggestions!

Thanks!
Bryan
Rolf vs. KsyriumsTahoe Gator
Aug 15, 2002 4:48 PM
sorry to elude your question with another question, but curious what you don't like about the Rolfs or the Ksyriums? I have the Vector Pros and have been considering going lighter weight (for climbing) and am curious of your thoughts between the Rolfs and Ksyriums.
Rolf vs. Ksyriumsbryanpiersol
Aug 15, 2002 6:01 PM
I work in a shop, and have the ability to purchase a new set of wheels about once per year. The wheel is my favorite part of the bike, and they change the whole ride and feel of the bike.

I still have no preference between these two wheelsets...they are both lightweight, strong and aero, but would probably go with Mavic if given the opportunity to choose between the two...they seem to have a nicer looking seam (i.e. you cant see the ground down weld opposite the valve stem)..rolf look a bit un-finished...
re: New Wheels Opinionsweiwentg
Aug 15, 2002 6:30 PM
Cane Creek makes good wheels. but for all that, just because the rims are called 'aeroheads' does not mean that they're aero. yes, the spoke count is low, but that's it.
as for the Heds, the rims are 465 grams (according to Hed's website). that's not light, but it isn't heavy. my friend has a set of Alps, and the spoke nipples were mounted at the hub. plus the rims are 55m deep. out of the choices you mentioned, I think I would get the Heds. total weight should (Hed's claimed weight) be around 1600g - which is pretty reasonable for an aero wheel.
PS, a friend who worked in a bike store said the Sestriere rims were ~450g.
re: New Wheels Opinionsbryanpiersol
Aug 16, 2002 5:24 AM
Do ypu know if the HED Alps a "hard" carbon fiber, or a "soft" carbon? Is is structural or just a cover like the Cosmic Carbone?
re: New Wheels OpinionsTrekFurthur
Aug 16, 2002 5:35 AM
Given that the Alps have an aluminum rim, I would hazard to say the carbon's a cover. If you want a true aero carbon wheel, go with Zipp or Lew (tubulars only, for a completely carbon rim) or Bontrager if they're going on a bike that doesn't need to switch brake pads.

Curious that you put the Dura-Ace wheels on the list; they're not that light.
re: New Wheels Opinionsbryanpiersol
Aug 16, 2002 4:37 PM
I contacted Zipp today...about the aluminum braking surface deforming. It is "a known problem" according to Zipp...they have stopped production of their 404 and 303 clinchers until mid september...when they get a better aluminum extrusion for the wheel..

Dura ace wheels are not too heavy, but they are basically the same thing as the sestrieres, just heavier.:(
re: New Wheels OpinionsTrekFurthur
Aug 19, 2002 10:18 AM
Given the Lateral Cross-over lacing, the Shimano's are supposed to be more foregiving than traditional paired-spoke wheels. Thus, I think a little different than Sestrieres, which might be stiffer feeling. I love my XLites.
re: New Wheels Opinionsmaximum15
Aug 16, 2002 8:36 AM
I have Rolf Vector Comps. Last weekend I had them off doing some tube replacements. Later that day went to LBS and they showed me a set of American Classic 450s (think that is the right number). I absolutely could not believe how light they were. The aero shape is similar to the Vectors. I would suggest you look at them, they are about $600 for the set.
AmC 450s?? Check the 350sLeGrimper
Aug 16, 2002 11:01 PM
If you think the 450s are light you should check the 350s. If it is climbing weight that you are after then these babies are super light. 1300g the set!! I have a number of racing kms on these wheels and they are true despite taking a number of high speed knocks.

They are not super aero but they roll fast and climb really well. American Classic also build the 38mm and 58 mm Zip rim with their own hubs which make a super light wheel, aero too. Less than 1100g for the 38mm around 1300g for the 58mm.

Personally I have or have used all the wheels mentioned here (except the Zips) and rate the 350s the best.

Worth a look.