RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Are all carbon seatposts crap?(10 posts)

Are all carbon seatposts crap?Iwannapodiumgirl
Aug 14, 2002 3:08 PM
Read the reviews of various carbon posts. Almost all for each brand mentioned cracking and slipping. Are these a "poor" product by definition ie due to material, or are there "good" carbon seatposts out there?
re: Are all carbon seatposts crap?MXL02
Aug 15, 2002 3:56 AM
My own take on it after a bad experience with the Record Carbon and much research is that it is weight related. Clydesdales have no business being weight weenies, and basically the posts are not designed to hold up a 200lb a$$.

If you or anyone else who is not that heavy, and still had a problem with carbon posts, please post it here for everyone's benefit.
re: Are all carbon seatposts crap?paulj
Aug 15, 2002 2:54 PM
I couldn't even use a Campy Chorus titanium seatpost. The walls were so thin that I crushed the post down to a smaller diameter with the seatpost collar. I've since replace it with a Campy Daytona steel post and it works fine. I'm 160 lbs. I wouldn't even attempt a carbon post after this experience....
re: Are all carbon seatposts crap?Iwannapodiumgirl
Aug 15, 2002 3:04 PM
I currently weight 75kgs (about 165lbs)... I have used a Campag titanium post for a while and I had no issues. A few people I ride with are similar weights, and still use their Campag Titanium post for a few sessions. Are you sure it was not a dud Campag post?
re: Are all carbon seatposts crap?paulj
Aug 15, 2002 8:52 PM
I probably overtightened the collar and now the post diameter is visibly narrower at this point. Not really weight related. After seeing the post deformed like that I lost confidence in it and changed it out.
re: Are all carbon seatposts crap?Axle1
Aug 15, 2002 7:44 PM
I am 195lbs and have no problems with my chorus ti seatpost. It is acutally only a few grams heavier and way safer than carbon in my opinion. thanks
re: Are all carbon seatposts crap?clintb
Aug 16, 2002 6:36 AM
1. Cracking: Was it used in a frame that had a "not so smooth" inner seat tube surface? Nick the carbon and you're likely to have problems. This is why some manufacturers are going to a shim with a carbon post.
2. Slipping: Do not grease a carbon seatpost. Greasing a post is to keep disimilar metals from oxidizing and thus "locking" together. This was especially prevalent in aluminum on steel.

I'm 195lbs and have zero problmes with a USE alien carbon in 27.2 x 350 shimmed in a Giant TCR frame.
3 of them and no problemsDougSloan
Aug 16, 2002 7:36 AM
Colnago, USE Alien, and Easton; no problems.

Doug
re: Are all carbon seatposts crap?urwhaturide
Aug 16, 2002 1:41 PM
200 lb rider with Selcof carbon post on a Prince checking in - no problems in the year I've been riding it
Thanks for the advice...Iwannapodiumgirl
Aug 16, 2002 6:50 PM
will give a carbon post a try. Will post my review on the review page for all the wired world to read!