RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Time Impact Pedals(17 posts)

Time Impact Pedalshairywinston
Aug 5, 2002 9:51 AM
Has anyone tried out the new Time Impact Pedals? I have found them for a decent price at totalcycling.com. About 30-50 cheaper than here in the states. The shipping is about $20 bucks so I don't want to order these things without hearing atleast a few opinions. They look very promising. Thanks in advance for your help. Troy
re: Time Impact Pedalsmerckx56
Aug 5, 2002 2:23 PM
I saw a pair today. we got 'em in the shop this afternoon. Very swank! they are minimal at best. i'm not gonna ride 'em, but the construction looks great and they are F'ing light. so you know, the prices from totalcycling are damn close to wholesale cost, even with shipping!
re: Time Impact Pedalshairywinston
Aug 5, 2002 3:49 PM
thanks for the info. Troy
re: Time Impact CLEATSIwannapodiumgirl
Aug 5, 2002 4:13 PM
Are the cleats compatible with the TBT sole? Or is a new pair of shoes with LOOK drillings required?

Tia
Here's a photo of the cleatsOffTheBack
Aug 5, 2002 4:52 PM
Can't be 100% sure, but looking closely at the photo I think I see the 4-bolt TBT pattern.

I've decided to take the leap and order a pair of these, I'll post as soon as I have any impressions.
Here's a photo of the cleatsIwannapodiumgirl
Aug 5, 2002 5:00 PM
Thanks for the photo.

Looking forward to reading your impressions of the pedal. Who knows, there may be a swarm of Equip Pro pedals in the classified section soon!
Yes, direct attachment with TBT solesboneman
Aug 6, 2002 1:08 AM
The new cleats have the four screw drilling compatible with TBT soles. In fact, if you use TBT soles or TBT inserts in Sidi, Northwave or Carnac shoes, you don't need to use the shim plate (only 1-2mm thick)which they recommend when using the cleats with Look style drillings.

If you like the Equipe pedals, you'll probably like the Impacts even more. Durability and longevity aside, they're a significant improvement in weight and design over the two previous Equipe models.
Yes, direct attachment with TBT solesIwannapodiumgirl
Aug 6, 2002 2:38 AM
Thanks for the confirmation. I personally like the "feel" of the equip pedals - secure once you have clipped in... yet sometimes I find clipping in and out to be a little difficult. Has this been resolved? If so, has this compromised the secureness (is that a word?!?!) of the pedal once clipped in?

Also, it looks to me as if the two rear corners are not part of the cleat that clips into the pedal. Is this correct? If so, do these protect the rear cleat when off the bike, and make touching down on the ground more secure? (as opposed to slipping on the road at times!)
Yes, direct attachment with TBT solesBanky
Aug 6, 2002 8:45 AM
I just got a pair from totalcycle, I put the on my Carnac shoes w/o the shim and they were exceptable, I then removed them and had to grind a little bit off the the edges of the sole and reattached them with the shim, now they fit perfect and the shim is designed to level out the cleat when attached. The whole process took about 45 minutes and could be done with a file as well.
As far as the pedal goes, excellent, light, easier in and out then my old time and the cleats are much easier to walk in.
Different Float?Kerrhills
Aug 7, 2002 1:30 PM
What is this adjustable float thing I am hearing about? Does the float with the new Time pedals feel the same as the old ones?
re: Time Impact PedalsBolivarroads
Aug 5, 2002 6:51 PM
Do these new time pedals have free float? I tried the Equipe pedals, but my knees didn't like 'em.
re: Time Impact PedalsIwannapodiumgirl
Aug 5, 2002 7:02 PM
Interesting comment. I changed from LOOK to TIME because they gave me less knee troubles. I have heard others express similar comments when changing to TIME. How do you find the LOOK pedals generally?
re: Time Impact Pedalswisill
Aug 5, 2002 9:37 PM
I have used Time Road Pedals since 1988! Last year I tried Campy ProFit pedals for 4 weeks but returned to Time. The new Impact pedal is a significant improvement. You no longer have to use Time Shoes to get the low bioposition. The new adapter (comes with the pedals) is wafer thin and allows three hole (Look) mounting. This adapter is weights almost zero! and is not clunky like the old one. Entry and exit from the Impact is quick and easier than the Equip models it replaces. You still have the enlarged platform to minimize "hotspots". The pedals allows for free rotation but also has the ability to reduce "free rotation" via an included alien wrench. Yes the pedals are lighter than the Equip models but us middle age pedals need to consider the pounds around our hips-guts-thighs before thinking about the 60 grams on the pedals.
re: Time Impact PedalsBanky
Aug 6, 2002 8:47 AM
right on point
re: Time Impact Pedalstav
Aug 6, 2002 8:23 AM
I have tried these and i find them not as good as look pedals , very hard to click in and it take's a time to find the wright position to click and with look i did not have any trouble .And also the house around the bearings are not as tight , you can click the house around the bearings , and as a technician i find this not so good.So for me the pedal is The look pp396.
The LOOK v. TIME debate.....Iwannapodiumgirl
Aug 6, 2002 2:47 PM
must be akin to the Shimano v. Campag debate!

Pedals are personal choice - accept others opinions and decisions to ride whatever they like, whether it be the same or a different pedal than yours.

Pedal to the metal!
All the answers, and then some....Iwannapodiumgirl
Aug 7, 2002 2:21 PM
www.time-impact.com

the website is still under construction, but I guess once it is on-line, everything will be revealed...