RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


105 vs. Ultegra opinions(8 posts)

105 vs. Ultegra opinionsrtyszko
Jul 30, 2002 12:49 PM
Any 105/Ultegra groupies out there have an opinion on why I should go with one over the other?
Let's seeKerry
Jul 30, 2002 4:27 PM
Ultegra is more expensive, better finished, lighter, and more durable. A bit better performing. Whether it is worth it to go with the higher group is TOTALLY up to the user. Some would never ride anything less than DA for all kinds of reasons, while others would say that 105 is perfectly fine. Your choice. No "right" answer.
Let's seefiltersweep
Jul 30, 2002 4:38 PM
Ultegra is noticeably lighter and marginally more expensive than 105.

Dura Ace is marginally lighter and noticeably more expensive than Ultegra.

I think Ultegra is the most bang for the buck... I've seen a few of the 2001 model bikes that shipped with 105 now shipping in 2002 with Ultegra for the same price.
Let's see . .ultegra all the way homejarraa
Jul 30, 2002 5:35 PM
I have 105 .. if I were to do it all over again, I would choose ultegra over the 105 (I got the groupo free ... college life!!). 105 levers tend to develop an annoying rattle ...oh and keep away from the triples. They are on epain in the a** if not set up right (and chances are .. most LBS don't)
Er... nopeTim Field
Jul 31, 2002 12:18 AM
Once I knew there where 2 clicks in the middle I set mine up within an hour. If you have a crappy LBS learn to do it yourself.

Tim
Let's seefiltersweep
Jul 30, 2002 5:43 PM
Ultegra is noticeably lighter and marginally more expensive than 105.

Dura Ace is marginally lighter and noticeably more expensive than Ultegra.

I think Ultegra is the most bang for the buck... I've seen a few of the 2001 model bikes that shipped with 105 now shipping in 2002 with Ultegra for the same price.
Go for Campag instead...Iwannapodiumgirl
Jul 30, 2002 5:38 PM
I'd get a Chorus groupset rather than the Ultegra... just my 2 cents!
I have 105...fracisco
Jul 31, 2002 7:44 AM
I have 105 on my bike, and my next bike will have Ultegra. A lot of the guys that I see that ride the wheels off their bikes training for racing mostly have Ultegra. I don't think it's worth the cost delta to get into Dura Ace.