RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campy 10 users - opinions on IRD chain vs others(8 posts)

Campy 10 users - opinions on IRD chain vs othersShad
Jul 30, 2002 7:17 AM
I did a search and found some other people inquiring about the 10 speed IRD Black Lightning chain, but no one seems to have posted any experience with one. It has a "snap-link" for tool free installation, but does this mean removable/reusable? Any experience out there with how this chain shifts and how well it wears?

Doug Sloan recently posted some interesting info regarding excessive stretch on his stainless Wipperman 10 speed chain that may be the cause of skipping on his 11 cog. Less than 1500 miles is a pretty short life. Would the Nickel version be a more durable choice? Doug's opinion of the new Campy link was less than stellar as well. I'm one of the suckers that bought the original permalink chain tool and don't know that I want to spend $70 for the next potential failure. Are the old permalink connectors going to be phased out completely? Will I be forced to assimilate?

Should I gamble and get an IRD chain or go with Doug's recommendation of a Campy chain with a removable (Wipperman/Connex) link?
can't be any worse that the original campy 10sColnagoFE
Jul 30, 2002 8:31 AM
my original campy 10 chain developed a "hitch" in the permalink at about 1000 miles. replaced it with a SRAM superlink and replaced at about 2500 miles. Second Campy 10 permalink failed outright (alongside the road) after less than than 1000m. replaced ENTIRE CHAIN again with the "new generation" campy link which is supposed to be better so we'll see how that goes. didn't trust the chain that broke. if this one craps out on me prematurely it'll be wipperman or IRD for sure.
I've popped a couple myselfShad
Jul 30, 2002 10:20 AM
Had one permalink go about 2 blocks into a road race. Kiss that entry fee goodbye. I may gamble on the IRD chain if I don't hear anything negative. Good luck with that "new style" Campy chain!
re: Campy 10 users - opinions on IRD chain vs othersalansutton
Jul 30, 2002 9:36 AM
I only have the IRD link- it works, and that's all I can really say about it.
Easy on - easy off.
No clicking.
Alan
I still really like the Wipper. 10 speed w/ ChorusOld_school_nik
Jul 31, 2002 4:16 AM
The nickel version is quiet and shifts really well on my brand new Chorus 10 - so far about 1500 miles and everything OK.
re: Campy 10 users - opinions on IRD chain vs otherstarwheel
Jul 31, 2002 5:08 AM
I put just over 5000 miles on my original C-10 chain before the Permalink snapped. I replaced it with a Wipperman nickle chain, which now has about 1500 miles on it with no problems. The chain is very easy to install and my mechanical skills are limited. If you like to remove your chain for cleaning, the Wipperman is a great alternative because the superlink is very easy to use. The chain shifts and functions as well as my original C-10 chain, although I don't think I will try to stretch 5000 miles of wear out of it -- I would be happy with 3000 miles. I have already bought another Wipper chain to use when the current one wears out. However, after that, I might try another C-10 chain using a Wipperman superlink.
5000 miles! WOWColnagoFE
Jul 31, 2002 6:17 AM
I changed mine at half that. Were your cogs OK with a new chain at 5000?
I wouldn't recommend it ...tarwheel
Jul 31, 2002 10:50 AM
I left the chain on that long because my bike shop kept telling me it was OK. I had them check it several times -- including about 4 days before the chain snapped -- and they said it had plenty of wear left. After it snapped and left me stranded 3 miles from home, I decided to buy a Wipperman chain that I could install myself. I figured I gave my bike shop enough chances to sell me a chain and they missed out.

I initially left the cassette on when I installed the Wipperman chain, but it still shifted a little sloppy, so I bit the bullet and installed a new cassette a couple weeks later at 5,500 miles. I plan to replace the Wipper chain at 3000 miles and hope that I can get 6000 miles out of the next cassette that way. Damn Campy cassettes are so expensive ($80+) that I'm trying to squeeze as many miles out of them as possible.