RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Look vs. SPD???(11 posts)

Look vs. SPD???Bike Mike
Jul 27, 2002 3:22 PM
I am a semi-serious recreational/fitness roadie. I cover 75-100 miles/week on roadways and paved trails on a Trek 2300. I currently have Shimano A515 (SPD) pedals.

Okay, class, here's your assignment: In 100 words or less, explain why, if at all, I should change to Look pedals. Be specific, especially referencing ease of use, durability, and, most importantly, efficiency and the pedal's effect thereon.

Thanks! I await your wisdom.

Mike
re: Look vs. SPD???Carbon fiber fanatik
Jul 27, 2002 4:23 PM
IMHO? Don't switch to "LOOK". They are notorious for squeeking and wearing out the plastic cleats. I know, mine are now in the trash. I switched to dura ace SPD-R. They work great and I'm not scaring away the wildlife anymore.
Keep riding..!
for $80.......IAmtnbikr
Jul 27, 2002 6:02 PM
check out the Performance Forte Pro Mag Ti's. They use an SPD cleat, with 4 degrees of float, which some people may not like, but I find it fine. They are weight-weenie friendly also at 200 grams for the pair. Ti axle and mag body. Nice, light, good working pedal so far for me at least. I have talked to some around here that use Look pedals, and have heard some of the same complaints of noise, etc. But I HAVE NOT tried them myself. I used Time ATAC MTB pedals with ti parts for quite a while, but wanted to drop some weight and gain some pedal clearance. Knocked off 100 grams with the Forte pedals, and did not break the bank.
Why?filtersweep
Jul 28, 2002 5:47 AM
I use Ultegra SPD-Rs that I picked up new for $50- with cleats- and the difference over 515s is amazing (OK, I might be exaggerating just a bit). I had used 515s since I do a lot of "urban" road biking, and I liked how easy it was to clip in while riding in traffic.

515- Pros: Dual-sided entry

SPD-Rs- Pros: lighter, larger cleat platform (more comfortable, if you ask me), feels less like a "pedal" and more like your feet are connected to the cranks. Cons: like regular SPDs, these seem rather "low-tech," metal cleats can chew up the pedals.

I have no comments about Looks. I know they are more popular than SDP-Rs, and frankly, I like the idea of plastic cleats that don't chew up the pedals. From what I've read, the cheapo 206s (or something like that) with the "composite" pedal body is the one to get if you don't want squeaks.
look all the waytav
Jul 28, 2002 12:16 PM
I have the look 396 pedals and they work great , i am against metal cleats that will eat the pedal and i have have heard bad things about spd-r pedals.
don'tJohnG
Jul 28, 2002 12:50 PM
IMHO, LOOK pedals really suck. Heavy, clunky cleats, slippery when wet, high footbed...... doesn't get much worse than that.

Try some Ritchey road logics. Lightweight, cheap ($60 from ebay vendors), decent quality, excellent release consistency ..... did I mention they are very light.

ymmv
JohnG
don'ttav
Jul 28, 2002 11:39 PM
They suck??? That's why the most pro's ride them !
The only "real" advantages are:-Eager Beagle
Jul 29, 2002 7:33 AM
1) Weight - Looks tend to be a bit lighter
2) Contact area - if you have less than really stiff shoes, the SPDs can give and very localised load point on the bottom of your foot - can cause hot spots, and your shoe will bend around the pedal, which is less efficiant than a large-platform look.
3) You "Look" (geddit?) more the part on the road (irrelevant by common sense analysis).
4) Easier to ride Looks with ordinary shoes if you have to.

On the other hand
1) Looks are not more durable (and will be a lot less if you don't look after your cleats).
2) You will need road shoes for Looks (not enough room between the tread on MTB shoes to fit them in)
3) Far harder to walk in 2 above than MTB shoes, on account of "Duck Cleat" issues.
4) You have to spend $ to get the Looks - you already have the SPDs.

101 Words (ish :-))
just curious on the "lighter" issue.....IAmtnbikr
Jul 29, 2002 3:23 PM
it seems to me most Look pedals are quite heavy. Even the monstrously expensive CX-7's are 340 grams. 340 grams for $350.......hmm.....I still think 200 grams for $80 was a far better deal. I do agree with the stiff shoe deal though. I rode Time ATAC mtb pedals with the roadbike, then got some carbon fiber-soled shoes and the Forte SPD's.
lets get real....k?Carbon fiber fanatik
Jul 29, 2002 6:27 PM
if your sole is as stiff as the manufacturer claims.. hot spots will not occur no matter what the surface area of the pedal is like. As far as weight? True, "LOOK" pedals are carry a weight as large as the goofy plastic cleats. But I doubt your thighs will feel the difference of an ounce or two while spinning. Just my two cents cuz i'm in one of those moods today...
MethinksEager Beagle
Jul 30, 2002 12:32 AM
you may have better quality SPDs than me - both my pairs of looks (can't remember the models now - the carbon ones and some old plastic ones I train on in the winter) are lighter than my cheapend SPD's (Welgos and Richleys I think). Guess it also depends how you look (ouch - pun) at it - you get more platform area for your ounce with the Looks.