RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Anybody know where to get cloth tape?(12 posts)

Anybody know where to get cloth tape?indianabob
Jul 22, 2002 8:27 PM
I always go into the local LBSs and get a "Ewwww," face when I ask for cloth handlebar tape. Call me old school, but I love the grip I get on good old black cloth tape (double wrapped). I typically don't ride with gloves and my sweaty hands slip off of cork. Plus, any lighter-than-black cork looks really nasty after a few hundred miles.

Any internet houses stock good ole cloth?

Thx
REI maybe, Rivendell for surecory
Jul 23, 2002 7:33 AM
Some REI stores (I happen to have been in three last week looking for something else) have it in black. But you can order any color you want from www.rivendellbicycles.com. I think it's 3 bucks a roll
Tell your LBS to get off his A**......davet
Jul 23, 2002 8:03 AM
and look in his 2002 QBP catalog (every LBS has one) on page 446 for 'Tressostar Cotton Tape, Black' part # HT2000.
I use this tape underneath my cork tape to increase the diameter of the bar 'cause I have big hands. BTW, you'll need two boxes of tape per handlebar.
Yes, tell himTJeanloz
Jul 23, 2002 1:25 PM
Yes, tell him to get off his lazy a** and hop to so that he can make a sale on a $3 special order.

On second thought, do the guy a favor and buy it from somebody who stocks it.
Well....grzy
Jul 23, 2002 5:57 PM
$3 Today
$30 Tommorow
$300 Next week.

If you didn't work in a LBS you might see a pattern here.
I understand the argument,TJeanloz
Jul 24, 2002 4:49 AM
I understand, and personally think that every shop must keep cloth tape in stock, as it has a variety of other beautiful uses.

And for a good customer, of course it would be special ordered, but it wouldn't be something that I would jump off my a** to get ordered. It would have to wait until there were critical mass in the QBP order before I actually put it in. It was the tone, not the contents, of the order that got to me.
OKgrzy
Jul 24, 2002 9:14 AM
Well, the tone thing goes both ways. The surley LBS guy attitude thing is a real turn off for people coming in looking for something special even if it's retro and geeky. Most LBS have regular orders to QBP and throwing in a couple rolls of cloth tape is no biggie. In my town we have tons of shops, but I go to the one where the guys treat you like a real person, never talk down to you, offer you honest advice and willingly order special items for you. It makes them a cut above the others and I always reccomend them to people when they ask and tell them in the same breath that they're not the cheapest shop in town - just the best. The appreciate the fact that I'm like a virtual salesman and have been responsible for many bike sales to my friends. Just something to think about along the long term/short term issue.
A good LBS WILL get off his a** for a $3.00 secial order........davet
Jul 24, 2002 1:13 PM
As a customer of ANY LBS, I would EXPECT them to take a special order for anything I wanted to buy. I would also UNDERSTAND that I may not be able to get a $3.00 roll of cloth tape tomorrow, that I would have to wait until a 'regular' order was placed. I would NOT expect an LBS to sneer at the choice of items that I wanted to buy. I WOULD appreciate their opinions if they thought another product was better or could do the job as well. I owned and worked in motorcycle shops for close to 30 years, and dammit if a customer wanted a pink Harley-Davidson doily, we would damn sure order him one! Many LBS personnel don't know how to express their opinions about equipment, they state them as facts. Or deride the customers choices because they don't know how to present "this choice is better because...." and follow up with a logical and rational statement. I LOVE my LBS, they are alway showing me new things, listening what I have to say, AND if they think I'm following the wrong track, they will show me why. I am a real bike geek, visit many stores, and I can't tell you how many times I have been turned-off by some snot-nosed kid who REALLY SHOWS-me-how-much-he-knows and-I-don't. And I can't tell you how many times I have been turned-on by some snot-nosed kid who carefully and patiently shows me why I am wrong and he DOES really-know-more-than-I-do. In the latter case I usually leave a ton of money at that store. So you see, it's not a matter of knowlege, it's a matter of ATTITUDE!
Of course they will,TJeanloz
Jul 24, 2002 1:23 PM
I'm not advocating general laziness for bike shop employees, and those of you who were once my customers know that that's not my attitude. But it is seriously obnoxious to expect the shop to jump up and down and grovel for a $3 sale. Of course we'd put in the order- though I know some shops that wouldn't- but if we didn't have it in stock, and it were going to be a couple of weeks, I'd probably say: "I can get it for you in 2 weeks, or you can cruise over to Vecchios and pick some up this afternoon."

I may be wrong, but I seem to remember that Tressostar comes in boxes of 12- but that might just be where the price break is.
Maybe we're talking apples and oranges........davet
Jul 24, 2002 1:39 PM
..but my impression of the original post was that the posters' LBS sort of looked down on is choice of bar tape, and the poster, therefore, was looking for an internet source. Maybe the LBS didn't know how or where to get cloth bar tape. But I'll tell ya', if that was my shop, I would make a concerted effort to find a source for that guy. Too many customers walk out of a bicycle store feeling bad, and if the store can't, or won't, at least look like they are jumping up and down for a $3.00 order, they have no room to complain when their (ex) customer goes on-line to buy to buy it. I am merely a customer. I don't expect stores to grovel at my feet. I DO EXPECT them to want, and to earn my dollar.
I agree,TJeanloz
Jul 24, 2002 1:54 PM
We never looked down on customers who wanted anything, though there were some items that we flat-out refused to sell, because we thought they were either unsafe (infant bicycle seats) or crap (modolo levers).

On the one hand, give the customer what they want, on the other, know your customers well enough to help them find what they really want. But Tressostar should be stocked by everybody...
Make a fashion statement-use VeloxSnowBlind
Jul 24, 2002 8:22 AM
Seriously, type "cloth handlebar tape" into yahoo.com, you get many valid responses.
Q.E.D.