RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Not the usual Campag debate...(24 posts)

Not the usual Campag debate...Iwannapodiumgirl
Jul 16, 2002 12:20 AM
I am upgrading (read that anyway you like) my Bianchi XL EV2 from 9 speed Dura Ace to 10 speed Campag.

Question - do I opt for Record, when all I really need is Chorus, if 10 speed is really needed at all?!?! The difference between the two is only A$600. How do the two compare (and no, the Reviews are not that helpful!)

Comments/suggestions/pro-Shimano sledgings welcomed!
what they say about Chorus vs Recordweiwentg
Jul 16, 2002 12:36 AM
the internals are all the same, Chorus is just a wee bit heavier (I think it's just a bit heavier than DA). I think I would get Chorus, unless you were hell bent on light weight.
re: Not the usual Campag debate...PaulCL
Jul 16, 2002 5:46 AM
Gotta agree with weingtghweos....oh whatever...

I have Record. Its' light and aesthetically beautiful but is it $600 better than Chorus? Probably not. At that time in my life, I had the money to burn (not now...damn stock market!). The black carbon ergo shifters of Record sold me. If it bugs you in the future that you opted for Chorus, spend the extra bucks and buy the carbon Record shifters. The rest of the componentry is essentially the same. Paul
the crankset for Record is pretty different though (nm)ColnagoFE
Jul 16, 2002 7:19 AM
Your right..oops (nm)PaulCL
Jul 16, 2002 12:11 PM
recordDougSloan
Jul 16, 2002 5:54 AM
Get the Record and don't look back. Get Chorus and you'll always wonder whether you should have upgraded.

You don't have to go all or nothing, either. You could get a Chorus cassette and save over $100 right there.

The EV2 is a very light frame. It begs for light components, too. I have Record on mine.

Doug
C'mon now DougColnagoFE
Jul 16, 2002 7:21 AM
what makes record functionally any better than chorus? sure if you have a c-40 then style would dictate record, but chorus works just as well. as then other poster says if you have money to burn then go record...if not then use a mix or all chorus and be happy with it. there is little to no difference in functionality between the groups other than maybe the crankset and if anything chorus is MORE durable due to less TI and CF bits.
function?DougSloan
Jul 16, 2002 7:31 AM
Who said anything about function? They work the same. Record is lighter and, IMO, looks better. If you buy an EV2, a top of the line light weight racing frame, then I think you ought to put the top of the line light weight components on it, too.

Durability -- either will likely outlast the frame.

Doug
function?Glory Hole
Jul 16, 2002 2:18 PM
For $600 he could buy a light weight set of wheels or a super light weight single wheel. This way he has light weight components added where it really counts.
Chorus is just as good functionallyColnagoFE
Jul 16, 2002 7:16 AM
It just depends on how much you value the look of the carbon fiber bits and SLIGHTLY less weight of record. $600 was too much for me. How about a mix of the two? You'll still come out lower than all-Record. Then again if I ever get a C-40 it'll be Record all the way. On another note--do you really even NEED Chorus or would Centaur do? It's all nice stuff.
IMHO: mix it upJohnG
Jul 16, 2002 7:30 AM
I MUCH-MUCH prefer the look and feel of the Record Cranks and levers over the Chorus. There is a very small weight difference and a small stiffness difference (in the crank) but it's mostly a look and feel issue. Oh, the carbon levers feel very nice on cold mornings.

The good part is that the price differential is pretty small for these items.

Make sure you order the 'differential' brakes.

JohnG
Lube portsSnowBlind
Jul 16, 2002 7:36 AM
Record hubs and the Headset (except hidden) have lube ports.
Handy for wet or gritty enviros.

Personally I went record on all bearing surfaces (headset, hubs, BB, crankset because its so pretty) and chorus on the controls.
I did an analysis of weight for dollars, and it really ain'tbill
Jul 16, 2002 7:55 AM
that pretty. You're talking about a dollar per gram for most components, quite a bit more for some others. Is it worth it?
No, of course not.
Well, I had to have the Record crankset, because. Because it is so friggin pretty. Then, with the carbon shifters, you're pretty close to the dollar a gram guideline (well, you're not, but it's still not that much in absolute dollars). The BB is positively a bargain! Keep going!
Ah, get Record and don't look back. It's ridiculous money for the aesthetics, more ridiculous for the little bit of weight, but, if you're thinking about it, you want it. And the only thing more ridiculous than spending that kind of money on a groupset is spending a big fat wad on Chorus and not getting what you really want.
Record, with a disclaimerMXL02
Jul 16, 2002 8:02 AM
If money is an issue, then buy the Chorus. Otherwise, buy Record, and have the bike of your dreams. Will it make you a better/faster rider? Probably not, but it will make you smile while you ride. In terms of actual perfomance, most people agree that chorus is more than satisfactory for 95% of the riders out there.
Basically its like asking should I get a Boxster S or a C2? Hell, both are probably more sports car than you need, but you're not buying them for practical reasons, you are buying them for fun. Buy whatever you can afford.
re: Not the usual Campag debate...mwood
Jul 16, 2002 9:43 AM
Recently the Record vs. Dura Ace debate came up again on the General Discussion board and a couple of articles were linked which had quite a bit of information relating to your question. I'm sure a search would find the correct post.
The bottom line for the one reviewer was that Record was not worth the difference because Chorus was functionally the same and more durable.
Chorus & use savings for a pair of K'sOld_school_nik
Jul 16, 2002 10:07 AM
Get the Chorus - lighter than dura ace despite what some have suggested - perhaps if you get the 50/50 or all Ti freehweel - but anyway use the money you save and buy the really nice light wheelset such as Mavic K's

Some have said Chorus will wear better and I think that is true too.
Chorus & use savings for a pair of K'skoala
Jul 16, 2002 2:16 PM
All this is nice assuming one has the money to buy record. I would have even though I am a snail compared to my former self. Otherwise go chorus. I just didnt have the disposible income for record and the chorus is nice!
Personally...aeon
Jul 16, 2002 3:50 PM
Unless you really prefer the shifting action and feel of the Campy stuff, I would keep the Dura-Ace and buy some super sexy Zipp 303's or the American Classic carbon rim/bladed spoke wheels. Plus if you want, an extra cassette to give you some different gear ranges than the one you have.

I mean, the performance between the two brands are both to drool over, and you won't really save significant weight.

Other upgrades you could consider: Carbon seatpost, King headset, Storck carbon cranks, carbon bar and mag. stem from Stella Azzurra... endless possibilities...
I have the Zipp 303s already!Iwannapodiumgirl
Jul 16, 2002 4:06 PM
but I like the sound of carbon seatpost and cranks! next on my list...
In that caseaeon
Jul 16, 2002 6:34 PM
Hmm

Still, I would probably find it hard to justify a full switch from an excellent groupo to an equally excellent one... yes you will get an extra gear, but with the proper cassette selection it's defenately not a necessity. Yes, the record carbon levers and derailleurs are sexy, but why not save the record group for your next bike, or when the dura ace has run it's course?

Some further suggestions:

http://www.stellaazzurra.com/ - Stella Azzurra Lario carbon handlebar at 175 g and Viceversa magnesium stem at 100 g

http://www.use1.com/carbon/carbon.htm - USE Alien Carbon Post at 166 g

http://www.storckbicycles.com/parts/powerarms.html - Storck Powerarms crank 290 g

http://www.fizik.it/NewProducts_Aliante.aspx - Fizik Aliente saddle, around 166 g
Thanks for the links..Iwannapodiumgirl
Jul 16, 2002 8:43 PM
good to see the Internet is useful for all kind of things, not just gambling and porn!
gambling and pornColnagoFE
Jul 17, 2002 6:23 AM
probably the only two types of sites on the internet making the big bucks these days. go figure. noone admits to using either, but they seem to make money faster than anything else.
gambling and pornIwannapodiumgirl
Jul 18, 2002 3:07 AM
well, strip poker is the greatest poker variant... after all, everything is wild! ;o)
Thanks for the comments...Iwannapodiumgirl
Jul 16, 2002 11:51 PM
I bought the Bianchi last week for A$3,000. It has Dura Ace on it at the minute, but I bought it just for the frame. I am currently riding Campag, and will be building this dream bike with Campag...

I will follow my dreams and build using Record. I will also buy a pair of Protons for training.

I will post some pictures when complete.

Thanks for the advice... keep riding.