RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


NEW Dura Ace Bottom Bracket??(9 posts)

NEW Dura Ace Bottom Bracket??gray8110
Jul 11, 2002 9:08 AM
It's time for a new BB, and I am weighing the options between a DA bottom bracket after going with Ultegra last time because of the durability issues with the DA bracket. This is on a light bike so $10 bucks for the 40 gms difference sounds reasonable to me but I've heard conflicting stories on whether the new Dura Ace brackets are any more reliable than they were in years past. If I ride a lot and occasionally in the rain would I be better served by going with Ultegra again??

Spence
re: NEW Dura Ace Bottom Bracket??Eric_H
Jul 11, 2002 10:10 AM
I live in the often wet Pacific NW, I have had much better success with the no-mess Ultegra BB. I have also noticed that most riders up here with D/A groups use the Ultegra BB.

In addition to the maintenance hassles of the D/A BB, I also found it to be very frustrating to adjust and eventually the needle bearings wore asymmetrically on the spindle. This wear led to the BB being "just right" in adjustment with the cranks at 6/12 o'clock, and then loose with the cranks at 3/9 o'clock. I have seen this with other D/A BBs as well.
re: NEW Dura Ace Bottom Bracket??Juanmoretime
Jul 11, 2002 10:43 AM
I have less tahn 2,000 miles on a bb7700 and had to pull it apart because of a creak on the power stroke, left crank only. Thru some great advice on this sight, I regreased it and wrapped the cups in teflon tape. The creak is gone but it's only been 2 days since I did it. That said I'm somewhat concerned about the long term durability of the Dura Ace bottom bracket. By reading the reviews on this site, I suspect I'll be going to a Ultegra bottom bracket before too long.
Nonsensegrzy
Jul 11, 2002 4:40 PM
The DA BB lasts for a long time IF you take care and maintain it properly - been running mine for a couple years. If it gets out of adjustment at all then it will start to wear rapidly. It really is a big "IF" and if you don't stay on top of your routine maintenance then you'll be better served by the Ultegra unit. You can get creaking on Ultegra BB's almost as easily.
re: NEW Dura Ace Bottom Bracket??LC
Jul 11, 2002 4:14 PM
The DA BB can not really take any rain without a compete cleanout and regrease needed. If you have a rain bike and promise your "light bike" that you will never take it in the rain then you might consider one, but otherwise save yourself $10 and a lot of hassle.
re: NEW Dura Ace Bottom Bracket??mpm32
Jul 12, 2002 5:49 AM
It's funny that some people will spend 80+ dollars on expendables like a pair of tires with no problem. But when it comes to a $45 BB, replacement is a big issue. People want it to last forever and it will with maintance. However, if you are in the red on your time budget like myself, spending $45 on a shiny new DA BB every other year is no big deal.
very trueJekyll
Jul 12, 2002 5:56 AM
I got around 5k-6k out of my last D/A bb - I can live with that.
very trueNessism
Jul 13, 2002 6:29 PM
Honestly, 6K out of a bottom bracket is piss poor. The bearings will last a long time assuming one can keep them dry. Thus the problem. Maybe all the bullet proof sealed units have spoiled us so we don't want to do maintaince anymore?
very truegrzy
Jul 15, 2002 2:37 PM
Dry? The real culprit is allowing the play to build up. Water, while not great, doesn't do a whole lot by itself since it doesn't mix with the grease. I get my DA BB wet all the time and have zero problems with it - I just keep it adjusted, but then I have to with a ti frame - it lets me know whenever it's not happy. Your point is dead on however.