RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Which tubes do you use?(8 posts)

Which tubes do you use?Tim Field
Jul 4, 2002 4:55 AM
Just looking though tubing by dedacciai, reynolds and columbus I'm wondering which you guys ride... also if you have the choice of any what would you be using (not so much talking about bikes here but tubes). Anyone know which is the strongest I assume it's a choice between Ti 6-4, Reynolds X100, Columbus Starship and Dedaccia's scandium. Hmm... any info out there guys?

Thanks, Tim
Goofy questionKerry
Jul 4, 2002 1:06 PM
People ride the frame they bought, and few chase after specific brand/model of tube. For those who do, it usually means that they will be looking for a new bike next year as their current "hot pick" will no longer be the latest and greatest. Fact: there is "some assembly required" so ignoring the frame geometry and the quality of the build and just looking at the tubing is a mistake. Fact: for each tube in one manufacturer's line, there almost always is a direct competitor tubing from the other guy. What do you mean by strongest? Are you talking absolute tensile strength, specific tensile strength (adjusted for density), modulus, tensile strength per modulus, etc. And for any tensile strength measure, you might as well not talk about Al unless you adjust by density. Do a Google search on tensile strength, but you won't learn much about what builds a good bike.
Goofy questionTim Field
Jul 5, 2002 12:27 AM
Ah well, I'm off to the MTB forums where people are a lot more friendly. I was mearly wishing to increase my knowledge with people who know something about road bikes. Guess I should give up.

Bye, Tim
Cheerio! (nm).muncher
Jul 5, 2002 7:00 AM
don't know about that...plenty of flames on MTBR.com (nm)ColnagoFE
Jul 5, 2002 9:03 AM
Come back Tim, it's really not a goofy questionPaul
Jul 8, 2002 4:02 AM
Sometimes the experts are nasty. In general, I use Michelin service course tubes. Don't like the ultra thin tubes as they puncture easily, and latex is a leaky thing of the past. Prefer a tube that is oversized as you can get leaks in the seams if the tube is stretched out. A tube rated 18-25 is okay for a 20mm or a 23mm tire.
This is a joke, right?Kerry
Jul 8, 2002 4:45 PM
He asked about frame tubing, Al vs. Ti, brands, etc. Are you being nasty too, by telling him about inner tubes instead of responding to his question?
Here's why people think this is goofyColnagoFE
Jul 5, 2002 9:08 AM
There are so many types of tubes out there that discussing all of them is a waste of time. You bring up tubes made of AL...AL blends (ie scandium, and 6/4 TI as your sole examples. Better question would be to focus on the material you are interested in (ie. AL, CF, TI, FE) and THEN start focusing on the specific tubesets. Plus your example that 6/4 TI and Columbus starship are the "strongest" seems a bit weird. Maybe if you were comparing 6/4 TI to 3.25...or Scandium to Starship...apples and apples rather than apples and oranges.