RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Mavic Ksyrium SL vs. Elite - worth the difference ?(25 posts)

Mavic Ksyrium SL vs. Elite - worth the difference ?BenH
Jul 1, 2002 12:28 PM
I'm considering a set of these wheels as I've heard folks rave about them. Is it worth the $250 or so extra to get the SL's over the Elite's ? I weigh about 160 and don't race. I'm usually not too tough on wheels.

This is for a Trek 5900.

Thanks,

Ben
don't pay $800!C-40
Jul 1, 2002 6:05 PM
For about $50 more than the Elites, you can get the SSC SL model from totalcycling.com (in Ireland).

I've purchased two sets from total cycling. They may arrive faster than if shipped from the U.S.
elites are only $368 at totalcycling.comC-40
Jul 1, 2002 6:09 PM
Just checked their website. They also offer the elite model for $368.
elites are only $368 at totalcycling.comBanky
Jul 2, 2002 8:12 AM
yes and the sl's are $560 on totalcycling, are the sl's strong enough for a 210 lb rider?
re: Mavic Ksyrium SL vs. Elite - worth the difference ?pmf1
Jul 2, 2002 4:15 AM
The Trek 5900 is their top of the line carbon bike, right? So why even consider the Elites? They are heavier than a standard open pro DA or Record wheel. The SSC's probably aren't much if any lighter than a wire wheel either, but they are more aero. The SSC's are being closed out for pretty low prices. The SSC SL are just an SSC with little divots shaved out of the rims. This probably saves a whopping 28 grams. For the money, the SSC's are the best deal. Yes, I have a set and for the last 2.5 years I've ridden them everywhere and never had to true them once.

I notice that Colorado Cyclist, and probably other mailorder places in the U.S. have them on sale, if you don't want to go overseas.

If you want to go lighter on the same type of wheel, check out speeddream.com. I have a set of aerolights that weigh 1440 grams/set and cost $500. They're an aero/climbing wheel like the Ksyriums. They are built from standard components -- so a bike shop could repair them. The K's don't have that quality.
re: Mavic Ksyrium SL vs. Elite - worth the difference ?Pygme
Jul 2, 2002 5:45 AM
Your advertising on this site is getting old and tired.
If you don't like my posts, then don't read thempmf1
Jul 2, 2002 5:58 AM
Advertising? For who? I don't work for Colorado Cyclist, just noticed the sale in their catalogue. Everyone around here always talks up the UK sites. Is that old and tired advertising, or are we just trying to help the guy out by letting him know where he can go to avoid paying full retail price?

Some folks don't want to buy from overseas vendors. I''ve heard of one case on this board where Mavic refused to warranty a set of K's bought from a UK source because they didn't go through the U.S. distributor (weren't purchased in the U.S.). Some folks value a warranty. Personally, I'd take my chances.

So I'm sorry if my posts are so old and tired. I'm going to continue posting here. I've been posting on this board long before you ever showed up. If you don't like what I write, don't read it. Now go ride on the freeway.
I agree with pmf1 100% (nm)Dave Hickey
Jul 2, 2002 7:23 AM
You are a gentleman and a scholarpmf1
Jul 2, 2002 9:09 AM
And there are few of us left : > }
I agree with pmf1 100%Jekyll
Jul 2, 2002 4:00 PM
Some people have been around here long enough to earn a certain amount of respect for their posts and refrain from SPAM, etc.
Now who the F*ck are you and when did you show up?
I agree with pmf1 100%Pygme
Jul 2, 2002 7:28 PM
Now Now. Pull your shorts out of your crack. I have been here since Roadbikereview was roadies rejoice on MTBreview.

Also, if you agree so much woth PMF, why did you read MY post?
damn - you diagnosed your own condition, congrats!Jekyll
Jul 2, 2002 8:20 PM
you sure you're not on leave from MTBR/passion?
Enjoy your ride on the freeway! nmPaul
Jul 2, 2002 11:00 AM
re: Mavic Ksyrium SL vs. Elite - worth the difference ?Banky
Jul 2, 2002 8:17 AM
I cannot find the SSC's in a clincher online, Are the SL's as strong as the SSC's, I am a little concerned about the shaved rims and that is why I am considering the Elites. Remember, I am a big rider at 210 lbs. that is why I am considering the Ksyriums. Currently am am riding 36 hole CXP 33's and they are heavy.
I weigh 195ColnagoFE
Jul 2, 2002 8:22 AM
and would buy the lightweight Ksyriums...demoed a set on Ride the Rockies and they seem just as stiff and durable as the heavier model to me--when was the last time you heard of a rim breaking between the spokes? (i'm sure as soon as i say this there will be 20 people who say this happens all the time). I also usually ride CXP33s (36 rear, 32 front) which I think are great for general training wheels for heavier riders. I also ride a set of 32 hole Open pros built with revs, but only for special events and races.
In support of the Elitesmuncher
Jul 2, 2002 8:54 AM
I'm around the same weight as you, and ride some horrible roads. I have had the Elites on for over a year now, and haven't even had to true them. The may not be the lightest in the world, but I think they make up for that in aero, and they seem to be bomb-proof. I have an idea that they have the same bearings etc as the more expensive sets - in any event they certainly roll nicely - why pay more?

FWIW.

M.
I have two friends at/over 200lbs, and ride K's.Paul
Jul 2, 2002 10:56 AM
Though one did break a spoke in the rear on a new set. Think it was a defective spoke. He rode his other pair for 8,000 with no problem. My other friend has had the old model for two years with no problem. At your weight, I would buy the K's, and not worry about it.
re: Mavic Ksyrium SL vs. Elite - worth the difference ?Jekyll
Jul 2, 2002 3:56 PM
I ride 2000 Ksyriums, I'm 170lbs which is not super light or heavy. More than 7000 miles and a single touch up to the rear. Two guys I ride with a lot who are pretty big both seem to be very happy with their K's as well. One is around 240 and in his second year on K's and the other (220) just got a set of SL's on his new bike - with around 1000 miles they seem to be doing fine.
On our typical group rides probably 70% of the bikes have Ksyriums. Lots of bigger riders on them - never hear much complaining about anything but the price. At $560 at Total Cycling (and cheaper if you look hard enough at other UK web sites) kind of the no brainer of the boutique wheel market.
re: Mavic Ksyrium SL vs. Elite - worth the difference ?Banky
Jul 3, 2002 8:45 AM
thnaks for your help sounds like I will get the SL's.
as I said, email me, I know someone who has a setweiwentg
Jul 2, 2002 5:45 PM
of SSCs he'd probably like to get rid of. brand new and all that.
as I said, email me, I know someone who has a setBanky
Jul 3, 2002 8:43 AM
Brand New, and how can I get hold of this person
as I said, email me, I know someone who has a setweiwentg
Jul 3, 2002 10:29 PM
he took them off a brand new TCR. email me at weiwentg@hotmail.com
Caveat Emptor: cheap krysiums in UKVO2_max
Jul 2, 2002 3:56 PM
I would be careful about buying stuff over seas - I have seen sketchy feedback about Total Cycling on Ebay.
ebay?filtersweep
Jul 2, 2002 5:35 PM
You sure they are on ebay?
Caveat Emptor: cheap krysiums in UKBanky
Jul 3, 2002 12:29 PM
Not me , I have heard nothing but good things about Total Cycling.