RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Durability of ultegra cassettes? SRAM R9 Cassette?(8 posts)

Durability of ultegra cassettes? SRAM R9 Cassette?tj90
Jun 29, 2002 1:19 PM
I saw the SRAM at Sea otter and looked interesting. I found that performance and excel are virtually the only mail order to carry it. They offer 12-23 and 12-26 with the 12-26 coming in at 214 grams. Im interested if anyone has anything to say about it. Its ~$10 more dollars than ultegra, but is supposed to use heat-treated steel cogs (maybe better lifetime than shimano?).
How long do the ultegra cassettes last? Are you happy with them?
Ultegra cassetteQubeley
Jun 29, 2002 5:41 PM
I've had close to 4000 miles on my Ultegra 11-21 casstte, and I am still racing on it. Is it long enough? I certainly don't expect them to live forever.
I love ShimanoSpoke Wrench
Jun 30, 2002 5:28 AM
I don't know about that particular SRAM cassette, but I've had occasional difficulties getting cheaper SRAM cassettes to shift to my satisfaction. If it was my bike, I'd definitely spend the extra money for the Ultegra.
I love ShimanoSim
Jun 30, 2002 6:24 AM
I have done 8000km with the same cassete and same chainrings, with no problems. it was a 1998 RSX model. so if you want it to last longer, try to clean your chain and chainrings constantly. I have a friend who had the same cassete for 14000km. remember that even Dura Ace won't last long if you don't do maintenance.
DA won't last as long as Ultegra periodJekyll
Jun 30, 2002 8:45 AM
DA is lighter but it won't last as long as an Ultegra cassette under the same conditions. Ultegra is probably the best buy in the Shimano line. I have never used Sram cassettes so no opinion there. Either one won't last if you do not clean your drivetrain and check for chain wear.
Ti cogs and durabilitytj90
Jul 1, 2002 11:42 AM
I always thought (like you said above) that Ti would wear really fast. However, cruising the message boards I could not find anyone with really big complaints in this area. The only thing I could find was that people indicate that Ti has a higher probability of bending or breaking in the larger cogs.
from personal experienceJekyll
Jul 1, 2002 12:26 PM
DA Ti cogs (the big three) wear faster than the steel Ultegra versions (I've also found this to be true on MTB XTR cassettes). I still ride DA cassettes, everything wears, business is good so I'll keep it this way for the time being :-)
Agree completely - Ti wears much faster than steel (nm)Kerry Irons
Jul 2, 2002 6:03 PM