RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


pure curiosity, but how is Spinergy's customer service now?(8 posts)

pure curiosity, but how is Spinergy's customer service now?weiwentg
Jun 17, 2002 6:25 PM
Wise Cycle Buys currently has an good deal on the SRXs, which Nessism posted in Hot Deals. I wonder how Spinergy is doing these days, quality and CS-wise? I know from reading the reviews that their QC has been spotty (numerous broken PBO spokes, bad bearings, self-destructing Rev-Xs) and that their customer service was as fast as a speeding glacier. and yet, Litespeed specced SR3s on their Al-CF bikes. did they manage to revamp themselves? it would seem that even this year's SR3s have been problematic; if this is the case, why did Litespeed spec them?
re: pure curiosity, but how is Spinergy's customer service now?Akirasho
Jun 17, 2002 6:34 PM
... personally, I've had to incidents.

The first was a rim failure at a spoke hole on a first generation R1 with the original vectran spokes.

The second was a bearing failure on an M1 rear cassette mech.

Both were repaired gratis save for shipping (whole wheel on R1 and cassette/bearings on M1... can't remember how much, but I considered it reasonable since both wheels were over a year old).

I was bummed about the failures but happy about the repairs... both products are going strong now.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
are you on a crusade?Jekyll
Jun 17, 2002 8:34 PM
Yeah, they service is a little iffy (understatement) but Velomax's sucks too (not to mention their products.....) and Mavic is another one of the world's wonders of customer service.... what's the point?
yes, I am on a crusade. is there a problem?weiwentg
Jun 18, 2002 5:22 AM
I'll be driving by their offices with Molotov cocktails one of these days. if that doesn't work, I'll kamikaze their offices with a car bomb.
seriously, as I stated in my header, I am curious. if you are offended that is your lookout, not mine. the point is to let people know about these things. I've only been cycling 9 months, so I don't necessarily know all that you do. I'm certainly not trolling - if you check my previous posts you would see that I am no troll. you, however, sound like one.
yes, I am on a crusade. is there a problem?Jekyll
Jun 18, 2002 8:31 AM
I may help you with that Molotov.........
But, failures, etc. happen to all wheels. People brake forks (see the current general thread), frames, seat posts, etc. Spinergy has a bad rep (and at times its well deserved) and their customer service really blows. I still ride my Rev-X's because I like them. I inspect them before each ride, etc in light of the information out there. You seem to be on a one man mission as of late to come up with every negative bit of info on them - thus the crusade.
Either way, unlike you, I have been cycling for almost 20 years and racing for much of that. If my opinions of products that I have ACTUALLY used seem like trolling to you then so be it. Unlike many, when I reply to a post on a product it means that I have owned it for an extended period of time. I am sick of info by proxy so prevalent here. I heard that a web site said that someone had a cousin of an uncle's nephew who had a failure while trying to bunny hop a 12ft ditch reviews are tiresome as are "trolling" allegations.

Cheers.
crusadeweiwentg
Jun 18, 2002 1:11 PM
> You seem to be on a one man mission as of late to come up with every negative bit of info on them

well, I can't blame you for thinking that. but I invite you to consider this. in the last week, regarding Spinergy, I posted the URL to one website that I had come across, and asked one question. I don't think there's anything wrong with that. and I wasn't accusing you of trolling in general, it was just that your reply to me seemed unnecessarily harsh. I'll admit here that if someone insulted my bike, I would certainly get testy.

> I am sick of info by proxy so prevalent here

I believe in learning from others' mistakes. that way I don' have to learn myself. yes, there is a difference between mere hearsay and valid info by proxy, and I do keep that in mind.
Wellgrzy
Jun 18, 2002 10:18 AM
It seems that Lightspeed would spec them b/c they got a great pricing deal. It may even come down to something like LS investing in them to have their own brand of botique wheels ala Trek and Rolf.

You'd have to be nuts to buy Spinergy "design of the month" wheels with all of the troubles reported here and else where, but people do it. Do you want to spend your time riding or on the phone trying to get warranty service? Ultimately a deal on a piece of junk isn't much of a deal. Stick with the stuff that works and has a good reputation - what you pay for is what you get.
Wellalexfr99
Jun 18, 2002 4:26 PM
You sound like a man on a sensibilty "crusade"...