RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Climbing Wheels advice please(16 posts)

Climbing Wheels advice pleaseblueridgerider
Jun 11, 2002 5:24 PM
I'm 5'-11", 147, and ride hilly terrain almost exclusively -- a typical 50 mile loop here involves 4 - 6000 feet of climbing. My current Ultegra/OPs are shot and I'm looking to upgrade a little to something in the $3 - 400 range (including used) that will last a while. Any opinions on American Classic hubs/rims vs. Durace/Open Pro? Or any pre-built wheels? Ritchey? I was looking at Ksyriums but the Elites too heavy and the SSC SL's are too expensive, and even these are heavier than a light Durace/OP set up (heavier still than Am. C) and considering the low spoke count, the rims of the Ksyriums must be significantly heavier. I understand Shimano doesn't like radial lacing -- too hard on the hub flanges -- is this correct?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated. TIA.
re: Climbing Wheels advice pleaseweiwentg
Jun 11, 2002 6:02 PM
Shimano and Campy do not warranty radial lacing - their reason is as you said. it has been done without problems, though.
American Classic hubs are very light. there have been some questions on the reliability of earlier models, but these would seem to have been solved.
you could potentially get a set of last year's Ksyriums for around $400 on eBay. rim weights are unknown - they're 25mm or so, I believe. so, they'd be heavier than OPs, but they're bombproof and relatively aerodynamic. personally, I'd get the Ks if I could. if not, a set of DA/OPs would be fine. I don't know if I'd use the Am Classics for training - you could ask Mike Garcia. Should you wish to stick to traditional wheels, he does build wheels with Am Classic's 350g clincher rims. as for how reliable those are, you would need to ask him.
re: Climbing Wheels advice pleasearbo
Jun 11, 2002 6:31 PM
I'm 6', 167lbs. I've had great luck with my Velomax Ascent Comps. They are light and very strong. They are also reasonably priced at ~$679.00.

You can learn more at www.velomax.com
you can get them on eBay for far less, when they show upweiwentg
Jun 12, 2002 4:19 AM
re: Climbing Wheels advice pleaseGuru_at_AmClassic
Jun 12, 2002 5:16 AM
If you are interested in a lightweight climbing set that could be used for everyday riding, I am selling a pair of Heliums. BUT, they aren't an evryday old helium set. They have Ti spokes and alloy spoke nipples! The switch out saved 206 grams! They are dead straight and come with bags and composite qr's. I am asking 375 for them and they have about 500 miles on them. They are dead straight and look brand new. Let me know if you are interested and would like to see pictures.
Michael
MMusil42374@aol.com
re: Climbing Wheels advice pleaseBeaver
Jun 12, 2002 5:27 AM
I just had my LBS build me a set of Dura Ace/Mavic a couple of weeks ago for a new bike. I was set on 24 hole Dura Ace hubs and my LBS got some 24 hole Mavic Cosmos front replacement rims to build them up. Of course they took off the Cosmos stickers. The wheels are 2x front and rear with tied and soldered spokes. So far so good, only 200 miles on them so I can't comment on long term durability but the Dura Ace hubs are sweet.

Now if you are interested in the Ritchey WCS pre-built wheels, I can comment on those. I have these on another bike. They are very light, hubs are super smooth, they get up to speed quick and maintain speed when coasting. I think I have over 2500 miles on the set and they have only been trued once. They only drawback is that they catch crosswinds...but that is the nature of aero rims and bladed spokes. I'm surprised more people haven't tried them, but I guess everyone wants K's.

Now if I had to choose between these 2 sets of wheels, it would be a tough decision. Since you are looking at a price range of $3-400, the Dura Ace/OPs would be cheaper than the Ritchey WCS. I think I paid $525 for the WCS and about $460 for my Dura Ace/Mavic setup.

As for Shimano not liking radial lacing, I don't know. My backup and training wheels, which were taken off my 2001 TCR1, have an OEM radially laced front wheel.
re: Climbing Wheels advice pleasepmf1
Jun 12, 2002 5:46 AM
I believe that radially lacing a Shimano hub voids the warranty. Their way of saying we don't support it. Their pre-built wheels are radially laced.

My wife has a radially laced front wheel (Ultegra hub) that has held up fine. I wouldn't do it on the rear wheel.

Some options in your price range (plus) might be:

1. American Classic pre-built (I think around $450)
2. Speed Dream Aerolights (around $520)
3. Ksyruim SSC (the older version). These appear to be getting closed out all over the place. They are great wheels. Not the lightest or the most aero, but a nice combo. They are very stiff and great for fast descents.
4. Open Pro/AC or DA hubs. You could do some Sapim spokes too. Avoid ti spokes.
Campy Neutrons on Ebay.dirthead
Jun 12, 2002 5:40 AM
Just purchased a set of New 2002 Campy Neutrons on ebay for $349. These wheels were brand new with all accessories (wheelbags, rim strips, skewers). A dealer from California with the ebay user name of "Yourbikesource" has great deals on all kinds of bike components, including wheels.

The Neutrons are about the same weight as Ksyriums, and come with either Campy or Shimano freehubs. They retail for ~$589 at most online dealers, so $349 is a great deal on them.
"yourbikesource"PaulCL
Jun 12, 2002 6:57 AM
I've been bidding on some of their items recently - with no luck. Was your experience with them a positive?? Any problems?? I hesitate buying too much from an unknown entity. Your feedback would be appreciated. Thanks. Paul
some people have had bad experiencesweiwentg
Jun 12, 2002 7:44 AM
they are not the most competent company on the Internet. my friend ordered a CK headset 3 weeks ago ... it should be coming in tomorrow. they are not dishonest, and most of their clients have had good (but slow) experiences.
"yourbikesource" - bad freaking news!unchained
Jun 12, 2002 9:02 AM
Anyone considering doing business with these clowns, consider in what position you will be in once their latest eBay account is suspended and you have no product!

They are "pre-selling" in violation of eBay rules. They do not have the items. They rely on your payment to pay their suppliers, therefore you have to wait several weeks for product. If their supplier happens to be out of stock you could try to get a refund, if their eBay account has not already been suspended by that point in time.

They have been kicked off of eBay at least three times that I am aware of, but they keep popping up with new ID's. They have just opened a new ID in anticipation of being suspended yet again - "bikesandbeyond" !

They were also known as "bikeaddicted" for one. I was high bidder on a set of pedals from bikeaddicted. PayPal closed their account and sent my payment back, and eBay suspended them. In spite of this they still demanded payment from me. They said they could ship the pedals one week after receiving payment. (Why one week?) I told them that I would be happy to pay once eBay reinstated them. They said they were negotiating with eBay regarding having to pay commissions for non-paying bidders, and that they would be active again. BS - eBay refunds the commission (but not the listing fee) when a bidder does not pay. Then they demanded I pay a 3% cancellation fee. Good grief. When I refused I began receiving computer viruses from unknown sources through my email account that was only used for eBay, and only used with three different sellers. I was forced to close that eMail account.

Buyer beware!
"yourbikesource" - other suspended accountsunchained
Jun 12, 2002 9:12 AM
"all4bikes" and "bestgear4less".

http://groups.google.ca/groups?dq=&start=100&hl=en&lr=&group=rec.bicycles.marketplace&selm=b2910aab.0206101334.3bef21ae%40posting.google.com
THANKS !!!PaulCL
Jun 12, 2002 11:10 AM
I'll stop bidding on their products. Heck, the tires I was trying to buy are the same price in Europe anyway.
2 Purchases with great results! No complaints (nm)dirthead
Jun 13, 2002 3:58 AM
"yourbikesource"dirthead
Jun 13, 2002 4:15 AM
It seems the negative comments about "yourbikesource" in this forum are coming from just a handful of people. Their feedback is good, their prices are great, and the service I received from them was as good or better than any other seller on eBay, and better than a lot of bike shops with internet sites (Colorado Cyclist, Nashbar, Performance, etc.)

They even called me to clear up a question about one of the money orders I sent, and then immediately shipped my item. The wheels I ordered are flawless, and I got them at over $200 off of their normal price! Obviously, a few people have had problems, but with the volume of products they are turning, I am surprised the problems have been so few. I agree that Bidpay sucks, I would much rather pay with Paypal than have to send a money order, but if you want to get a really good deal, and don't mind sending a money order for payment, I would go for it. They site their reason for not accepting Paypal is the 2.9% fee. I can agree with that. I have sold lots of stuff on eBay, and when you add up all of eBay's fees (that constantly seem to increase), and add another 2.9% for the buyer using Paypal, that's a big chunk of the total auction price that you don't get to keep!! With the prices they are selling most of their items for, I can imagine why they don't want to lose another 2.9% to Paypal.

This is just my opinion, but both my purchases were positive. I have been scammed on eBay before, so I know what it feels like, but the only thing I have heard as a complaint against them is that they may take a long time to ship. I have not had that experience with them, and reading through their feedback, 98% of their buyers have not had that experience with them and are happy with their purchases. Don't let the opinions of a couple of people keep you from a good deal, use your own judgement.
Feedback checking.unchained
Jun 13, 2002 2:30 PM
Check the feedback of their current ID, and all their past ID's before you decide if it is worth taking the chance.

Their current feedback is quite poor.

They do not currently have a PayPal account because PayPal closed it.