RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Mavic CXP-21 crack pictures(10 posts)

Mavic CXP-21 crack picturesMiklos
May 28, 2002 5:32 AM
These are the original rims on my '00 GT ZR3000. They have just a little over 3500 miles on them. I weigh 230 lbs. I didn't notice them until I washed the bike after a rain ride. I went 50mph downhill with the rim like this. I have never had to re-true these wheels and they still run remarkably true (.020), all things considered.

Miklos
Another crack pictureMiklos
May 28, 2002 5:33 AM
This is the largest crack. There is even some material missing.
Another crack pictureMiklos
May 28, 2002 5:38 AM
nm

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/May27_14(1).jpg
re: Mavic CXP-21 crack picturesMiklos
May 28, 2002 5:37 AM
Pic didn't attach

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/May27_13(1).jpg
re: Mavic CXP-21 crack picturesTimo Vennonen
May 28, 2002 10:08 PM
I've had same kind of cracks on my Mavics. I weigh 185 lbs and used them for commuting only. In my opinion the rims are quite all right as long as they last (for the price). But whatever rims you use, you should check them periodically for any damage.
I had 3000 km on the when they cracked (n/m)Timo Vennonen
May 29, 2002 12:04 AM
re: Mavic CXP-21 crack picturesjtsk
May 29, 2002 7:37 AM
I have about 5000 miles on mine before the rear wheel cracked. I weigh 215 lbs. They had one major crack and the rest were stress fractures at every other right-side spoke nipple. I was able to get home (15 miles) on the cracked rims just fine. This tells me that they are very strong wheels that over time will show accumulated effects of stress.

These are OEM wheels only (not sold over the counter), so you cannot buy replacements. I had to buy a mis-matched silver Mavic MA-3. The CXP-21 is black. It looks like crap, but works.
you didn't have to mismatch that much!DrD
May 30, 2002 7:36 PM
The cxp-33 is the same profile - a black cxp-33 would be an almost identical match (and is supposed to be a stronger rim - I have ~4k miles on a set of silver cxp-33's (I weigh 210) and no cracks thus far. The cracking could also be the result of overtension of the drive side spokes...
re: Mavic CXP-21 crack for me also..pa rider
May 30, 2002 6:17 AM
I had some coda wheels on my c-dale and the rear wheel rim cracked the same as yours. I found the rim for 28 spokes on sale for under $10 last december.

I been biking for 14 years and know that mavic rims are usually $40 or more for good quality rims. I just got a new wheel through performance with the ma-3 rim. Figured the rim is not the best quality and one of the areas where the bike company cut corners to keep the cost of the bike down.

I'm using these wheels as my winter and early spring wheels, so weight is not an issue with me. I'm glad to hear that the rims are cracking for others and it's not just me. I weight 175 and I'm hard on rear wheels.

Emory
re: Mavic CXP-21 crack picturesstella
May 30, 2002 9:10 AM
there are opinions out there that hard anodizing attributes to early cracking and rim failure. this refers to the thicker hard coating, not color anodized aluminium. over the years of riding and building wheels i would tend to agree with this idea.