RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Look 386 i -vs- Trek OCLV® 120 Carbon frameset?(15 posts)

Look 386 i -vs- Trek OCLV® 120 Carbon frameset?trailjerky
May 17, 2002 10:20 AM
Any opinions on which is better and why. I currently have a LeMond 853 pro Maillot Juane and might be going to carbon. I'm a 200 rider that does centuries and fast club rides.
re: Look 386 i -vs- Trek OCLV® 120 Carbon frameset?markkar
May 17, 2002 4:01 PM
If you mean the Look KG 386 monocoque frame, I have been pondering the same. These frames are pretty much the same thing only different.
Here are some thoughts:
Frame Weight - Look 1400g Trek 120 1090g I think forks are about the same
Headset - Look 1" threadless Trek 120 1 1/8" threadless
The Look runs the rear brake cable inside the top tube and the front derailleur cable runs up inside the frame.
If you are going to run a Campy setup you would have a pretty clean bike with a minimum amount of cables flapping around.
The Look has replaceable / adjustable rear dropouts which the Trek does not. An advantage in a crash.
The Trek has lifetime quaranty on the frame. I don't know about Look.
If you don't like the standard Trek colors you have to pay $300 - $500 more for a project one frame. I think the 2002 Look blue / black Team Kelme color is pretty nice.
The Look frame supposedly has a more lively feel for a carbon frame more so than the reportedly woody feel ot the Trek.
The Look has a more traditional laid back slack seat and head angle geometry. The Trek is kind of out to lunch tending to have a long top tube.
So, I think the main thing is the Trek is about 8 oz. lighter and has lifetime warranty.
I think the Look frame looks better, the geometry is better, the cable routing is cleaner, and replaceable derailleur hanger is a big plus.
If you are going to get the frame and build the rest up the Look frame can be quite a bit cheaper ($1275 from www.totalcycling.com) compared to $1500 to $2000 for the Trek depending on paint. I am not wild about the Bontrager stuff on the Trek 5200 and 5500 and I think the 5500 is overpriced.
You see alot of Treks on the road. I have seen one Look 386.
I don't think you would be disapointed with either one though and both would be perfect for the type of riding you do.
re: Look 386 i -vs- Trek OCLV® 120 Carbon frameset?wolfereeno
May 21, 2002 11:58 AM
I too had carbo-lust and was looking at the 386i and Trek as well as Kestrel 200SCI. I found a shop (RACycles) in Brooklyn that sold all three (and much more) so I took a ride over to see them.

I ended up buying the Kestrel - the tie was broken pretty much by impulse! All seemed more or less equal between the three but then they happend to have a kestrel in ruby red clear coat in my size(51) (with a tiny scratch to bring the price down). Other shops would have charged me 200 extra for that color and make me wait while Kestrel made it up. (I haven't ridden it yet - I'll get it Friday!)

BTW, here's a msg I got from Phill at R&A when I had intially asked about the three frames via email:

----------------
Well, you have selected some of the nicest frame / bikes around. It's hard to say who is better than the next. Yes, we sell all three brands and do a good job with all them. Their prices are all about the same.

The frames individually respond differently between each other.

The softest or smoothest would the Trek.

The Kestrel would give us a bit more road feel. Stiffer at the BB area.

The Look would be similar to the Trek, comfortable and responsive.

The Look would be the less expensive frame of the three

We have the Trek and Kestrel in your size in stock. We can order the Look if you decide on it. The Look frame that actually has to be compared with the Trek and Kestrel. Would be the Look KG386, at $ 1595.00. This frame, (which we have in stock, but not your size) looks and feels very good.

When you have the time. Stop by. You will be able to see all three frames on display. We can go over which one will suit your needs at that time. Sometime, the color, shape etc. will determine which one a customer will buy. You couldn't go wrong with any of the three selected models. I'll be waiting. If, you have any further questions. Please feel free to contact me. If, you need directions, give me a call or e-mail me. Just let me know where your coming from.

http://www.racycles.com
-------------

Lastly, here's some things I was thinking about...

The Trek's made up of separate tubes and glued together. Wrapping extra carbon gives it the round looking joints. The Look 386i is also separate tubes except tubes are glued to aluminum joints.

Kestrel 200sci's 1 piece (so's the look KG 381)

Trek and Kestrel have lifetime warranties.

Trek's bike seems to be amazingly popular - I guess that's both bad and good. I'm sure they have really nailed the technology of making these frames. I would guess that quality control is very good.

FWIW, RA had a ton of frames in stock. Colnago, Pinarello, Bianci, Softride, more + plus the 3 carbons. Might be worth giving them a call...

I'll post a review after I've ridden it a while :-)

Enjoy!
re: Look 386 i -vs- Trek OCLV® 120 Carbon frameset?dasho
May 17, 2002 6:44 PM
I have a Look KG 281 and a Trek 5200 and although the 281 is different than the 386, I can give you a little info. Since the 386 is a monocoque (one piece) it will ride a bit stiffer than the 281 or 381 and no doubt much the same as the Trek.
The Look frame comes with a 3 year warranty if you buy from a dealer but if you buy from Total Cylcling I have heard Look will not honor a warranty. You would be better off ordering from www.labicicletta.com or www.excelsports.com and paying a little more if that is the case. The 281 or 381 is a smoother, more supple riding bike than the Trek and at 17 lbs. (DA equipped without pedals), very light. I actually like my 281 better than the 5200 but that is only my opinion. If at all possible, try to test ride the bikes before you buy. And be careful about sizing if you order over the web as the Looks run big.
re: can anyone speak for the 381i?collinsc
May 17, 2002 10:03 PM
I'd be interested in hearing anyones comments on this frame too.

thx.
Chad
oops. meant 381 I frameset not 386.trailjerky
May 18, 2002 8:31 AM
Oops, I meant the look 381 i frame not the 386. Althogh the 386 is still an option since I'm in the early stages of my search. Everyone has good points. I have the chance to demo a look 381 i and a 281 this week.

Is the look worth the extra money? What about Colnago?
info re framesJohnG
May 18, 2002 9:47 AM
I recently built a 381i for my brother and he like the bike a LOT. He also had a C40 and he liked it a LOT. The bottom line here is that all three of these bikes are EXCELLENT. The LOOK is probably the best "buy" as long as you get it off-shore (like from Total).

The LOOK probably has the highest level of technology of the three..... but the bottom line is that they're all pretty much equal in quality/weight/stiffness//// etc.

The OCLV is probably the best "buy" if you buy from a LBS.

good luck and get the best frame for you.
JohnG
381i on the standS-U-B
May 18, 2002 8:23 PM
I have a brand new 381i on my stand right now, building it up with DA, Ksyrium SL's etc. The bad part is I accidently ordered a braze on front derailer instead of clamp on, so now I have to sit here and stare at the bike until the adapter comes. I may take it out tomorrow and do some climbing and just keep it in the small ring up front. I love the all black industrial look. I dont think you can go wrong with either bike, I personally have become tired of looking at Trek's, you rarely see a Look.
let us know how it turns outcollinsc
May 19, 2002 12:56 AM
I'd love to hear what you think of it when its built up.
A clamp-on derailleur?Paul
May 20, 2002 3:38 AM
I have a Look 386, and as far as I know, all Look fiber bikes have a braze-on. don't know of any fiber bikes with a clamp-on.
NOPE!!JohnG
May 20, 2002 6:28 AM
You're talking nonesense! The new LOOK 381's use a clamp-on style der.

I wish LOOK had stayed with the braze-on style der myself.

JohnG
seeing 381, thinking 281 (nm)Paul
May 20, 2002 8:08 AM
re: Look 386 i -vs- Trek OCLV® 120 Carbon frameset?JimP
May 20, 2002 1:37 PM
Minor point about seatposts - the Look uses a 25mm seatpost and has an internal wedge-style binder. There are fewer seatposts in the 25mm size so your choice is limited.
re: Look 386 i -vs- Trek OCLV® 120 Carbon frameset?S-U-B
May 24, 2002 12:30 PM
well, the 381i is built up and is SWEET!! I too thought it was a braze on front derailer, that is why I messed up. found an adapter clamp no problem. The seat post is smaller, but not something that would make me stay away from it. I dont think you can go wrong with either of the Trek, Kestrel, or Look frames. I do like that I own the only Look in town, We have a trek dealer, and a Giant dealer, so naturally, about 85% of the locals ride the 5200 which is an awesome bike in my opinion, just vanilla. build my Look up myself and had the LBS fix my mistakes, easy way to learn.
re: Look 386 i -vs- Trek OCLV® 120 Carbon frameset?Clue
May 27, 2002 7:47 PM
Me again...I tend to agree with you on the uniqueness factor...where'd you get yours and what's it weigh in at?

thx