RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


2001 Zurich component upgrades?(22 posts)

2001 Zurich component upgrades?itsme
May 11, 2002 7:47 PM
I am looking to get comments from other Zurich owners as to any upgrades they would recommend to the stock bike. My goal is to increase my speed on the bike, and weight of the current components isn't a big concern for me. I am currently considering component changes in the drive train since I assume upgrades there would translate into the largest speed gain, although I don't have a good idea where to start. I realize for every component there is yet another component that is somehow better (and incrementally more expensive) so I guess I am looking for speed upgrades that would still be within reach of a budget.

Thanks in advance for any recommendations.
-Doug.
re: 2001 Zurich component upgrades?Mack
May 11, 2002 8:29 PM
The Zurich comes pretty well equiped, so you're not going to have any "night and day" upgrades. The most logical (and expensive) speed-gainer is the wheels. The stock Rolf Vectors aren't particularly light, and rotatational weights are generally the most important when it comes to speed. Also, the fork is carbon with steel steerer - something with carbon steerer would be noticably lighter (ie Ouzo Pro, EC90, etc). I guess you can also do "step by step" upgrade to full Dura Ace. But I'd consider the wheels first.
re: 2001 Zurich component upgrades?itsme
May 11, 2002 11:22 PM
Thanks, any specific sub-$500 wheel recommendations?
-Doug.
re: 2001 Zurich component upgrades?weiwentg
May 12, 2002 6:30 AM
what wheels you get depends on what you do: triathlons or road racing?
if you like TTs a lot, and you dislike crits, I'd think about getting a pair of Vector Pros on eBay. easily sub $500, although you must remember that there may be some problems getting warranty support.
if you do mainly road races and crits, consider www.oddsandendos.com. ask Mike to build you a pair of wheels on velocity aeroheads or american classic rims (american classic makes 350g clincher rims for light riders). you should note that some people have had problems with am classic's hub bearings (although Mike himself seems to think that they're fine).
or you could just scout around on ebay. you could potentially get a set of last year's Ksyriums for less than 500 bucks, and those are excellent all round wheels.
shameless plug...weiwentg
May 12, 2002 6:31 AM
if you see any cane creek aeroheads on ebay, consider getting them (I use them :) few people will bid on them, and they're darn good wheels.
in fairness, though, some have had issues with the hub bearings.
shameless plug...itsme
May 12, 2002 9:20 AM
Thanks for the wheel recommendations, although I will probably check out Mike's site and stay away from Ebay since a warranty is important to me.
-Doug.
shameless plug...weiwentg
May 12, 2002 11:04 AM
Mike is well known on MTBR.com and has a good reputation. his prices are excellent.
shameless plug...itsme
May 12, 2002 12:07 PM
Another recommendation given to me was to upgrade from the Ultegra to complete Dura-ace, and other than the improved shifting and decrease in weight of the Dura-ace components I have doubted the difference in cost would be worth the improvement in speed (for me, a non-competition rider). If I made the switch to Dura-ace I would go with the 7700 Triathalon crankset with the 56-42 or 56-44 chainring combination, I see that as a good reason for moving the Dura-ace over the Ultegra. If there was some way I could move to the 56 chainring on the Ultegra I would do that sooner due to the cost of the Dura-ace groupo.
-Doug.
nopeweiwentg
May 12, 2002 3:22 PM
upgrading to full DA is not worth it unless your whole groupset is shot. the weight and performance differences are minimal. upgrading the wheels is a far better bet.
now, are you using 650c wheels? if not, there's no reason to use the triathlon chainrings. unless, of course, you are inhumanly strong. the increased gear ratio is there (imo) to compensate for the decreased wheel diameter. mortals won't need it with 700c wheels - and a 56x12 would be terribly hard to push.
nopeitsme
May 12, 2002 4:00 PM
None of groupset is shot and I was planning to use the triathalon chainrings with 700c wheels. Although I would like to think I have superhuman biking abilities I am sure I do not. Thanks for heads up on the science behind the triathalon chainrings. I will focus on the wheels. I wasn't looking forward to changing out the groupset anyway since the bottom bracket and cassette of the Dura-ace hasn't received the best reviews for durability.
-Doug.
agree about the Ksyriumsjohnrg
May 12, 2002 5:17 PM
I had a Zurich a few years ago and added the Ksyriums. I since put the wheels on a Lemond Victoire a year ago. The components on the Lemonds were just fine, the older model I added a Chris King headset. The kysriums have been excellent. Hubs are easily adjusted. They stay true. I've got close to 12k miles on the them. If you can find a deal get them. They look great too.
agree about the Ksyriumsitsme
May 12, 2002 7:04 PM
I am concerned about the abuse the Ksyriums would handle under my 205lb. frame, it seems with even smaller riders the spoke performance has been questionable. Would a different wheelset be more appropriate for me?

Thanks.
-Doug.
Doug, not sure about the weight.....johnrg
May 12, 2002 7:18 PM
I'm 160lbs and have not really heard about any issues from heavier riders. Worth researching though.

John
agree about the Ksyriumsweiwentg
May 12, 2002 7:24 PM
the nurse who did my IV (when I broke my collarbone) is right around your weight and had no problem with his Ks. of course, he is just one data point...
what exactly do you mean that the spoke performance has been questionable? so far I haven't heard any complaints (crosswinds aside).
agree about the Ksyriumsitsme
May 12, 2002 8:10 PM
The comment made by reviewer meme was in reference to the SCC and may have been an isolated case, which set do you have?
-Doug.

http://www.roadbikereview.com/Wheelsets/Mavic+Inc.+Ksyrium+SCC/PRD_28329_2490crx.aspx
agree about the Ksyriumsweiwentg
May 12, 2002 8:25 PM
I don't have 'em. my best friend has, but he only just started riding and he's much lighter than you are. but this was probably an isolated case.
agree about the Ksyriumsatpjunkie
May 13, 2002 7:17 AM
if you go Ksyriums at your size go for the elites. You'll flex the scc's. Avoid the Sestierres as you will flex also. The vector pro's by Rolf will do you well as should the Velomax Orions. Personally at your (my) size) get a wheel builder to build you some Open Pro (with your choice of hubs) wheels. Lace them with heavier spokes and to a cross pattern a respectable pro builder thinks is right for you. Talk with the builder, tell him your size and riding style and he'll hook you up. I ride O/Pros with 14/15/14 (front) straight 14's (rear) spokes 3x (I'm 230) and they do quite nicely as I torque the hell out of my wheels. If you are more of a tri style rider (sit and spin) then you may build them lighter.
agree about the Ksyriumsitsme
May 13, 2002 9:19 AM
Thanks for the idea on the Open Pros, I will look into build-up options for those. I spend most of my time up and off the saddle so I assume that a more durable wheelset would be recommended.
-Doug.
Doug, don't sweat it...g-money
May 13, 2002 7:50 AM
These babies are BOMBPROOF. I can't imagine breaking a spoke... people must be doing some wierd stuff on thier bike or it's a total fluke. I run about 210ish off season and have had no problem at all except for gen maint and the like. Solid and as true as the day I bought them...
Well worth the $$$ and they have a great chi-chi factor as well.
Doug, don't sweat it...itsme
May 13, 2002 9:21 AM
Which Ksyrium wheelset are you using?

Thanks.
-Doug.
I have the Elites, weigh 190; so far they're great. nmRoyGBiv
May 13, 2002 9:44 AM
SL's, they absolutely rock... hands down. nmg-money
May 14, 2002 7:03 AM