RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Opinions on wheels sought(11 posts)

Opinions on wheels soughtOver-the-Hill
May 10, 2002 2:17 PM
Like just about everyone else, it seems, I am considering upgrading the wheels on my ride. I am currently on Rolf Vector Comps -- stock wheels on my '01 Lemond Zurich. The Rolfs have proven very durable and they scream on descents. However, where I really need help is on the climbs. Someone once said "Nobody ever won the Tour de France by flying down l'Alpe d'Huez".

I am considering the Cirrus wheelset offered by Excel Sports Boulder (Dura-Ace hubs laced to Open Pros with DT Revolution spokes). It appears to be a reasonably light and durable wheetset. My question is this -- am I really going to see that much of a difference in performance? I'm not from Missouri, but I need someone to "show me" that the investment is worthwhile. Has anyone out there made a similar upgrade? Did it make a noticable difference in performance, particularly on climbs?

Thanks in advance for sharing your experiences.
re: Opinions on wheels soughtGuru_at_AmClassic
May 10, 2002 5:16 PM
Might I suggest the American Classic 350 wheelset?! It is a 350gram 19mm high clincher rim(the lightest clincher rim available!)mated to a 68 gram front hub and a 220 gram rear cassette hub. We use Wheelsmith or Dt Swiss spokes and you have a choice of silver or black hubs, spokes and nipples. You might want to check out our site for some ideas, www.amclassic.com Michael(guru) at American Classic Designs
re: Opinions on wheels soughtCarbon fiber fanatik
May 10, 2002 7:32 PM
lighter isn't always merrier. Personally, I ride on Hed 3 spoke carbon wheels. I'm no pro, I'm nobody important, but i do love to hammer and riding is something i do every second I get. Wheels can be an expensive upgrade, so do as much research as possible and dont go with the incrowd.. ride what you think fits all of the criteria you are looking for. One of the biggest reasons why I chose the Hed design is because the roads in mid-northern michigan love to chew up spoke wheels and I dont like to true them...
You'll notice the differenceMcAndrus
May 11, 2002 7:34 AM
Two years ago I was still riding stock Mexico 68 rims which came with my Bianchi in the mid 90s. Then I changed to Campy Protons. I could tell the difference immediately and my only regret was waiting so long to upgrade the wheelset.

Since then, I've purchased from Excel a set of Open Pros with Record hubs. They're similar to the Cirrus with only the hub being different. I only have 1,000 miles or so on them but they seem to be holding up well and at around $300 for a set, they're a good value.

If you want to reduce weight further you can always spend more money.
I don't mean to sound harsh, but...sprockets2
May 11, 2002 8:48 AM
1. The Rolf ain't exactly chopped liver.

2. The new wheels may be a tad lighter, maybe even in rotation-who knows-but this is my point: WHEELS DO NOT A CLIMBER MAKE. Just because you feel a difference doesn't mean you are gonna fly up the mountain.

3. The biggest improvement you can make in your climbing is undertake a legitimate climbing training program, and personally loose ten pounds of body weight.

4. It is reasonable to have an alternative wheelset, but go the whole distance-but don't do it just for "climbing", do it for overall performance, and the good feeling they will give you when you ride them. I'm serious. The new wheels you talk about are sorta in the same ballpark as your existing wheels-at least functionally. Go out and get a FAST set of wheels, light, fast, and expensive. Race-day quality. You will not regret it.
I don't mean to sound harsh, but...Mack
May 11, 2002 8:34 PM
Oh no...not the dreaded, smug "lose 10 pounds" response to a component question. Maybe the guy's already anorexic and just needs some freakin' wheels!
Point Is....grzy
May 13, 2002 11:20 AM
The wheels aren't going to give him the boost he's looking for. The losing 10 pounds thing was but one aspect of the answer and underlines the point that climbing is largely a function of the rider and their fitness. Everyone wants something for nothing, or at least without having to do any work, hence liposuction. He doesn't _need_ some freakin' new wheels, he already has some. He was asking about how much of a difference they would make. Got any useful input?
Point Is....koala
May 14, 2002 10:08 AM
I am with you on this one. I lost 15 pounds over the winter and got light wheels. The biggest gain I see is with miles. All the high tech stuff doesnt mean squat if your fitness aint there.
Best of both worlds! ;-) (nm)grzy
May 14, 2002 1:14 PM
Interested???manofsteel
May 11, 2002 9:12 PM
I've got the same set from excel. Email whoop2dma@webtv.net and I'll tell you about them. Awesome climbing wheels. Just didn't suit my needs after a month.
re: Opinions on wheels soughtCrankist
May 13, 2002 9:56 AM
I don't feel motivated to "show you" what to buy, but here is my experience with a 2001 Zurich, Rolf VCs:
After only about 400 miles or so (no probs.w/VCs)I bought from Excel CK/OPs 32 hole, 3X revo and mounted a DA 12-23. The weight difference is about 14 ozs., significant I think. First ride impression was holy crap!-this things spin up faster 'n' hell! Several rides later I was noticing on the flats that my cadence was consistently about 5-10% faster (95-105)but I wasn't wanting to push a larger gear. I really am faster with these wheels, placebo or not. I am 6' weigh 185 and these are still dead true after 1000 miles. I love 'em.
I really should re-mount the VCs and re-evaluate but so far I just haven't wanted to bother. The DA hub version should be an equal improvement.
Mike