RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


wipperman chain installation question(12 posts)

wipperman chain installation questionbianchi boy
May 3, 2002 6:06 PM
Despite my mechanical ineptitude, I managed to install my new Wipperman 10-speed chain with no problems. I was amazed at how simple the superlink is to use. However, the new chain is rubbing my front derailleur now on the inside of the cage. Do I just turn the low-gear limit screw until it quits rubbing, or will that mess up the adjustment of my gears.
You can move the limitgrandemamou
May 4, 2002 5:22 AM
screw over. It is just as the name implies it sets the limit of the chain travel up or down. It will not change the way your bike shifts. Just be careful not to open it up too much. If you do you will drop the chain onto the BB area and may damage the paint.
more questions ...bianchi boy
May 4, 2002 6:11 AM
OK, remember, I'm not too knowledgeable about this stuff. There are 2 limits screws on the front derailleur, aren't there? Do I turn the inside one or the outside one? (I'm assuming inside, but ...) I tried turning the inside one and nothing seemed to happen, that is, the chain still rubbed. I was afraid that if I turned it too much I would get the shifting all out of whack.

As Doug mentioned, the Wipperman chain also seems to be a bit noisier than the Campy one. Is that your experience? Does it get quieter after you used it a while? I have checked and double-checked and I am certain that I have the chain threaded correctly through the derailleurs and rollers. I also lubed it with ProLink because that factory lube is so sticky it would be a magnet for dirt.
resolved ...bianchi boy
May 4, 2002 6:01 PM
Did what I usually do, and took my bike into a shop. They readjusted the derailleurs for me, and it's a good thing I didn't try to do it myself because it seemed to require a lot of tweaking. It surprised me that the derailleur could need that much adjustment just from changing the chain. Is that normal? If I had installed another Campy chain, rather than the Wipperman, do you think I would have needed a derailleur adjustment?
resolved ...grandemamou
May 4, 2002 6:21 PM
Nope. I didn't adjust a thing just installed it and it went on about my business. Anyway, glad you got it taken care of.

Bikes are pretty simple to work on. Just fool around with it. Campy has really good online resources and you may try Zinn and the Art of Bicycle Maintenance it's really good.
more questions ...grandemamou
May 4, 2002 6:13 PM
I'm assuming you tried to trim it. There should be a couple of clicks before it shifts either up or down. This allows you to move the FD cage without shifting. Depending on which ring and which end of the Cass. you may need to move it to avoid rub. This is one of the advantages of Campy.

The limit screw controls the the drop onto the small ring. The outside one controls the lift onto the large one. I wouldn't worry about "screwing" up the shifting with the limit screws. All they do is control the limit of the FD movement. The worst that can happen is you drop the chain on the inside or outside. If this happens just tighten down a little at a time until you get it right. As long as you aren't jamming on the pedals you should not do any harm.

The chain may be a little bit noisier but I don't think that it is. Make sure you installed the chain under both tabs of the der. pulleys. I did not do this once and it made a horrible racket and shifted poorly. As far as lube I just cleaned off all the factory goop with solvent. I was using HGNR but switched to Prolink last week.

Hope this helps.
Prolink LubeB2
May 5, 2002 7:56 AM
Well I've been using Prolink for about 9 months now. After reading some discussion/reviews I thought it sounded quite good and bought a couple bottles mailorder. Overall it has worked quite well for me, but... there are a couple things I've experienced that I don't particularly care for.

A lot of the comments I heard talked about Prolink being a very "clean" lube and not a dirt attractant(sp?). Well it's certainly not as nasty as Tri-Flow or other "wet" lubes, but it's nothing close to the "dry" lubes as some reviewers have suggested.

A couple of weeks ago I was riding with a freshly cleaned and lubed chain (I'm borderline fanatical about that). The drivetrain was making a lot of noise (normal but louder). I'm getting close to needing a chain replacement and attributed it to that. By chance I decided to wipe the chain clean and apply my "old" lube (can't remember what it's called - Finish Line "dry" with the red cap). Wallah, all the noise is gone. It's cleaner - I can actually pull the rear wheel off to fix a flat without making a mess of things.

I'm switching back to the Finish Line. Down side is you need to apply it more often and it doesn't really work in the rain. Upside is that the chain doesn't get real dirty and you can just wipe it down and then reapply lube.

Bryan
Prolink techniqueKerry
May 5, 2002 3:36 PM
Admittedly, ProLink will never be as "clean" as the wax lubes, but on the other hand it actually does work as a lube. The most common reason that people have a problem with "dirty ProLink" is not putting enough on, and not taking enough off. First, wipe your chain (plus cogs, rings, and pulleys) as clean as you can with a rag. Then apply ProLink so that your chain is just starting to drip as you turn the cranks - this serves to clean the chain as well as get the lube to every nook and cranny. Shift through all the gears several times to both work in the lube and loosen any gunk. Then wipe, wipe, wipe the chain and everything it touches. When the wiping rag stays pretty much clean, you're done. Not enough wiping of excess lube is the reason for most of the dirt pickup.
agreegrandemamou
May 5, 2002 4:22 PM
I've only used it for a week or so. But I have no problems. There is a little black stuff but not nearly as much as HGNR or wet lubes. Just follow the directions and when you think you got it all, wipe one more time.
That's My Application Technique...B2
May 5, 2002 5:37 PM
to a "T".

FWIW - I was still amazed at how much more quite the Finish Line lube was. I almost bought a new chain, but now it's quite as can be.

Bryan
adjustments ...bianchi boy
May 5, 2002 11:18 AM
Apparently the Wipperman chain is a little wider than the C-10, and my front derailleur needed to be readjusted. Trimming wasn't gonna do it.

The noise, by the way, went away after lubing the chain very thoroughly with ProLink. Rode my bike in a metric century+ today and the chain performed flawlessly (and quietly). My C-10 chain must have needed replacing for a while because it has been missing shifts every now and then for some time. It shifted like a brand new bike today.
glad you got it sorted out (nm)grandemamou
May 5, 2002 1:35 PM