RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Mavic Factory Wheelset Opinions, pls.(9 posts)

Mavic Factory Wheelset Opinions, pls.bikerfox1
Apr 26, 2002 5:51 PM
On totalcycling.com there are a number of Mavic wheelsets listed. Experts out there: which one is used for which purpose? Let's compare Ksyrium SSC SL, K Elite, and Classics SSC. I'm 165lbs, hard on the wheels, and break rear spokes every 500-1000 miles on Ultegra, DTs, and Open Pros. The wheels have been professionally built by a local wheelbuilder. Insights are welcomed.
I've got two outa three....Ligon
Apr 27, 2002 11:50 AM
I have a pair of the Elites and a set of the Classics. I really like both sets of wheels. They are both very strong and I have not had any problems with either. But if you are breaking spokes every 500-1000 miles you must be pretty rough on the wheels especially @ 165lbs. I think that if I were in your shoes I would pick the Classics. I think that you will find them stronger than the K's both SL and Elite. The Classics have the "traditional" 3X lacing pattern and are staight pull spokes.

I think that you will find people who race on all three. I think Hincapie even races on the Classics sometimes. They are all really good wheels however with your situation I would probally go with the Classics. I am sure others will have some different thoughts.

Just my opinion,
Ligon
to Ligonbikerfox1
Apr 27, 2002 12:45 PM
Thank you for your thoughts, Ligon. I was wondering WHY you think that the Classics are a stronger wheelset. Is it because of the 3x lacing? Aren't both of the krys. straight pull spokeage, too?
to LigonLigon
Apr 28, 2002 8:03 AM
Yes, both the K's have straight pull spokes. All three are super wheels and very strong. It just seems that with the Classics higher spoke count and no fancy lacing patterns that they would be stronger. I have no evidence to back any of my claims up, it is all just a matter of my opinion. I really do not think that you would have a problem with any of the wheels. Buy the one's you want both are equally good. I weigh about ten pounds more than you and have never run into any problems with either set. Let me know if you got any more questions!!

Hope this Helps,
Ligon
Ligon--i talked to Mavic this morningbikerfox1
Apr 29, 2002 5:09 PM
I called Mavic this am and talked to them about the wheelsets. They said that, this year, some riders used the Classics SSC wheelset on the Paris-Roubaix route with great success. He felt, though, that it was a wheel for 180lb + riders. He thought that the Ks were very adequate and strong (he works for mavic, doesn't he??)

I also asked him why I break so many rear spokes. He said that with the Ultegra setup, the hub holes are slightly larger than normal to begin with and recommended the brass washers that can take up that space.

I also asked him why the Ks were so cheap in the United Kingdom. He said that these are all "gray market" wheels and mavic doesn't authorize their sale. Interesting...
Glad to here you got some help!!!Ligon
Apr 29, 2002 7:02 PM
Bikerfox1,

I am glad to hear that you got some help and some really good answers. That was a good idea calling Mavic and getting some expert advice. Yeah, there are always lots of riders with the Classics in the PR. Still not real sure what the "grey market" is but thats ok. I think you said it best...."interesting".......

Well good luck,

Ligon
PS.............................Ligon
Apr 29, 2002 7:03 PM
Let us know what wheels you go with!!
my rendition of gray market explanationbikerfox1
Apr 29, 2002 9:34 PM
what i understand the gray market to be is the unauthorized selling of a product. let's say you're a bike parts distributor somewhere in the world. you buy mavic wheels for $X from the mavic factory. you then resell the wheels to mr. UK bikeguy for $X+10, still making a profit because you sell lots of wheels to mr. uk bikeguy. mr. uk then sells the wheels for a little bit more than he paid for them to consumers like u and i who don't want to pay the high mavic prices in the US.
Mavic doesn't know which bike parts distributor is doing this, as it upsets the market flow that mavic wants, which is for consumers to buy their wheels at retail outlets = high prices. the gray market takes away from others' pockets and fills their own. that's why mavic may not warranty any wheels sold from the uk.

hope this makes sense! if it doesn't could another reader give their version?

thanks
Your reasoning sounds correctPaul
Apr 30, 2002 3:03 AM
My friend bought ksyriums from Totalcycling, broke a rear spoke under warranty, but Mavic refused to fix them because of where they were bought. These overseas sellers should tell the buyer up front that Mavic won't warranty what they sell.

It's buyer beware.