RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Ritchey Frameset(8 posts)

Ritchey Framesetvitusdude
Apr 19, 2002 5:52 AM
Anybody out there familiar with Ritchey framesets? I have heard of the Logic. Is there also a frame model called the Classic? Thanks.
re: Ritchey Framesetjschrotz
Apr 19, 2002 8:52 AM
I used to ride a Road Logic and loved it to death. Thinking about getting another one soon. He used to make a Road Classic frameset in addition to the Road Logic, however, I just checked out Ritchey's website (ritcheylogic.com) and didn't see anything but the Road Logic for pavement pounding. The difference was that the Classic was fillet brazed (IIRC) and it was all done by Tom himself. The Road Logic frames were (are) built by one of his employees, and finished by Tom.
re: Ritchey FramesetNessism
Apr 19, 2002 11:18 AM
The Road Logic frame is TIG welded in Japan I believe and shipped over for finish work and painting here in USA. At least that's the way it used to be. Also, the old Logic tubing was made by Tange but the current stuff is Dedacciai. Drawn to Ritchey's dimensions of course.

Ed
re: Ritchey Framesetwilier
Apr 19, 2002 9:18 PM
I have a Ritchey Road Classic. Wonderful frame - it's a '92 I think. Pretty light for a steel frame, but not as light as the newer Ritchey tubing. Mine is about 20.5 lbs with 8-speed D/A STI.

They are pretty hard to find - I've never seen another one on the road - seen several Road Logics.

I was thinking about selling - but I've been flip flopping. I need a steel bike in the fleet (fleet of 2).
Classicwerk
Apr 19, 2002 10:29 PM
#1 I have a Road Logic and love it. I have had it for a few years and haven't even thought about getting rid of it.
#2 I don't know what size you need, or even if you are looking to buy one, but there is a white Classic on Ebay right now. Oh yeah, if you are a big Ritchey fan, there is an absolutely beautiful Timber Comp on there too. I know this is Road Bike Review, but............
Check the older review section.Sintesi at home
Apr 21, 2002 5:44 AM
The Logic was one of the better loved frames on the list. Ritchey has big respect for his steel frames.
re: Ritchey FramesetDuke249
Apr 27, 2002 5:18 AM
Both framesets have received excellent reviews in the old Bicycle Guide magazine. The Road Classic was reviewed around 1992 and was raved and the Logic was reviewed around 96 and was stated to be the best bicycle the reviewer had ever ridden. Bicycling also gave the Road Logic a great review about a year ago. I can dig up these articles if you'd like further information.

The Classic is still available. Its mentioned on their current website saying "A limited edition fully fillet brazed Road Classic is also available". Only about 100 are made each year and are built by Tom.
re: Ritchey FramesetRoad Classic
May 27, 2002 7:28 AM
I have a 2001 Road Classic, this bike is built by Tom in his house! It is a complete fillet brazed bike and always gets the most attention on any ride with the comment "this is the nicest steel bike I have ever seen" Not only is it the nicest steel bike it rides like a dream, it invites you to ride and ride and keep on riding!

I love this bike, it is worth the wait to get one (5 months for me) and it is worth the money. Last year Tom only built 7 and this year it will be around 10 (not sure if these numbers are true)If you can get one, buy it! Mine tips the scale at 17.6 pounds with pedals....not bad for steel!

Road Classic