RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


1" Threadless ?!#$%* Headset(14 posts)

1" Threadless ?!#$%* HeadsetNJRoad
Apr 17, 2002 7:09 AM
Why has it become so impossible to find a decent, inexpensive 1" threadless headset? I see all kinds of great deals on 1-1/8", but its becoming difficult to even find a 1" headset much less an affordable one. As far as I know 1-1/8 headsets only started becoming common on roadbikes in the last year or so. What gives? Anyone have any sources?
here's oneRideLots
Apr 17, 2002 7:11 AM
http://www.excelsports.com/item.asp?major=1&minor=16&description=Headset+FuzzyLogic+Pro&vendorCode=RITCHEY
here's oneNJRoad
Apr 17, 2002 7:16 AM
Thanks, but I guess I'm in a different income bracket because I don't consider $56 inexpensive for a headset, I've seen plenty of 1-1/8" in the $30-$40 range.
Cane Creek on sale at PerformanceAaronL
Apr 17, 2002 7:31 AM
for $25.00. I bought 2 for later use.
If that does not work...PC
Apr 17, 2002 7:44 AM
Nashbar has DiaCompe Aheadsets for 27.00. While it is not a sealed bearings unit, it still does the trick for me. I figure that if it's good enough for MTB, then it is good enough for me. Also Supergo has Campy Threadless for 43.00.
Good luck.

PS Look at MTBReview for a better review of headsets than the Road Version.

PC
If that does not work...www.jensonusa.com CANECREEKatpjunkie
Apr 17, 2002 7:56 AM
If that does not work...www.jensonusa.com CANECREEKNJRoad
Apr 17, 2002 1:38 PM
Thanks everyone for replying so quickly and with so many options but after looking into it I am convinced that there is a conspiracy to get us all to buy new frames with 1-1/8" headtubes and as soon as that's done we'll have to trade those brand new frames in for one's with integrated headsets.
Cane Creek on sale at PerformanceNJRoad
Apr 17, 2002 1:40 PM
Cane Creek 1" threadless? Which model? Want to sell 1?
how about a Chorus for $43?RideLots
Apr 17, 2002 8:00 AM
http://www.supergo.com/itemdisplay.asp?compflag=1&parentid=8657&company=DiaCompe&secid=7559&subid=1810

http://www.supergo.com/itemdisplay.asp?compflag=1&parentid=15020&company=Campagnolo&secid=7559&subid=1810
Check out these guys....MrCrud
Apr 17, 2002 8:56 AM
http://www.thindustries.com.tw/new/p1-1.htm

They make some pretty impressive headsets, and they're pretty cheap ( i think this model is around 20$ USD). They even developped an integrated 1" threadless headset. Definitely what i'm getting with my new fork!

Cheers!

Mr.Crud
re: don't laff...Akirasho
Apr 17, 2002 12:05 PM
Shimano's STX and SC 105 are admirable little headsets with replaceable sealed bearings...

http://www.nashbar.com/profile.cfm?category=93&subcategory=1190&brand=&sku=3011&storetype=&estoreid=
re: don't laff...curlybike
Apr 17, 2002 1:36 PM
Thanks for the work, but the writer wanted NO DAMN THREADS.
re: aaaah, I gets it...Akirasho
Apr 17, 2002 5:36 PM
... you're sayin' I should READ the posts before posting eh?

We abide.

Remain In Light.
re: aaaah, I gets it...curlybike
Apr 17, 2002 7:41 PM
Usually helps, but you were on the right end of the bike. Some aren't.