RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Got $300: Cosmos vs. DA/Velocity Aerohead vs. ?(11 posts)

Got $300: Cosmos vs. DA/Velocity Aerohead vs. ?Scy
Apr 12, 2002 11:36 PM
I only have $300 to work with so I've heard that the Cosmos or the Dura Ace hubs laced to Aerohead rims (from Colorado Cyclists) are the the best bet. Any other choices out there?

I ride 3-4 times a week in a pack of about 200 riders averaging about 26 mph over 30 miles each ride. Aerodynamics are generally not an issue b/c of the pack effect--I'm still too weak to do much pulling. So, aside from wheel weight and durability, what else should I look at. Do the cartridge bearings of the Mavics make that much of a difference--I mean, will I actually be faster b/c of the hubs?

At this point, I'm looking at the Cosmos b/c of the all the positive reviews (bombproof, good hubs) or the DA/Aerohead combo (lighter and more aero for the same price). Is there anything else I should be looking at in the $300 range?

Thanks all.
DA/Velocity AeroheadKerry
Apr 13, 2002 6:10 AM
The MAVIC wheels offer you nothing except increased weight over the DA/Aerohead combo. Durability differences are minor, hubs certainly are equivalent.

Just to confirm, your 30 mile ride is completed in an hour and 9 minutes? That is what 30 miles at a 26 mph average means. Or do you really just hit 26 mph for a short section of the ride?
DA/Velocity Aerohead: drilling and lacing?Scy
Apr 13, 2002 10:01 PM
My weekday rides are around the Rose Bowl in Pasadena. Yeah, I think it's about an hour ten minues for 32 miles to be exact. It's a 3.2 mile loop with a slight incline/decline. No lights, no stop signs. We go 32-38 on the decline, grind 22-25 on the up, and slow for 4 corners and the errand rollerblader.

My weekend rides are on surface streets and average about an hour 35 minutes for, coincidentally, 32 miles. This actuall comes out to about 20 mph.

Anyway, back to the DA/Aeroheads. It sounds like a plan. If I weigh 160 and do these kind of rides and plan to race a little, any suggestions on the no. of spokes, type of spokes, and lacing?
Durability questionKerry
Apr 14, 2002 3:32 PM
You would have NO problems with a 28/32, probably not with 24/28, but you might think twice about a 24/24. 24s are not readily available (if at all?) for DA, so 28/28 might be the best performance choice (a little less wind drag), with a 32 in the back if you want more durability.
Excel Sports Cirrusjw2
Apr 13, 2002 7:09 AM
The Cirrus wheelset from Excel (www.excelsports.com) is a really good deal at that price point. It's a light DA/Open Pro combination- which would basically be a hybrid of the two your looking at. (As I understand it, the Cosmos rim is pretty much the same as an Open Pro.)

The only question on the Cosmos might be the 28h rear wheel, depending upon your weight, riding style and local roads.

My personal recommendation would be for one of the DA combos.

As far as being faster on cartridge bearings, I doubt it. But never underestimate the power of suggestion.
Don't try this at home...Mike Prince
Apr 13, 2002 11:07 AM
I second this vote. I've 4000 mi on a set and they have been bombproof at my weight of about 200 lbs. To vouch for their strength, I accidentally backed over my front wheel with the car after a group ride Wednesday night (bonehead me). NO damage to the wheel. I'm sure I didn't get it squarely (it looks like the car went over the edge of the rim/tire), but I will never doubt the strength of this wheelset under any circumstances. Also they are a great deal compared to some of the factory wheels out there. The Cosmos are significantly heavier than these and offer no advantage in my opinion.
Cartridge bearingsNessism
Apr 13, 2002 7:44 AM
The quality of the balls and races on the DA hubs rival that of most quality cartridge bearings. And with the balls and cones being seperate, they are much easier to service.

Small boutique brands usually purchase their bearings due practically. Shimano on the other hand has the production capability to make their own - although my guess is that they purchase the balls and make the races.

And thanks for starting this thread, I'm the same boat regarding wanting some new wheels in the $300 range. I'm leaning toward DA w/Aeroheads w/DT revolutions on front and non-drive side rear. 14/15 on drive side rear.

Ed
How aero are Aeroheads?samcat
Apr 13, 2002 8:44 AM
It's my understanding that you need a 40+mm deep rim to acheive any aero benefit at all, and that only an elite rider in a time trial will really show real benefit. further, that any benefit is only a couple of seconds a mile.

That said, what's the real benefit of an Aerohead or CPX rim, other than stiffness, over an Open Pro or other box frame rim. And, aren't the double walls and eyelets in most box frame rims a real benefit over the single walled non eyeletted aero rims?

There's so much BS floating around on the subject of rims...What's the real scoop?

Sam
A little information...but not muchNessism
Apr 13, 2002 9:53 AM
My understanding is same as yours regarding the need for a large section rim to gain aero advantage. Given that, the Aeroheads do not fall into the aero catagory because they are not deep section.

I'm not sure I understand your question regarding the "double walled" rims. Most modern rims, Open Pro, CPX, Aerohead, have two chambers so to speak; the lower clincher walls and a seperate upper chamber. Some rims like the Open Pro have eyelets which are reputed to improve durability but this is a little questionable.

It is my understanding that the tall section profile rims such as the Deep V are stiffer and thus can survive using less spokes. That said, they are also heavier. So the tradeoff is present: low spoke count aero, or lighter weight conventional wheels.

Which is better, depends on the conditions.

Did all this answer the questions?

Ed
Aeroheads not very aeroKerry
Apr 13, 2002 2:48 PM
Nobody ever said the Aeroheads were aero (except possibly some marketing flack at Velocity who thought they could get some spin from the name). The "best" way to get aero features in an all purpose wheel is to simply lower the spoke count. Otherwise, you get into crosswind problems that can sometimes negate the advantages of deep section rims. The distinguishing feature of the Aerohead is the "triangulated box" construction, that makes for a stronger rim at a given weight. So they are light, and can tolerate lower spoke counts, building a good wheel. That's it.

Remember, a truly aero wheel, when compared to a 32 spoke, is good for 0.4 mph at 25 mph in zero wind. Throw in some cross winds, lower the speed to something you're likely to do on most rides, factor in that you often ride in a group, and the aero benefit of wheels becomes pretty small. 2-3 minutes over 100 miles. That's a huge advantage if you're riding a solo time trial, but disappears in virtually all other riding or racing situations. You'll get more benefit by flexing your elbows and getting a flat back position. Wheels should be light and strong, but aero is a relatively minor feature for most of us most of the time.
re: Got $300: Cosmos vs. DA/Velocity Aerohead vs. ?roadietoo
Apr 17, 2002 10:52 AM
I built a set of D/A with Aeroheads and laced them 14/17 front and rear n/d 14/17 and 14/16 drive with alloy nipples except for the drive side.Total wt. is 1448 gms. after 3200 miles they are still holding up . I weigh 155 and am pleased with their durability and lightness For a total cost of about $300 they can't be beat!