RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Anti-freeze colors?(9 posts)

Anti-freeze colors?MCoy62
Mar 30, 2002 1:54 PM
I was just in the shop and found out that the "authorized litespeed dealer" didn't build my bike with anti-freeze. I can't see colors very well, and wanted to confirm that anti-freeze is a reddish bronze color. Or are there other colors?
Thanks,
McCoy
re: Anti-seize colors...Akirasho
Mar 30, 2002 2:12 PM
... the generally accepted types of anti seize compounds for use on Ti frames is as you've described (an addition of copper to the mix) though there may be others.

Are you saying that they assembled the bike with NO anti seize at all (seatpost... bottom bracket... headset)??? That would be unacceptable.

We abide.

Remain In Light.
re: Anti-seize colors...MCoy62
Mar 30, 2002 4:05 PM
I meant anti-seize, guess I was pretty flustered when I typed it.

The seat tube was dry as well as the derailleur and the headset. I have to take it back to check the bottom bracket. I just checked out my QR Ti, and the seat post is dry as a bone too and I've washed it a couple of times. I'm hoping there's no damage.

I bought this bike from a bike shop hoping to have great service. Isn't this something that's a fairly normal thing to know/do?

Thanks for your info!
Anti-seize usage...floatch
Mar 31, 2002 8:58 AM
Yeah, I worked in a few different shops for quite a while, and although we didn't get to build as many cool bikes as we might have liked to, we always used lots of anti-seize. I used it wherever Ti contacts anything else. Pedal spindles (if they're Ti), bottom bracket, seat tube, rear derailleur bolt, etc. If you have any mechanical ability, you might just want to buy a tube and do it yourself.
I've seen colors of anti-seize range from straight silver to a nice shiny copper color... it's all okay to use, generally. To answer your question, yes it's absolutely a normal thing to know and do, unless of course the mechanic was having a "sleepy spell".
Litespeed recommends grease! (nm)Kerry
Mar 31, 2002 5:48 PM
Not for QR'sMCoy62
Apr 1, 2002 8:50 AM
For my 2002 QR Picanti, they recommend anti-seize on all threaded parts. LiteSpeed is the parent company for QR. I believe they manufacture Roo's now as well.
I thought Roos were aluminum? (nm)Kerry
Apr 1, 2002 5:33 PM
QR manufactures two titanium bikesMCoy62
Apr 1, 2002 8:50 PM
Click on this link to go to the reviews section. The Tiphoon and Picanti are titanium.

http://www.roadbikereview.com/2002+Triathlon/Quintana+Roo/MPL_6004_4228crx.aspx
I asked Litespeed via emailMCoy62
Apr 3, 2002 10:20 PM
They said anti-seize should be used.