RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


slippery carbon ??(10 posts)

slippery carbon ??RM
Mar 25, 2002 11:12 AM
spent a frustrating week with fellow rider with new carbon seatpost & bars that kept slipping in their clamps no matter how carefully he de-greased and then cranked up the torque. any comments on this fun before I upgrade(?)
re: slippery carbon ??weiwentg
Mar 25, 2002 1:42 PM
I was at the crit at Henryville, IN yesterday, and one guy on a Specialized S-Works E5 had his carbon post slip all the way down in the middle of the lap. I'd be interested in knowing myself.
re: slippery carbon ??Dave Hickey
Mar 25, 2002 1:52 PM
I'm using a Cinelli Solido carbon wrapped handle bar and a LOOK ergo carbon seat post. I've never had a problem with either. I've also used a Campy carbon post with no trouble.
minor problem....C-40
Mar 25, 2002 2:26 PM
I've had the carbon post on my C-40 slip a very small amount, but my Easton carbon bars have stayed in place as well as any aluminum ones. I would suggest one of the four-bolt, open-face stems like Deda or Ritchey for better clamping. My ITM Millennium 2-bolt is marginal when it comes to holding power.
minor problem....the bird
Mar 25, 2002 4:40 PM
Have the Easton carbon bars/Ritchy 4 bolt stem no problemos,even yank'n on em up the steepest climbs!!! Want to trade out my D'Ace seat post for something lighter. Have heard horror stories on the U.S.E. Alien, anybody else? Weigh in at 180lbs after a good sh...
I have a carbon USE, and have had no trouble, whatIAmtnbikr
Mar 25, 2002 5:29 PM
horror stories are you referring to? The clamp takes a few minutes to set up, but holds tight. The Easton clamp sucks according to reviews, although I have no experience with it to offer an opinion. I have a USE carbon post on the mtb as well, with no troubles. They claim you can run the road post with no shim, but need to have one for the mtb. I weigh 170lbs. Actually I have an XTR and a DA post, both 27.2's in like-new shape, for sale since I put the USE stuff on the bikes.
no slips with my U.S.EAllUpHill
Mar 25, 2002 9:22 PM
Horror stories, hmmm. I've not had my carbon Alien post slip any. In a carbon frame too. I only weigh about 140lb though. About the clamp, I don't find it annoying despite how others seem to complain.
No problems hereTroyboy
Mar 26, 2002 8:01 AM
Multiple setups with Campy carbon posts and Campy clamps. No problems whatsoever.
re: slippery carbon ??JimP
Mar 26, 2002 3:03 PM
I rode with an Easton CT-2 carbon post in my Aegis carbon frame for 2 years. The issue wasn't slipping since the Aegis uses a wedge clamp like the Look frames. I have now changed to a USE carbon post and that hasn't had a slipping problem either. The issue may be with the particular clamp on the bike. I have a C'dale that I have had to lube the binder bolt and nut to be able to tighten it enough to stop slippage.
re: slippery carbon ??Chen2
Mar 28, 2002 12:54 PM
No problems at all with my Easton, I like the rail clamps too but they sure are small. Frame is OCLV and has never been greased. I weigh 165 (in the summer).
~Al