RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Reynolds Ouzo Pro(15 posts)

Reynolds Ouzo ProDannyBoy
Mar 24, 2002 5:35 AM
I'm in the process of getting a new frame, and having narrowed the field have to start thinking about a good fork.

Are there more than one model of Reynolds Ouzo? Gather they're good, light etc, anything else I should consider like the new Columbus Muscle or Mizuno (or what ever they're called).
why ask here....C-40
Mar 24, 2002 6:04 AM
when the information is so easily available from dozens of web retail sites and manufacturer's web sites?

If you do a google search, you can quickly find all the information you need.
why ask here....Andor
Mar 24, 2002 8:41 AM
Ask, when you feel like it.
Maybe.....KurtVF
Mar 24, 2002 11:37 AM
He is looking for opinions from people who have used the various forks. So what if the other sources have the basic info, he asked here. By the way I believe their are 2 basic Reynolds models, the ouzo pro which is all carbon and the ouzo comp which has an alloy steerer. I'm currently building with a Columbus Muscle, this thing is a work of art.
What a strange post!jtolleson
Mar 24, 2002 11:51 AM
People are always asking for mini-reviews of products, actually I've always kinda thought that's what the Component board was for. What's with telling him to look elsewhere?

Yep, in addition to the two Ouzos (Pro and Comp) there are also 3-4 (I can't remember) different offsets available in each, depending on what kind of ride quality you are looking for.
and another worthless answer...C-40
Mar 24, 2002 1:05 PM
I thought it was a great answer to suggest visiting the web sources with ACCURATE information rather than the common "I think..., but I'm not sure". How's the guy going to buy a fork if he doesn't at least look at a catalog?
Whoa dude!jtolleson
Mar 24, 2002 2:51 PM
My comment wasn't designed to be a flame, and didn't need to receive your accusation of "worthlessness" either.

All I was wondering is why you specifically asked why he would ask such a question "here." I've asked many such questions "here" and gotten great information that a manufacturer website simply doesn't provide.

Perhaps the best solution is to give the opinion data he seeks PLUS a referral to a website where specs and so forth can be gleaned.

You just must be spoilin' for a fight today, because I've not known you to be so crabby.
another rude posterCT1
Mar 24, 2002 3:30 PM
You need to chill out. What's your problem today?????

JohnG
another rude posterKurtVF
Mar 24, 2002 5:52 PM
The original guy was looking for opinions, if he wanted specifications he is probably able to figure out for himself where to go. Manufacturer's web pages contain accurate info to a point, however, they all imply they are the best, how accurate can a company's opinion of itself be?
Thanks sort of......DannyBoy
Mar 24, 2002 6:21 PM
Thanks for your help, what help there was. I wasn't being lazy. I did a yahoo search last night and couldn't find Reynolds. Had the same problem last year, think they have a UK and USA site.....

Anyway, I was looking more for user knowledge and alternative suggestions. How the F am i going to know how the Ouzo rides compared to the muscle by reading a heap of sales stuff???? I see that this site is for the use of those that know it all already and not poor dummies like me who don't.

Why do I ask so many questions? Because I'm now living in New zealand having moved here from the UK and there's f*** all product availability at lbs's, and I haven't hooked up with many cyclists out here yet, I'm also out of the loop as I'm newish back into cycling etc etc.

Next time I need to know something about bikes I'll remember not to ask a cyclist, he he he.
a polite answer...C-40
Mar 25, 2002 11:08 AM
Put the words "reynolds forks" into a google search (www.google.com)and the first thing that pops up is the web address for Reynolds composites. This site should have information on all models.

Opinions of forks are highly subjective. One person will tell you that a a particular fork is great, the next person finds it to be a wimpy noodle and the next finds it too stiff to be tolerable. Then you have to decide who to believe.

I've ridden a number of models, but all were on different frames. You can't accurately judge different forks unless you try them all on the same frame. I rode a LOOK HSC1 on a Litespeed Ultimate. This fork has been described as a noodle, but this frame/fork combo beat me to death. Definitely not a noodle.

My C-40 has the Colnago Star carbon fork which CT-1 describes as "a jack-hammer" on a Colnago Master X-light frame. I've found it to be fine on my C-40. Most of the pros on C-40's use the Star fork, so it must not be too bad.

I hope you've found this answer to be both polite and educational.
So....grzy
Mar 25, 2002 11:22 AM
You really don't know anything about the Reynolds. How helpful.

The Reynolds is widely thought of as a great fork and many of us that have ridden them would agree. The quality is top notch and I haven't heard of any failures to date (other than wrecks). It comes in a 40, 43, and 45 mm rake in both 1" and 1-1/8" threadless with either a carbon steerer (Pro) or an alloy steerer (Comp). In addition they make a model designed to blend in with an integrated headset. I dunno how it compares to the other forks you mentioned since I haven't ridden them. I do like it much better than the older Time (threaded steel steerer - not sure of the model) or the Trek Air Rail. It's pretty similar to a Kestrel EMS - IMO. You really can't go wrong with the Reynolds as long as you think that the rake spec will work on your frame. Realize that you have to go threadless.
re: Reynolds Ouzo Promiko
Mar 24, 2002 7:17 PM
http://www.reynoldscomposites.com/

hopes this helps...they also now make an aero-bladed fork
re: Reynolds Ouzo Promiko
Mar 24, 2002 7:28 PM
I'll add that I ride an Ouzo Pro and love it, however, the only other road forks I can compare to are vintage steel ones.
Here, I prefer the Ouzo hands down. Very light and comfortable.
re: Reynolds Ouzo ProChen2
Mar 25, 2002 8:06 AM
I've just put about 200 miles on my new Ouzo Pro 1" and noticed a significant ride quality improvement over the original Trek Ikon "carbon" fork which is really more aluminum then carbon. I have 3cm of carbon spacers and haven't noticed any flex, but I'm a 165# weakling. The stem is Easton EC 90, the bar is Cinelli. It's an expensive fork and whether or not it's worth the money depends on you.
~Al