RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Wheelset Question(7 posts)

Wheelset Questionheldveld
Mar 17, 2002 3:20 PM
I know there are a lot of questions regarding what is appropriate for riders over 200 pounds, I weight between 200 and 205, but this is a discussion board right? Here is my situation I am looking for a wheelset for racing/fast group rides.

What are your opinions of this set:
Campy Chorus Fr and Rr Hubs
Mavic Open Pro Rims
3X Pattern
DT Revos 15/17
Alloy Nipples

My main concerns are the spokes and using alloy nipples. Also opinions on how these compare to prebuilt sets (Proton/Ksyriums etc.)

Any input is apperciated
well...Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 17, 2002 4:22 PM
i would use at least 32 spokes for the rear wheel, and i would use dt db 14/15 or wheelsmith (a little lighter) and brass nipples.

at minimum db's and brass nipps on the drive side.

32 for the front should be fine.

should be a good set of wheels but its mostly in the build - thats what matters.
re: Wheelset Questiondavet
Mar 17, 2002 4:25 PM
Your choices are excellent. The only things I would tell you to change are the spokes, go to 14/15/14 gauge, and use brass nipples. You will gain only a few oz. per wheel. What you will REALLY GAIN is strength and longevity. And you will have hundreds of dollars left for more bike goodies because you didn't buy a set of boutique wheels.
here we go with the "boutique" thing again...g-money
Mar 17, 2002 10:18 PM
Frankly, the wheels you describe as written will be fine. Brass nips are a bit beefier but not really nec. If your really hard on your bike then consider it. As far as boutiques go... The ksyriums are far and above the best bet out there. Yes, you pay a premium, and may have to spend a bit more for a broken spoke (not likely) but these wheels are far and above one of the best, strongest I've owned. All of the ksyrium owners on this board rave about them. If you have the peso's and want a buy once and forget REALLY, REALLY nice wheelset, do the ksyriums. Otherwise, save some of your cash and have the wheelset you describe built by Cyclist or Excel. Your not really going wrong either way...

Good Luck
re: Wheelset QuestionChen2
Mar 18, 2002 8:49 AM
I just built the same wheel-set but with Chris King hubs. I used black rims, nipples, and hubs. Good climbing wheels but I'm 1/2 mph faster on my Cosmic Carbones on the flats. If you're looking for speed, the Ksyriums or other aero-dynamic wheels will be faster than the Open Pro's. With 3X lacing I think the Revolutions will be ok, just keep them tight and true.
~Al
re: Wheelset QuestionMike Prince
Mar 18, 2002 8:51 AM
I weigh about the same as you and run a similar wheelset to what you describe. The only thing I would change is the spokes. Go with 14/17 Revo's or 14/15 db. My wheels are actually the Excel Cirrus (D/A, OP and Revo's) and the driveside spokes on the rear are 14/15 with brass nipples. All other spokes are 14/17 Revo with alloy nipples. 3x on the rear and 2x on the front. Over 3000 miles since July with not one problem.

These wheels are not quite as stiff as Ksyriums, but are a bit lighter. Only about $300 too. I would recommend highly. Build quality from Excel seems excellent and I am sure as another poster noted that this is a big factor in the wheels durability.

Mike
re: Wheelset Question - CAMPAGNOLO ZONDASHackney
Mar 28, 2002 4:01 AM
I'm 6'4" and weigh 200 lbs. I've been racing for nearly 20 years and have finally tired of the inconsistency of handbuilt wheels. They can be fantastic if you can a good builder and stay with them but that's not always possible.

After baulking at the cost of Ksyrium SSCs and unable to source Ksyrium Elites in time, I bought 2002 Campag Zondas. I was very sceptical given both odd looking spoking and the number of spokes (21 rear / 20 front) but Condor Cycles are normally to be trusted so I went with them.

The scepticism has proven to be misplaced - Condor were right. I race and commute on them and they've been great. I still don't think they're the most atttractive wheels available and they're not very compliant - which can be a little disconcerting at first - but they're strong, fast and pretty light at 1660 grams a set.

They also come with a 3 year guarantee which is something that not many traditional handbuilt sets have.