RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


light Stem/Bar combo?????????????(19 posts)

light Stem/Bar combo?????????????teamplayr
Mar 14, 2002 6:47 PM
I need some feedback! Will a Ritchey WCS stem work(25.8) with an easton (26.0) carbon bar? I have thought about this or the one-piece cinelli ram.
What do you guys think would be a good choice? (can be something diff. from above)
I only weigh 150 lbs.
I also do not trust magnesium stems just yet b/c I have read no reviews. This does not mean I will rule out.
Thanx for feedback!
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????ronvermeeren
Mar 15, 2002 2:39 AM
Hey,

Don't look only at weight also keep strengh in mind.
I have a ITM Millennium SUPER OVER combo, and its real stiff
and not heavy. I would not go for a carbon bar, it looses its stiff after a while, and i think it is a little bit flexy? But i am not sure of that, never had the expierence to ride with a carbon bar, i don't like carbon that much ;)
I don't look to much on weight, i go for strenght and durability. Also deda is stiff and good quality!

Hopefully this helps,
ron
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????TJeanloz
Mar 15, 2002 6:22 AM
I don't think that helped.

A carbon bar will not lose its stiffness in our lifetimes, and it is, out of the box, much stiffer than any comparably weighted aluminum bar. As for strength, while there is anecdotal evidence of carbon bars failing, I don't think the rate is any higher than for light alu bars.

My opinion is that the best light bar/stem combo is the easton EC90 bar with the Ritchey WCS stem.
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????ronvermeeren
Mar 15, 2002 8:14 AM
Believe me,
Carbon looses stiffness after some years of riding, OK when you not ride it doesn't loose any stiffness...
I have a 5 year "old" carbon race bike, and i can feel it.
I feel it much better now, because i have mounted a stiff
ITM Millennium stem/bar... when i ride on the 53/17 and i go for a spint out of the saddle i feel it... Sorry but i think carbon sucks, my opinion... Steel/Titanium rulezzzz ;)

Ron
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????TJeanloz
Mar 15, 2002 8:20 AM
That's a very astute opinion. I have an 8 year old carbon bike that has well over 50,000 miles on it that remains as stiff as the day I bought it.

You can think carbon sucks- that's fine; but there's no basis in fact that quality carbon becomes less stiff over time.
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????Krypton
Mar 15, 2002 12:58 PM
I must second this information as I have a 10 year old carbon bike that is also as stiff as the day I bought it. I'm pretty sure that carbon as a high fatigue resistance and it's ride doesn't change much over the years.
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????mike r
Mar 15, 2002 3:23 PM
isn't the resin used to hold the carbon fibre together a form of polymer (plastic)
do some/most/any plastics breakdown with exposure to uv light?
probably wrong, maybe??
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????grzy
Mar 15, 2002 5:15 PM
They'll break down if you don't do something about the UV. Most CF/epoxy products will have a UV filter in the resin if this is expected, otherwise it's left out.
Does NASA Know?grzy
Mar 15, 2002 2:54 PM
For that matter what about the entire world of material scientists. I mean, this is REALLY big news that carbon fiber loses it's stiffness over time. Your "observation" will turn the engineering world on it's head.

You know not of what you speak.
just for you and your eloquence, grz....Spirito di Finocchio
Mar 15, 2002 3:43 PM
you are always the Man.
just for you and your eloquence, grz....grzy
Mar 15, 2002 5:13 PM
Hey, can you get that thing to give you a hand job?
U R Npmf1
Mar 20, 2002 5:32 AM
Idiot.

There is a basic rule that people like you should follow ... its better to keep your mouth shut and be considered to be an idiot than to open it and remove all doubt. Let me guess, you've got some real cheapo carbon bike you bought at Toys R Us that is joined by aluminium lugs and its gotten loose over time. This makes you an expert and allows you to generalize that all carbon bikes suck (which you express so eloquently). You forgot to include that it also shatters in the cold and melts in the heat.

I've got an 8 year old Kestrel that I've ridden the hell out of (like 5000 - 6000 miles per year) and its still as stiff as the day I bought it.

I agree with you that weight isn't the determining factor of the merit of a component. However, if I were going to buy a new bar, it would be a Kestel or Easton carbon bar.
U R Nronvermeeren
Mar 20, 2002 11:34 PM
Thank you for the compliment....

No, i didn't bought it at Toys R Us hahaha... that was funny
And i think it isn't a cheapo carbon frame, it's a
giant cadex cfr2 frame...

Wenn i ride this bike on low gear/speed, yeah it's stiff...
but when it goes faster i don't feel that safe anymore....

Ron
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????ciclista
Mar 15, 2002 6:38 AM
I prefer the Kestral bar (more comfortable positions)with Ritchey WCS stem.
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????teamplayr
Mar 15, 2002 11:08 AM
Will the 25.8 clamp (4 bolts) work with the 26.0 bar?
New Deda Spectrum Carbon bars andunobtainium
Mar 15, 2002 1:24 PM
New Magg 00 stem might be one. The carbon bars weigh 191 grams while the stemm is 98 grams. I have a Kestrel Carbon bar and I like it. Stiff, double grooved for my Campy 10 and a better fit for me than Easton ,which is noticably lighter. Its on sale at SuperGo for $99 (also Performance).
Check out Deda at www.dedaelementi.com
Cautiongrzy
Mar 15, 2002 2:57 PM
One might want to be careful advocating anything new and super light coming from Deda until it's been proven.They have a recent history of launching crappy products - ala the Newton fiasco and the fact that their 215 bar doesn't weigh 215 grams.
re: light Stem/Bar combo?????????????tmguy
Mar 15, 2002 1:56 PM
3T Zepp with Forma Sl 199 is a nice combo.
clamp diametermiko
Mar 18, 2002 7:35 PM
Ritchey WCS does work with 26mm handlebar. I use it with a 26mm Salsa