RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Oversize Bars(9 posts)

Oversize BarsDY
Mar 12, 2002 10:48 PM
I was interested in getting any opinions about oversize stem/bar combos. I was originally interested in the Millenium, but read that the bar was flexible. Wondering if anyone has feedback on how oversizes perform. I haven't seen many on the street (maybe I just haven't noticed) and wondered why. I'm looking at the Millenium, Solido and Newton. Maybe it isn't necssary and I can just go with the standard diameters. I am pretty big though at 180 lbs 6'0".
Thanks
re: Oversize Barsronvermeeren
Mar 12, 2002 11:40 PM
Hello,

Recently i bought a new race bike. I decided to buy an oversized bar/stem, ITM Millennium. On my old bike i have the "normal" ITM Millennium bar/stem, i must say i don't notice any difference, but i think that the oversized version is stronger, and it looks better on some bikes.

I don't agree that the bar is flexible, but i don't weigh that much, 68 Kg. When i use my 53/17 and i get out off the saddle to sprint, the bar/stem feels confortable/stiff, my opinion... ;)

Greetinx,
Ron
re: Oversize Barsronvermeeren
Mar 12, 2002 11:41 PM
This is a foto of the bar/stem on my new bike...
re: Oversize Barsronvermeeren
Mar 12, 2002 11:43 PM
mmmm didn't work, hopefully this will work ;)
magic/newton combomerckx56
Mar 13, 2002 6:51 AM
just put a deda magic stem and newton bar on my new frame a just pulling on it, i can tell you that it's a whole lot stiffer than the cinelli groove/profile bar setup that is on my other bike. i'm the same size as you and think it will lend a bit of stiffness in the front, but i don't think someone as big as you or me necessarily "needs" the oversize stuff. i got it because i thought it was cool looking and light!
They work fine, but your size isn't much of an issuecory
Mar 13, 2002 8:08 AM
6 feet and 180 isn't huge, and IMO that alone wouldn't justify the expense. I've got four inches and 40 pounds on you, and I don't have any trouble with any of my stem-bar combos, including the 15-year-old 1-inch quill stem on my singlespeed, which gets the crap wrenched out of it. But those things DO look cool....
Thanks for the feedback....DY
Mar 13, 2002 10:23 AM
I was originally going to go for the standard size Mellenium bar stem combo. It is not super expensive, but I read some of the reviews here talk about stiffness (or lack of) of the bar. So that's why I wanted to get some more feedback. Maybe I'll just try it out. That's the only way to know.

One other thing....is it hard to attach a computer to the bigger bar?
I like my magic comboYoungRcR
Mar 13, 2002 3:57 PM
Its super stiff and i love the shape of the drops :-)
re: Oversize Barsk mand
Mar 16, 2002 3:04 PM
You can probably get away with the standard size, but I can tell you from just switching to the deda newton combo, i love the way the oversize feels in my hands (more comfortbale than standard). I love the control on the top of the bars on climbs and railing through corners on the drops. Its stiff. Also, no problem fitting my computer (VDO C10+).I've never used the millenium setup.