RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Deda Newton Trouble(25 posts)

Deda Newton TroubleCrazyMan
Oct 24, 2001 4:57 PM
I've got a new Newton oversized stem on my TCR.
I brought the bike home from the shop to find the stem rotating quite easily from side to side (where its clamped to the steerer). After slight tightening - which helped little - I decided to return to the shop. The chief mech. and I tinkered carefully for over 1/2 hour but couldn't get the stem to stay in place when any moderate amount of force is applied. Any advice, or experiences? Could it be the sleeve to convert it to the 1" steerer? I'm looking for any answers here. we just couldn't tighten it enough for the stem to be stable, and I REALLY want to ride my baby....thanks.
re: Deda Newton TroubleTJeanloz
Oct 25, 2001 9:33 AM
It sounds to me like you've got the stem clamped all the way together, and that's still not tight enough. But it seems that the shop mechanic would have figured out something that simple. Try using a different, or slightly bigger shim between the steerer and the stem. But please, use a torque wrench- the Newton has issues.
re: Deda Newton Troublegrzy
Oct 25, 2001 10:22 AM
There was a recall on the earlier ones. Basically you've got 4mm ti bolts going into soft aluminum and the whole works strips, but that was for the bar clamp. I'm thinking that your problem is that the bolts/holes have stripped and you can't get enough clamping force. You should be able to tell, by inspecting the holes/bolts or using a torque wrench. If you can't hit the torque spec then something is stripped. I'm a little surprised that your mechanic couldn't figure it out in 30 minutes - unless he's the guy that stripped them in the first place and doesn't want to admit it to you. The other option is that there is some sort of grease along the interface and the friction is reduced. Use some citrus based degreaser to chemically remove any and all contaminates - safely. Some solvents will actually leave a residue film behind or attack the materials. I've heard of people using a little bit of valve grinding compound ( a fine abrassive), but I don't think you need to do anything that drastic. Besides the stuff has a pretty high chance of eventually getting into your headset.

I'm a fairly vocal critic of the Deda Newton design - I think it was ill conceived, executed half-assed, and isn't robust enough. The worst thing is they keep selling the damn things to the unsuspecting public. If you go back to convetinal sized stem take a good look at the Ritchey WCS - even though it uses a shim to get down to 1" - I have had zero problems with it on a carbon fork. It is quite robust, light and reasonably priced with a removable four bolt (5 mm) face plate and a diagonal cut for the steerer interface and two 5 mm bolts.
re: Deda Newton Troublejacques
Oct 25, 2001 6:18 PM
I'd have the mechanic mike out the steerer and the sleeve to make sure they're still perfectly round. An initial overtightening could have ovalized the sleeve and, if not carbon, the steerer to some degree. If the stem rotates through a approximately 90-degree arc and then binds up, something is no longer round.
re: Deda Newton Troublegraham
Oct 28, 2001 7:36 AM
Deda Newton stems are positively the worst cycling related product on the market today. Engineering 101 basics were ignored on this pathetic product. A savy product liability lawyer would have a field day slamming the Deda company for the failures and resultant injuries from the face plates falling out, stems breaking, or bolts stripping. I had one fail within a few minutes with the face plate separating from the stem. Imagine the handlebar in your hand detached from the bike while rolling! The root cause of the problem is the use of a machined thread bolts which are whimpy and of inferior quality. The thread spiral simply shears off the shaft of the bolt! The sharp peak of the thread digs into the soft aluminum and the stem itself them strips out. a poor combination of gastly poor engineering and crappy materials! This is utterly pathetic and shameful of the Deda company which has several very good product. Stems the really stink at! Look closely at the bolt and see it with the little tit at the end of the bolt, this is the sign of a machined and thus very weak thread. To further compound the problem, the combination of a 5mm bolt with a fine thread pitch does not work in this application either. Simply using a 6mm bolt would be acceptable in this application might have cured the inherent design and quality problems. Wake up Deda company! Replacing the bolts with a stainless steel metric ones from the hardware store would do in a pinch. Forget the Titanium, far too flexible!Two bucks spent to save yer life is a good investment indeed. Don't forget the anti seaze, grease will not do in this application! BTW a rolled thread, like what the rest of the world uses, has a vastly better strength where it counts. Deda quotes a torque spec that is rediculas for the given materials and design of the product. Bottom line, get rid of the newton stem, it really stinks!
re: Deda Newton Troublegrzy
Oct 29, 2001 11:35 AM
Other than that it's a pretty good, right? ;-) BTW - the bolts are acutally 4 mm, not 5 mm which just makes things worse. The engineers that worked on this project should be sacked and made to work for the Sewer Dept.

Seems like quality control isn't a priority with this company - even their beloved handle bars don't come close to advertised weight, but that's pretty normal in the bike biz for some companies.
re: Deda Newton TroubleTreviso
Oct 29, 2001 9:14 PM
The Deda uses 5mm bolts not 4mm, it uses a 4mm hex wrench.
Like I said in a earlier post that you, GRZY and TJEANLOZ ripped into me about regarding the Hurricane stem, it seems Hurricane cured the problems that the Deda and other stems have issues with, but anyway, I knew I was right in the first place.
Proof is in the pudding.grzy
Oct 30, 2001 5:04 PM
Yep, those hurricane stems are flying out the door to replace the Deda stems, not. Do they even make it in the over sized diameter for the Newton bar?

Anyways you missed the point - the Ritchey WCS solved the problem last year, for less money, less weight, and no helicoils. Still waiting for the Hurricane stem, with baited breath, to take the bike industry by storm, but I think they're a day late and a dollar short.

BTW - we didn't rip into you - you came off like some huckster saying that it was the greatest thing since toe clips and that it was the only logical solution. When I rip into you you'll know it.
Let it ripTreviso
Oct 30, 2001 7:13 PM
I never said that the Hurricane stem will take over, I said that I thought Hurricane's stem was well well executed and addressed problems of other stems, ie:Deda, read what people wrote.
I would like to see you rip ino me, it sound like your a real tough guy!
I agree,TJeanloz
Oct 31, 2001 8:02 AM
Hurricane did solve the problem. But Ritchey solved the problems 1 year ago.
Some pros use the Newton right?I Love Shimano
Oct 28, 2001 4:38 PM
Just wondering why they use it even at great risk of their life.
Some pros use the Newton right?grzy
Oct 29, 2001 9:39 AM
'Cause they get paid. Can't ever overlook the payolla aspect.
Some pros use the Newton right?I Love Shimano
Oct 29, 2001 7:23 PM
But I think no pro would use any type of equipment that would greatly put hislife at risk for any amount of money. I read that some pros even use different frames from their sponsors, and just paint the sponsors scheme over it. I'm sure they can do the same for stems that look alike.

Maybe the problems with the Newton were just a result of ham fisted mechanics working on it?
Don't kid yourself...TJeanloz
Oct 30, 2001 7:54 AM
Only the highest paid pros can afford to ride rebadged gear. Those in the $20,000 bracket would beg for a free Newton.
Andgrzy
Oct 30, 2001 4:57 PM
These are the same pros that don't wear helmets when they race. So you can forget that "not risking life and limb angle." You've heard of stock car racing?

As for painting and rebadging - sure it's done at the highest levels, but they're the only ones that can afford it. Same thing happens in a lot of elite sports where the equipment really does matter (widnsurfing, skiing, surfing, etc.), yet the sponsor wants to see a certain recognizable image in the media.

No, the problem with the Newton stem was so bad that they actually did a product recall - kind of admitts that the manufacturer realizes their mistake.
AndTreviso
Oct 30, 2001 7:22 PM
The pros ride the same stem as you can buy, believe me, its not a rebadged stem. There is no way they are going to tool up to make a couple of stems for the pros, then not use the same tooling on a consumer product.
It is true that pros sometimes ride frames from one builder with another's name on it, its just what they are used too.
As far as recalls, any manufacturer would recall a product if required by the CSPC that has serious problems, it can happen to ANY manufacturer, it does'nt mean that they cant improve and still make a great product.
Deda Newton Recall,TJeanloz
Oct 31, 2001 7:52 AM
The Deda "recall" was a voluntary recall, not even recommended by the CPSC. It was actually recommended by pro teams who kept breaking their stems. Furthermore, Deda maintains that the faceplates will not break if they are properly installed, but bike mechanics don't typically read directions.

I agree that the Deda is a POS, and there are plenty of other POS stems out there (like every Profile stem ever made).
Grzy, time to wake up!patrick
Oct 29, 2001 7:27 PM
Grzy, time to wake up! The bolts are 5mm, measure one before making your usual lame comments... Deda stems still stink and fall into the same bogus product bucket as a Fiat. They come from the same country too.
Patrick, salut'eTreviso
Oct 29, 2001 9:18 PM
Grzy, most of the time talks out of his arse, as well as some others posters(Posers)
Where some of these people form opinions is beyond me, you have a right to an opinion, just dont bring it up from your scrodum!
Sighgrzy
Oct 30, 2001 9:23 AM
They first shipped with 4 mm ti bolts.
SighTreviso
Oct 30, 2001 7:15 PM
Did they fit? I think you mistaken 5mm for 4mm, but what ever.
I can't prove it,TJeanloz
Oct 31, 2001 8:01 AM
I haven't seen one of these stems since I refused to sell them anymore, but I remember them being 4mm, and in every photo I can find on the web, they appear to be 4mm. And I don't think you could fit 4 5mm bolts around the faceplate like the Newton does.

I can't prove it, but I'd bet $1 that they're 4mm.
Having seen the above,TJeanloz
Oct 31, 2001 8:07 AM
Treviso may be correct that it is a 4mm hex head on a 5mm bolt. Without the actual stem and calipers, I can't be sure.
Stem bolts....who cares?Eric
Oct 31, 2001 9:07 AM
It doesn't matter if the bolts are 4mm head and 5mm shaft if they still strip the threads in the stem when they are tightened. I'm sure there are a few people who have had success with this stem where it hasn't stripped and holds the bars without slipping, but really, the number of problems reported indicate that this is a POS.
Deda Newton Stems...Receptacalo elbarfopatrick
Nov 1, 2001 1:17 PM
What do you call two Deda Newton stems in the middle of a school of piranas? A good start.