RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Good computer w/cadence(8 posts)

Good computer w/cadencemhtom
Mar 10, 2002 6:23 PM
I'm looking for a good cyclocomputer that has cadence. Most of the ones I've seen haven't gotten good reviews. What's the ultimate computer with cadence?
Cateye Astralegrandemamou
Mar 11, 2002 5:01 AM
I don't know if it's the ultimate but I have no complaints. I have it on 2 bikes. Not much to say it's just a computer it's there and works without fail. The only thing that I did not like is it's kind of hard to get set up right.
I second the AstralePaulCL
Mar 11, 2002 6:07 AM
I used the same one for about 3 years. My only complaint is in wet weather. It doesn't work well in the rain. So, I carry a small peice of plastic in my saddlebag to cover it in case of rain.

I've wanted an Ergobrain for years, but just couldn't justify throwing away a perfectly good Astrale. And of course, I could buy about 4 astrales for the price of one ergobrain.
Ultimate? No, but a pretty good value - Performance 8.0CMcAndrus
Mar 11, 2002 7:57 AM
I have a couple Performance 8.0Cs. They're inexpensive and a real workhorse computer. Simple to setup and easy to use. My only complaint is that they don't like the rain and get confused and snotty when they get wet.
Ultimate? No, but a pretty good value - Performance 8.0COneheart
Mar 11, 2002 12:43 PM
I've gone through 3 Performance 8.0C computers in the past 2 years. I'm done with them. Mine not only went crazy in the rain (sounds like most models do) but would also just stop working. I would problem solve everything to no avail. I will admit Performance did replace all of them for free but I got tired of having to replace them.
re: Good computer w/cadencevol245
Mar 11, 2002 10:06 AM
I have an Avocet 45 on one bike and a Cateye Astrale on the other. They both work great, but my Avocet is 5 or 6 years old and the quality may have been better then. I got a new Avocet for my new bike and it would reset the clock when I put the computer into sleep mode. I traded it on the Cateye. I haven't used it much yet, but it seems fine so far.
AstraleChen2
Mar 11, 2002 11:21 AM
I've got one that is 3 years old, the wife's is 7 years old. Both work great, as long as they're dry.
~Al
re: Good computer w/cadenceharry hall
Mar 12, 2002 7:54 AM
Another vote here for the Astrale, Cateye seems to have the best quality control and reliability of all cyclecomputers.
Also, if you ride a really tall frame and thus need a computer with tons of wire the Vetta RT77 is good. The controls aren't as easy to use as the Astrale and the speed wire only reaches to the front wheel, but the cadence wire looks like it would fit the biggest solo bike frames; you should see tne bundle of wire that's tied up on my 57cm Ideor.