RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Zipp 303 Rims(9 posts)

Zipp 303 Rimskey
Mar 6, 2002 11:59 AM
Looking into some new rims and wanted to get some feedback on the new zipp 303 rims. Clincher or Tubular and any comments or concerns with the breaking surface.

thanks!
re: Zipp 303 Rimscurlybike
Mar 6, 2002 12:04 PM
Got a set of clincher 303's for a friend and he is very pleased with them. They did weigh 1460 instead of the 1380 advertised. They are nice looking but have too many stickers on them. The BRAKING surface is al. alloy on the clincher, so it will act the same as normal wheels. The hubs are bootiful.
re: Zipp 303 Rimsgonzo77
Mar 7, 2002 8:00 AM
Here's the thing with the Zipps. If you get the tubulars they're nearly a pound lighter than the clinchers and the light weight plus the aerodynamics and stiffness make them worth the stiff price. Now the clinchers are aerodynamic and convenient because they're clinchers but they become expensive when you start comparing them to other wheels that have similar weight. If you wanna get them for racing purposes I say tubular all the way. Pump those tubulars up to 160-180psi depending on your tire and no clincher will roll as smooth and easy as them. But if you want an everyday wheel you might wanna take a look at all your options. I ride Zipp 404 tubulars primarily for racing or on the local group ride once and awhile, but mostly train on some heavier clincher regular spoke wheels and the difference is just amazing what a light wheel does for you. So IMHO consider those tubulars if you want a racing wheel.
Gonzokey
Mar 7, 2002 2:27 PM
Thanks for the input. Just curious how much work is it to use tubulars. Installing them, changing a flat.. etc. finally is tire wear about the same. Thanks, never rode them and curious.
Gonzogonzo77
Mar 7, 2002 7:28 PM
They're not the most convenient things. Clinchers are definitely much easier to use. You basicly have to carry another tire around in case you get a flat. If you do happen to get a flat, you have to take it easy since the tire wont be glued on as well after you change it. I carry a pump and CO2 cartriges to get the pressure way up there again. U'll be pumping forever with those damn mini pumps to get it back to 160 psi which is why I carry CO2's AND a pump. That's the trick with the tubulars. The ultra high pressure is what keeps them from getting flats. But when you get one, you know right away. But like I said, it all depends on what you wanna use them for. Tubulars have their pro's and cons and aren't for everyone, but if you're gonna shell out $800 for a set of wheels i'm sure you're looking at all your options. Those new Ksyrium SL's are pretty nice and lite for a clincher. Hope I helped you a bit with your decision.
Gonzokey
Mar 7, 2002 8:30 PM
thanks for the info, helps. Have Ksyrums now, and have for a while been curious about tubulars. Looked at the zipps and with the 303's they were alot lighter for the tubulars.

Appreciate the feedback.

cheers
FurthermoreTroyboy
Mar 8, 2002 8:41 AM
Rotating weight is really what you want to minimize. Loosely and arguably, most of the racers in my club agree that to get a good approximation of the effect of weight savings in wheels, multiply by 4. Therefore, If you're saving 100 grams in wheels, the overall effect when rolling is 400. Kyseriums may be fully bulletproof, but they surely are not light in my opinion. I love my Nucleons.
Furthermorebobobo
Mar 9, 2002 2:37 PM
And exactly how "light" do you think your Nucleons are? Not exactly what I'd call a lightweight wheelset either and the Nucleon hub is lighter than the Ksyrium hub which means you have more relative weight out at the rim and it's not even a semi aero rim it should be lighter, a lot lighter. Geeesh
Lightness, in my opinion for wheelsTroyboy
Mar 11, 2002 10:07 AM
is under ~1600 for a set. Extreme lightness is the Zipp set at ~1190. Pre 2002 Kyseriums are over ~1800 far as I know. I'm not knocking them at all!!! Decent, but simply not light in my opinion.