RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


? for Campy 10 spd chain users(18 posts)

? for Campy 10 spd chain usersboneman
Mar 4, 2002 2:40 PM
I'm considering spec'ing a bike with Campy 10, Record or Chorus. I want to know your experiences, good, bad or indifferent with the Campy 10 speed (2000 onwards version) chain as the reports in the review section, albeit dated, are very mixed. I'm not a big masher, don't race anymore, don't run extreme, ie small cog, small ring, combinations and clean my chain about every 300 miles or so depending on conditions although I do shift under load. I've never had a chain problem in 35+ years of riding so I'm curious about these reports of broken chains.

Thanks in advance.
No problems heregrandemamou
Mar 4, 2002 5:32 PM
I only used the C chain once. I put about 4k on one with no problems. I replaced it with a wipperman 7-8 hundred miles no problem with it either. There are 2 other people in my club that run C with no problems that I know about. I think early on there were some problems with bad permalinks. Breakages are no better or worse than S.
replacement interval?koala
Mar 5, 2002 4:37 AM
I have seen a wide range of replacement recommendations. My lbs said 2000 mi. Is he being too conservative with proper maintenance? I have been using white lightning but the campy website says oil. Is this O.K. for 10 speed?
white lighteningPaulCL
Mar 5, 2002 6:23 AM
I have a 10spd too. I always used white lightening until last summer. I went to the Carpenter/Phinney bikecamp with a bunch of retired pro's and pro mechanics. The mechanics universally didn't like white lightening for road bikes. Too much gunk, not enough lubrication. I dunno why, but I figured they knew more than me, so I switched to a wet, teflon based, lube. I use tri-flow(I think that's the name)
white lighteningChris Leon
Mar 5, 2002 2:29 PM
If you use Tri-Flow do not use very much. Tri-Flow will spread over the chain as you ride. I use Finish Line oil on my Campy 10sp and it work very well.
Pro-Link..No problemsBill J. Pappas
Mar 5, 2002 2:56 PM
I've been using Prolink on my campy chain/components for years..no problems, and no complaints! WL is just too messy, and you have to use so much at first for it to work right!
It dependsgrandemamou
Mar 5, 2002 3:33 PM
I'm about 145lbs and live in a pretty flat area so there is not a whole lot of shifting going on. Along with proper chain maint. those are probably the biggest factors affecting chain life. I check for chain stretch and permalink integrity and let those be my guide. If you did it every 2k you would probably be safe.

FWIW I hate white lightning it's just too messy and doesn't provide enough protection in a very moist climate (louisiana). I use hgnr. I have been using it for about a year now and have been very pleased with it.
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain usersmackgoo
Mar 4, 2002 7:05 PM
Fosters super link III, no problems 3K miles.
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain usersvol245
Mar 5, 2002 10:27 AM
I have Campy Chorus on my bike and love it. I only have 170 miles on the bike and was also concerned about the chain. I bought a Superlink III from Branford Bike that I carry with me in case the chain breaks. I talked to someone there and he said the first PermaLinks were too soft and broke a lot. Campy then made them too hard and they broke too. He hasn't seen many problems since they changed it again. I keep the chain very clean and use an oil lube - Finish Line Cross Country. Oil is messy, but I want it to shift properly and not break, so I'll use it.
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain usersChris Leon
Mar 5, 2002 2:56 PM
I have Chorus 10sp Shifters and deraillers with a Dayton 10sp cranks. The Dayton was 150 grams heavier but $70 or so less expensive. For the price Dayton is the best deal. Campy passes down the technology each year to the group below.
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain usersMapei Boy
Mar 5, 2002 5:46 PM
I've not had good luck with the campy 10 chain. I'm on my third chain now. With the first two, about six or seven hundred miles in, the chain would stretch to the point where it wouldn't run smoothly through the drive-train. Whenever I would replace the chain with a new one, the problem would instantly go away. FYI, I only weigh 165, but I do more than my share of hills. I'm always cranking up the steep grades. As for actually breaking a chain, it happened once to me - on my MTB. The chain - a Shimano.
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain usersCT1
Mar 6, 2002 4:06 PM
What the heck type of lube are you using???

I'me getting big miles on my C10 chains and I crank hard up steep hills. I'm using Prolink lube.

good luck
JohnG
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain userstarwheel
Mar 6, 2002 5:26 AM
I've had a Chorus 10 group on my main bike for about 9 months, 4300 miles. The group works great and I haven't had to even adjust the gears during that time. No problems with the chain either, but I clean and lube it regularly. I use ProLink lube. My LBS recently checked the chain, and it was less than half worn according to the indicator tool, with close to 4000 miles. Whatever problems Campy had with the early 10-speed chains, I believe they've worked them out. I also suspect that many of the problems some people have had are due to improper installation and/or lack of maintenance.
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain usersstoutga
Mar 6, 2002 11:39 AM
I have been using the record 10 spd chain for over 3500 miles and have not had a break. I use campy lube (wet) and use the campy permalink installation tool. My weight was 200lbs and I was mashing 42/16 at 75 to 80 rpm. I agree with other posters about proper installation methods being key to proper chain operation.
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain userscurlybike
Mar 6, 2002 12:07 PM
What campy lube are you using, the old spray lube that stinks like skunk?
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain usersstoutga
Mar 6, 2002 5:53 PM
It would be the second item down on this web page.
http://www.cbike.com/campagnolo_accessories.htm

No skunk smell to speak of.
re: ? for Campy 10 spd chain userscurlybike
Mar 7, 2002 2:02 PM
That is the stuff. You should try Rock and Roll Absolutly Dry. http://www.rocklube.com I have been using this for years now and get great chain life, everyone that I get to try it is quite satisfied. No one switches away from it.
anyone tried the newjs
Mar 6, 2002 6:20 PM
IRD Black Lighning chain made for Campy 10? Has what is described as apowerlink-like connector.