RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Campagnolo Neitron and Eurus Wheelsets(10 posts)

Campagnolo Neitron and Eurus WheelsetsBikegeeker
Mar 2, 2002 6:26 PM
Has anyone ridden these wheels and if so, how do they compare to other wheels like the Ksyriums? Are they durable enough for everyday riding?
re: Campagnolo Neitron and Eurus Wheelsetsweiwentg
Mar 3, 2002 6:04 AM
the neutron is the 2002 nucleon, so you can check the reviews. I asked someone about the Eurus on this forum; here's his answer: the Phantom "Michelin Pro race tires" 2/28/02 8:17pm
re: Campagnolo Neitron and Eurus WheelsetsGiro Newbie
Mar 3, 2002 10:16 AM
Nice article, but I'm not sure where this guy is getting his info from. Frist of all he errs by saying all Mavic wheels use the same hub, not true. The Ksyriums use a hub specific to the Ksyrium to handle the Zircal spokes, it is not the same hub as other models. In addition, Mavic hubs are some of the most durable and smooth rolling hubs out there. I have rarely heard complaints about their hub quality. This other poster made it sound like the Ksyriums were not durable, well he must know something that most other riders do not know because most guys that ride them applaud them for their durability stating that this is one of their best strengths. They are also pretty darn stiff which is why I think this other poster selectively chose to compare the Eurus with the Helium for stiffness rather than the Ksyrium. The Ksyrium wheelset is lighter and most important its lighter at the outer rim. The Eurus appears more aero so now you need to figure out which wheel will benefit you the most. For most riding conditions i'd favor the Ksyrium.

I'd be far more worried about the durability of the Eurus after looking at how few spokes were laced to the front and rear hubs than I would a pair of Ksyriums. Ksyriums have proven their durability and looking at the Eurus rear wheel, it sure doesn't look like a wheel you would want to ride everyday and expect it to last long. A very nice looking wheelset, but I'd be concerned about its practicality as an everyday wheel at that price point.
re: Campagnolo Neitron and Eurus Wheelsetsweiwentg
Mar 3, 2002 4:25 PM
>>I'd be far more worried about the durability of the Eurus after looking at how few spokes were laced to the front and rear hubs than I would a pair of Ksyriums<<

keep in mind Shimano's wheelsets also have 16 spokes, and they're reputed to be fairly durable. the Eurus have straight pull spokes - this is supposed to eliminate the weak point at the J-bend of a normal spoke. I wouldn't worry about the durability (caveat: I do not own these wheels although I would certainly like to).
got em bothCT1
Mar 3, 2002 6:00 PM
Been using a set of Neut's for about 2 months. They're a nice strong and stiff wheelset.

OK, my K's SL's will be at my door on Monday. I basically flipped a coin between them and the Eurus. I finally decided on the K's because of three things: 1.) the WAY cheaper spoke replacements, 2.) not needing rim tape, 3.) lack of history on the Eurus.

Bottom line..... I doubt you could go wrong with either wheelset. And, anyone claiming either are poorly made is BLOWING SHIT out the mouth.

JohnG
got em bothToboggan
Mar 3, 2002 7:06 PM
Can a doctor cure that problem with a persons mouth? :)

I agree, they are both likely super nice wheelsets. The Eurus does have less history than the SL's but I'd be willing to bet they turn out to be one of the finer wheelsets Campy has produced in recent years, and their looks certainly have the drool factor.

I'm can't comment whether they'd be best used everyday or for races, but it seems no one else has yet commented on that fact either. Sorry.
What about the spoking?cyclaholic
Mar 3, 2002 7:56 PM
What do you think about the sturdiness of the Euros' spoking pattern? If I remember correctly, don't they have like 7 spokes on the non-drive side that match up with paired spokes on the drive side, forming a kind of triad? That looks very squirrelly to me. They may be solid as a rock, but I would tread lightly for a while.

Do you think these can handle heavier riders (180 and up)?

I would hate to lose a spoke with that set up.
What about the spoking?weiwentg
Mar 3, 2002 8:20 PM
unknown if they'll stand up to heavier riders, but Dave at speeddream.com uses a similar spoking pattern - his spokes, though, are evenly distributed around the rim, instead of segregated into groups. this is - according to Dave's website - done to reduce dish. I would think that it works the same way for the Eurus ... and remember that it's a 30mm rim.
but yes, losing a spoke would suck big time.
What about the spoking?luresdouble
Mar 3, 2002 8:21 PM
That's my exact concern as well. The front wheel spoking looks ok, but that rear wheel spoking kinda scares me too. And you are correct, it's basically 7 triads with 2 driveside spokes with a nondriveside spoke between them forming each triad. On the other hand, they are not regulart spokes but bladed spokes so perhaps they are strong enough. I'm also concerned with the pressure points on the rim itself since you have 3 spokes right together and then what seems like a large space and then 3 more spokes, etc... I have never been convinced of the long term durability of wheels with spoking patterns like this including the Shimano Dura Ace 7700? and Ultegra 6500? I guess we'll have to wait and see how they turn out on the durability side. It would not be the first "new" design which ended up being a dud.
got em bothClue
May 15, 2002 9:39 AM
So, how are the wheels and what do you weigh? Where did you buy them?

did you consider custom wheels like I've seen others recommend one should do? I also was considering the Eurus but actually like the look of the K SL's better

thx