RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Shimano R 535 wheels. Aero or just heavy?(9 posts)

Shimano R 535 wheels. Aero or just heavy?Maxrep
Mar 2, 2002 8:17 AM
I have a brand new set of the R535's. Does the 16 paired spoke design justify the 1920 gram weight for racing and training? Opinions on this wheel. Should I sell them and buy the 2002 Ksyriums SSL?
re: Shimano R 535 wheels. Aero or just heavy?weiwentg
Mar 2, 2002 11:49 AM
they quite heavy. are you a road racer or a triathlete? if the former, get the Ksyriums (if within your budget), if the latter ...
you know, I'm a little tempted to say the Ksyrium SSLs are overall a superior wheel for both applications ... but I haven't had the pleasure of riding the latter.
They're heavy.cyclaholic
Mar 2, 2002 3:28 PM
The current Performancebike catalog lists this wheelset for $300. That is probably a fair price. Regardless of weight or aero issues, I do know that these are very sturdy and dependable wheels that you can ride everyday. That's a good deal for $300.

It just seems to me that if you are going to severely limit the number of spokes, that effort ought to have some kind of advantage, either in weight or in performance. The bottom line is that the limited spoking is not losing weight to a traditionally spoked wheel, nor is it particularly aero. I would bet that a set of Open Pro rims laced to Ultegra hubs will give you a lighter, yet still very dependable wheel. Be cheaper, too.

I don't need to be convinced that the new Ksyriums are great wheels - light and sturdy - but, damn, they are expensive.

I'm thinking that a set of Open Pros laced to Chris King hubs might offer a good alternative to these highly priced Ksyriums. May not look as good but I bet there isn't a great difference in weight. And the K's would cost more.
A good deal?Kerry Irons
Mar 3, 2002 8:31 AM
A good deal is Campy Record hubs and Velocity Aeroheads prebuild by Colorado Cyclist for $309, or DA for $290. A very reliable, significantly lighter wheel made with top of the line componenets for less money.
What about the velocity rims?cyclaholic
Mar 3, 2002 5:47 PM
Kerry, I was just trying to be fair in my judgement. If someone gets a good set of wheels for $300, that is always a "good deal". I can't say that those cyclists who bought Shimano 535 wheels @ $300 got a bad deal. I can attest that they are very strong.

I don't have enough information about the Velocity rims to comment. Although I absolutely love to do it,I can't afford to build too many wheelsets, so I have to be sure and go with something I know will be good. The velocity rims are outside my comfort zone. I'd love to build a set and see how they do.

What can you tell me about them? Can you give me a good guess as to finished weight? How aero are they?

If these rims are up to snuff - and everything I've heard indicates they are - then you have a very nice wheelset at a great price. I'd love to have a wheelset with Campy Record hubs.
price of R535sweiwentg
Mar 3, 2002 6:04 PM
they can be had for less than $300 ... can't quite remember where, though.
I've got Velocity aeroheads on this wheelset, and they're light and strong. they would be a good choice imho.
Check these out ...pmf1
Mar 4, 2002 5:25 AM
http://speeddream.com/road.html

I bought a set recently and have been real pleased with them. They ride nicely, are quite light and built with standard components. Quite a bit lighter and cheaper than Ksyriums. I also have a set of Ksryiums and they have been absolutely bulletproof. You can find them anywhere for $600. Not as light as the aerolights though.

King hubs will drive you crazy with all that clickety clickety "gee look, I have King hubs!"
A better idea....Jaybo
Mar 5, 2002 2:29 PM
I just bought Ultegra hubs laced with 14/15 DB w/ alloy nipples with Open Pro rims for a freaking measly $175 from www.jensonusa.com. I would guess they are right in there with the weight of 535's with less proprietary hassles. Your choice. The areo stuff is a bit overrated for daily riding, in my opinion. They do look cool.
There you go!cyclaholic
Mar 5, 2002 9:35 PM
Looks to me like you got a good dependable wheel at a great price. I would go so far as to say your wheelset is more than a few grams lighter than the Shimano R535's.