RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


RITCHEY WCS stem(28 posts)

RITCHEY WCS stemGall
Feb 28, 2002 1:08 PM
looking at the ritchey wcs. does anyone know how much it weighs?

also any pro and cons?

thanks so much!
About 150 grams for the 11 cm I own....shylock
Feb 28, 2002 1:22 PM
....and it's very flexy -- even under the lowly torque from my whimpy upper body:) I don't recommend it unless you are only interested in losing weight on the bike
BSgrzy
Feb 28, 2002 3:45 PM
Truth of the matter is it's your handle bars not the stem. Think about it - some smaller diameter thin walled aluma-cheese approx. 22 cm from the centerline. When one realizes the amount of force that needs to be applied on this cantileavered noodle vs. the moment required to deflect the stem you'll realize which is really the weak link. The consider how much deflection needs to occur in the stem over such a short length to get the required movement.

Another way to see this is to deflect the stem with a weight and measure it with a dial indicator. Then do the same with your handle bar. Of course this requires some setup and getting some objective data, but it gets it out of the subjective realm.
hmmmgtx
Feb 28, 2002 9:24 PM
I've always ridden old school Cinelli stems on my road bikes, and I don't think stem flex is a huge issue on road bikes anyway. But I've felt major stiffness differences between different stems on my mtb--using the same bars and fork.
Wrongo!Shylock
Mar 1, 2002 4:10 AM
Try flexing the EC90 handlebar...go ahead. Try it.
yeah!chzy
Feb 28, 2002 4:25 PM
Don't you know it's the GREATEST STEM EVER MADE?!
Clueless...Geof
Feb 28, 2002 7:35 PM
This stem is hardly "flexy" Even under my "brawny" 200lb body. I've had no problems matched up with the WCS bars. I get little flex even with a 46 bar....

Is your bar a wet noodle???
I'm clueless?Shylock
Mar 1, 2002 4:13 AM
No wonder people consider Roadies putzes: You all are. I have an EC90 handlebar. The stem flexes. Get over it already. Maybe you are all whimpier than me.

It's official! Roadbikereview has more arrogant pricks per square inch than any site on the internet!

feel the f'n Gin
I have a Deda 285 and my WCS stem doesn't flex.Sintesi
Mar 1, 2002 7:29 AM
As a matter of fact that is why i like this stem so much, because it is so stiff. I've tried several stems and this one was a bit of a revelation, since it is the only one that noticably improved my front end on climbs and sprints. i find it hard to believe anyone who has actually tried the stem could call it a noodle.
Have you ridden a Thomson?Shylock
Mar 1, 2002 7:57 AM
..See, that's what I call a stiff stem. Perhaps it's a bit overkill for a Road part, but when I'm doing hill sprints in a big gear, I don't want my stem twisting when I'm pulling up. I don't get any of that with my Thomson/CT2 bar on my mountain bike. I get plently of it with my road bike and my WCS stem/EC 90 combo.

Hey, I wanted to like the Ritchey, but.....

Feel the gin
Nope.Sintesi
Mar 1, 2002 8:32 AM
Profile Stiffy tho and I thought the WCS compared favorably. Maybe I'll put a Thompson on my Stumpjumper.

Little early to be drinking gin isn't it? have nice Bud light instead and work up to gin at about 3 or 4pm.
It is too early for gin...also too early for...shylock
Mar 1, 2002 8:38 AM
..my Chekhov paper. but that's the life of a student, I suppose. God knows I'm too old to be doing this stuff, so he gave me gin to pass the time.

Feel the gin
You're right....grzy
Mar 1, 2002 9:45 AM
...about you being an arrogant prick.
cute....shylock
Mar 1, 2002 10:26 AM
....You tell me what I write is BS, then you give me some condescending spiel about what's going on with my stem and handlebar -- without even enquiring as to my setup....That's priceless. I suspect you ride alone alot.

no gin for you
Nahgrzy
Mar 1, 2002 7:27 PM
Just trying to give you something you can use to help get you out of subjectivity-land. Fact of the matter is if you understood materials and machine design you'd have more insight. Got any idea on the magnitude of the modulus of elasticities and applied moments?

Maybe you're the only one that got the flexy one and the rest of us got the stiffies. You know, I might just have an extra stiffy for you..... ;-)
The fact is, "subjectivity land" is really....Shylock
Mar 4, 2002 9:44 AM
...the only land that matters when you're talking about the quality of bike components. You can spout all the jargon you like but you aren't really saying anything if the theories don't hold up in the real world. And no, I don't have any idea on the magnitude of the modulus of elasticities and applied momments, but I do understand you to be a pedantic putz.
Oh, Now THAT Makes Sense...grzy
Mar 6, 2002 11:22 AM
I guess you're saying that the flex really can't be measured objectively and that in your "real world" this is all that matters. You know what you know, but you don't know why.

Beautiful.
Yes, clueless...Geof
Mar 1, 2002 10:12 PM
Your subjective opinion is absolutly wieghtless... I'll tell you what, take your ritchy stem stick it in a big vice, put the face plate on and put a breaker bar into the handle bar and torque away. I GUARANTEE you won't flex the stem...

BTW... I was simply pointing out something obvious, your clueless about materials and reality in this realm, it has nothing to do with being an "arrogant roadie" I actually race MTB, YOUR the one that pointed out your insufficency by retorting with a slam...

I'm the prick? Look in the mirror...
Well, you've sufficiently proven yourself..Shylock
Mar 4, 2002 9:36 AM
...the a$$. I certainly wouldn't tell someone the product I paid my hard earned money for was flexy if, in my experience, it wasn't. Now go stick your head in a vice and....
No flex in mine(nm)gwilliams
Mar 4, 2002 4:58 AM
re: RITCHEY WCS stemSintesi
Feb 28, 2002 1:24 PM
Best thing I've put on my bike to date. 12cm weighs about 140gms. STIFF, STIFF, STIFF!! Cold forged, not welded, not CNC'd from block of aluminum and its STIFF. The only possible con is if you don't like the way it looks.
Like 'em12x23
Feb 28, 2002 2:51 PM
I have them on three bikes. All are 130mm. I weighed one last year on calibrated digital scales and it was 140-something, don't recall exactly, grams.
I like mineBirddog
Feb 28, 2002 6:22 PM
Mine is a 100, and very stiff. Great looks IMO and great engineering as well. They are superb for a carbon steerer.
I like mineFlexing stem but not your bars
Mar 1, 2002 8:41 AM
Total BS. You're right this place is full of putzes and you head the list!
wcs=stiffmiko
Mar 1, 2002 9:47 AM
This stem does not have any noticable deflection in my 100mm length. It is also one of THE BEST stems for use with carbon steer tubes.
I have the 120......Len J
Mar 1, 2002 10:07 AM
matched with the WCS Bars & find mine to be light stiff & bulletproof. I'm 6'0" and 155lbs. Spinner not Masher.

For me this has been a great choice.

To each thier own.

Len
if you can flex that stem...koala
Mar 2, 2002 8:57 AM
Your strong and your climbing technique stinks...
re: RITCHEY WCS stemMikeC
Mar 2, 2002 7:11 PM
I moved from a 3TTT Mutant (which, by the way, Grzy hated, but I loved) to a WCS. Not everyone liked the way the Mutant looked or weighed, but nobody ever accused it of being noodly.
Anyway, the WCS feels stiffer to me. Standing, pulling up, pushing down, whatever, I haven't felt any flex. I used a Forgie for a few weeks while waiting for the WCS to come in, and I also feel that the WCS compared favorably to it in stiffness.