RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


Hugi Hubs??(21 posts)

Hugi Hubs??Wilier
Feb 26, 2002 9:58 PM
OK - Just to add to the wheels discussion, I've been looking at Ksyriums, C Kings w/ Open Pro hubs, or Hugi w/ Open Pro's.

I think the topics of Ksyriums vs. Chris Kings has pretty much been exhausted, but can anyone speak to Hugi hubs? How long will these things last? I assume they are pretty smooth?

The reason I ask: the price of Hugi vs. King is the same in Colorado Cyclist and Excel. Weight is comperable also. But if you have them build the wheels, the price for Hugi is about $60 less.
re: Hugi Hubs??Neil
Feb 27, 2002 4:33 AM
I own both. The Kings are "stiffer"; having a larger axle. The clutch engagement is faster in my opinion.
The Hugi is also "bomb proof" and super light.
The Kings make a "buzz saw" sound when coasting.
Both are hi-end products that will serve you well.

The Kings are my choice; you will never be wanting for performance with those.
the problem with Hugi HubsRusty McNasty
Feb 27, 2002 5:10 AM
They require special tools to open, so if one does cause you trouble on the road, you are SOL, until you can find a bike shop with the right tools.
not the 240scyclopathic
Feb 27, 2002 9:52 AM
they have introduced "no tool" concept

with respect to hubs I'd also checked Am Classics
the problem with Hugi HubsCrusty
Feb 27, 2002 4:44 PM
why the hell would want to open up a hub on the road?!?!?!?
Hugi/SpecializedKEN2
Feb 27, 2002 2:21 PM
Specialized had Hugi relabel some of their 240 hubs for the 2001 S-Works 'cross bike, which I own (built up with Open Pros). They are super smooth and light, and you can and should grease the rear pawls every 2000-3000 miles. You don't need tools although it can be difficult prying the cassette off.
Compared to Campy Record?Kerry Irons
Feb 27, 2002 4:52 PM
Add skewers to Kings or Hugis, and they are within 10-20 grams of Campy Record. And only twice the price (by the time you buy skewers). Better bearings? Stiffer? Any actual advantages? I'm more curious than critical, but it sometimes seems like the main thing these hubs have going for them is exclusivity. Can someone comment on what they offer over Campy Record (or DA for that matter)?
Compared to Campy Record?Marvin
Feb 27, 2002 7:05 PM
I thought the listed weights of all hubs excluded skewers. Do the listed weights of Record hubs include skewers?
Compared to Campy Record?Wilier
Feb 27, 2002 8:02 PM
Yup - Kerry is absolutely right.

if you assume Excel weights are correct to within 5%, Record hubs are actually lighter by about 20-30 grams. Dura Ace hubs will be heavier by about 20 or 30 grams. This is comparing to Chris King hubs without skewers. According to Excel, a Hugi hubset is about 60 grams lighter than CK's.

Not preaching any opinions here - just reprinting weights as listed in Excel. (as noted above - I always give 5% in any direction)

Now having said that - I've never been a big advocate of any Shimano parts that use ball bearings which is why I originally asked about the Hugi hubs. Price wise - I'd just get Dura Ace with Open Pros. Quality wise - I've always liked Campy and Mavic for hubs, headsets, and BB's. Just personal preference, not a flame.

**NOTE** Yes - I have a Wilier with Dura Ace. I had to make a decision if I wanted all my bikes to be reasonably consistent component-wise or to put Campy on 1 bike only. While I really wanted a Wilier with Record - I decided the utility value of being able to swap wheels, cassettes was more important.
Per Damon Rinard,TJeanloz
Feb 28, 2002 6:15 AM
Per the weights given by Damon Rinard, the only credible source in my mind, Hugi 240's are about 30g lighter for the pair than Record. If it were me, I'd get the Record, but they would not be lighter.
Compared to Campy Record?Get Dura Ace
Feb 28, 2002 2:06 PM
How are Dura Ace hubs only 20-30 grams heavier than C. King hubs. excel says Dura Ace hubs are 176g for front and 378g for the rear, that's a total of 554 grams. Excel says that the C. King hubs weigh a total of about 370 grams. Are you saying that the hub weight reported for the C. Kings does not include skewers but the weights for record and Dura Ace do??????
Compared to Campy Record?Wilier
Feb 28, 2002 3:03 PM
If you look closely (at least in the catalog edition I have) it clearly states that the skewers are included in the weight. If you flip to the skewer section next to wheels, D/A skewers are in the 110 gram range for the pair. (this is off the top of my head).

Record hubs also include the weight of the skewers.

So you're right - my crappy math is off. I suppose the difference is closer to 60 grams than 20-30. Sorry.
I am really confusedWoof the dog
Mar 1, 2002 1:24 AM
I don't understand how campy makes their ball bearing record hubs almost just as light as hugi's? Is it because they weigh it without a freehub body or what?

Could you please post the following 5 hubs in the order of increasing weight, without qrs and per pair? Dura ace, record, hugi, chris king, am. classic. I don't need the weights, just the order. Thank you much!

Woof the goof
In order,TJeanloz
Mar 1, 2002 5:36 AM
1. American Classic
2. Hugi
3. Record
4. Chris King
5. Dura-Ace

Cup-and-cone hubs aren't inherently any heavier than sealed bearing hubs.
what about prebuilt wheelset weights?Torgovon
Mar 1, 2002 9:01 AM
Do the listed or advertised weights for most complete wheelsets include skewers? For example, the new 2002 mavic ksyrium SL's are listed at 1,530 grams, does that include the skewers wrights which come with those wheels or are they weighing the wheels alone?

Does anybody have a lising of the specific weights for the 5 hub groups previously listed above with exact weights either with or without skewers?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
a few sites to be trustedSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 10:32 AM
http://www.damonrinard.com/weights.htm

http://www.tc-homes.com/bike/features/wheels/cover.htm

http://www.bsn.com/Cycling/Wheels.html

and to convert weights

http://www.sciencemadesimple.net/EASYweight.html
Mavic does notDirk Lenart
Mar 1, 2002 10:46 AM
Mavic does not include the weight of the skewers for their wheels.
On the other hand, the weight Shimano advertises on its site are skewers included (weigh about 55 - 65 gr). I weighed my Dura Ace hubs (28/32):
front 121 gr
rear 312 gr

My Ksyriums 2001 weigh without the skewers:
front 749 gr
rear 913 gr

Dirk
agree on the order by weight. nmSpirito di Finocchio
Mar 1, 2002 10:28 AM
Disagree on weights orderVeloRex
Mar 2, 2002 2:59 PM
C. King hubs without skewers weigh a total of 375 grams. record hubs with skewers weigh 497 grams, that's a 122 gram difference. You can find many many skewers that will come in 20-40 grams lighter than that which would make the C. King hubs lighter, although only slightly in the end.
Disagree all you want....TJeanloz
Mar 3, 2002 7:49 AM
I knew I should have quoted a source. Mine was:

http://www.geocities.com/kwanseng/weight.html

That page contains the only weight info that I trust- though it is getting a little dated. They list Record skewers at 133g, which would jive with your weights, making the Record hubs slightly lighter. As it stands, Damon Rinard only claims that the Record hubset is 6g lighter than the King hubset- so we're close to splitting hairs.
Disagree all you want....Giro Newbie
Mar 3, 2002 10:29 AM
You guys are arguing over a 10-20 grams difference in component weight? Heck, I can fill that gap with two bites from my cheesburger at lunchtime.