RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


DA BB owners...(8 posts)

DA BB owners...weiwentg
Feb 25, 2002 11:59 PM
what kind of maintenance do I need to do to keep the BB from disintegrating?
they shouldn't disintegrate, be careful cleaning themPaul
Feb 26, 2002 4:29 AM
Just be careful of the clip that holds the bearings in place (they are in a cage) if you clean, re-grease them. They have both roller and ball type bearings. I had this clip pop off, and bearings when flying all over. Luckily, I found them, and used grease to hold them in place when re-assembling the BB. It's not hard to do.
Shimano uses a low-fraction type grease, I used a white lithium grease that seems to work well. On the last inspection of the bearings, everything seemed okay. No discoloration in the bearings.

These are not sealed bearings like Shimano advertises, but just have a cover over them. Easy to work on.
they shouldn't disintegrate, be careful cleaning themGiro Newbie
Mar 3, 2002 10:33 AM
By saying that they are not sealed are you saying that are not a true cartridge bearing like the Ultegra or Campy stuff?
from experience with an XTR BBjw25
Feb 26, 2002 6:43 AM
you'll want to clean and regrease it regularly, and ASAP if you get caught in rain, or ride through puddles, etc. Probably after washing your bike, too.
Seriously, the XTR version needed to be removed, cleaned, regreased, and replaced (with the subsequent bearing adjustment) pretty much once a month. Granted, this was a mountain bike component, so the conditions were much sloppier, but the "seals" didn't seem to do much. In comparison, the BB-M952 I replaced that with is still smooth after 2 years of the same conditions.
For a road component, though, I suppose it could work out, but you do need to respect the maintenance schedule. I'd make sure to use a waterproof grease, maybe Phil's or the Shimano spin-doctor stuff, and plenty of it. My main problem was water intrusion, and very fast rust formation on the bearing races. For that reason, I'd tear down and rebuild right after a rain ride, and not wait until the weekend.
I've also noticed a number of people I ride with fitting Ultegra BB's onto their D-A equipped bikes, as apparently the extra ounce or two is worth the time saved wrenching.
re: DA BB owners...merckx56
Feb 26, 2002 7:36 AM
if you have an english bb shell, just get the d/a track bb.
it has two rows of sealed bearings per side and it installs just like an ultegra. if you have italian, ride ultegra. they're cheaper and maintenance free.
where can you get the d/a track bb? (nm)Paul
Feb 26, 2002 8:32 AM
another questionweiwentg
Feb 26, 2002 2:19 PM
OK ... so it's hard to maintain but not a nightmare. thanks, all!
second, how does installation work? what do I grease? everything but the threads? it's an English BB, btw.
Frankly...Geof
Feb 26, 2002 9:51 PM
If your not too familiar with bottom brackets definately stay away from the Dura Ace. It's very light, but it's touchy too, in terms of adjustment, and maintenance. The unit is not sealed and requires some sort of noodling often. The outer rings are VERY soft and deform easily even with the proper tools. You MUST have the Dura Ace BB tools to remove this BB, otherwise you run a huge risk of ruining the rings. To be honest the thing is a nightmare (much maint) but is easy to dissasemble. I promise you, if you get one you'll replace it in 6 months. I had mine out five times in three months. I put in an Ultegra (got sick of pulling the thing) and have never looked back. If you do the D/A good luck. Your only advantage will be a tiny bit of weight with a whole lot of hassle.

BTW the XTR BB is a completely sealed unit. Not at all like the Dura Ace BB...