RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - Components


Archive Home >> Components(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 )


FSA cranks on Campy BB?(14 posts)

FSA cranks on Campy BB?nellie
Feb 15, 2002 6:08 PM
Does anyone know if I can use the FSA Carbon Pro cranks (ISO taper) with a 102mm Campy BB? Or, do i need to get a longet bb? When i tried to install them, it seemed that they didn't fit onto the bb as well as i would expect.

thanks,
paul
Probably won't workSpoke Wrench
Feb 15, 2002 7:07 PM
As I understand it, the angle of the taper is the same, but Campy bottom brackets start with a smaller cross section. The result is that most other crank arms slip on too far and bottom out before they seat properly.
re: FSA cranks on Campy BB?CAAD5 Kid
Feb 15, 2002 7:16 PM
From what i know...you gotta use a shimano sqaure taper BB or similiar (JIS) BB with FSA cranks....like Spokewrench said....a campy BB isn't gonna work.
FSA Cranks/Campy BBXeke
Feb 15, 2002 10:19 PM
Shimano and almost every major bottom bracket maker have traditionally used the same spindle end cross section of 12.9 mm and two degree taper. Campagnolo uses the same two degree taper but has a smaller starting cross section of 12.7 mm.
A Shimano crank arm will bottom out on Campagnolo spindle. A Campagnolo crank arm will not draw far enough onto a Shimano spindle.
FSA Cranks/Campy BBCherry1
Feb 16, 2002 7:09 AM
Has anyone actually tried this before posting their opinions. First of all call the FSA guy, he is very helpful. He also has many friends within the CampyUSA organinzation. It does work. I have used my FSA crank going into the second year with a Campy Record bottom bracket. No problems, great crank.
pretty funnySO WHAT
Feb 16, 2002 7:49 AM
that you- of all people- write about other people posting their opinions
it's common knowledge...C-40
Feb 16, 2002 2:16 PM
That campy and shimano BB spindles aren't the same size. The taper's the same angle, but the size difference makes them incompatible.

You don't need to try it to know that it won't work properly. Not an opinion, it's a fact.
it's common knowledge...BianchiAmber
Feb 16, 2002 5:01 PM
Actually you are right, but wrong. FSA makes a Campy specific crank that is compatiable with the Campy BB.
Maybe what you mean to sayKerry Irons
Feb 16, 2002 5:08 PM
is that the FSA cranks won't go on a Campy BB the same as Campy cranks. It may work just fine, but it won't be the same chain line as a Campy crank would be on the BB. Depending on a number of factors, having the crank shifted toward the frame may increase chain rub on the big ring when on the smallest cogs in the back. To say it "won't work properly" may be a bit strong, since you don't know the original chain line.
it's common knowledge...Cherry1
Feb 17, 2002 5:17 AM
That isn't the disagreement in this crowd. The disagreement is whether or not you can get a FSA crank to work with Campy, and yes you can. It might not work as perfect as a Campy crank, but it is very close.
Careful Now....Xeke
Feb 17, 2002 11:18 AM
Because your setup works well enough means
i every
setup should too?

The discussion above does indeed miss the point: Nellie's ISO taper cranks are indeed Campy taper (Shimano square=JIS). So fitting the spindle might not be the issue as much as the chainring alignment. At one time there were some issues regarding the spider, i.e. the chainring mounting tabs on the FSA spider might be a bit thicker than the Campy spider, increasing the distance between the chainrings and causing some possible derailleur/chain line problems (compounded by the narrow C10 chain?). Whether these design issues were addressed before or after Nellie's equipment...?

This should be qualified by stating that I can't recall where these concerns were brought up other than from some publication's product reviews, so it may not even be relevant to Nellie's problem.
Careful Now....BianchiAmber
Feb 17, 2002 8:04 PM
What kind of issues would you be dealing with if this is the case?
Chainline...Xeke
Feb 18, 2002 12:25 PM
If the spacing between chainrings is wider than stock Campy geometry, then the front shifting would be something less than 'crisp.' The chain might not find the big ring's ramp/pin as reliably on the up shift.

If the inner chainring is more inboard than the original alignment, the chain could have problems down in the smaller cogs where the chainline offset would be increased. For instance, chain jump when climbing in the smaller cogs. The ten cog cassette spacing and narrow chain require pretty tight alignments with the rings to avoid these sorts of problems.

A ton of assumptions made in the thread above; a couple have been well off Paul's original problem. The assumptions made here may be irrelevant as well....
inside scoopFreshwood
Feb 19, 2002 8:46 AM
Hi, Doug from FSA here.

We offer our Campy 10 speed compatible cranksets with an ISO taper so it should and does work with a Campagnolo bottom bracket.

There is typically a stamp on the backside of the crankarm by the spindle hole that says "ISO". If that's not there, you may have a JIS crankset.

The bottom line is that if your crank isn't working correctly on a Campagnolo spindle, you should contact us and we will get you fixed up.

Ask for Tom or Matt @ 877 743 3372

Doug